We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
402
127
15
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
127
15
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club great house guest services water taxi st lucia emerald hill villa plunge pool air conditioning house keeper our honeymoon taxi driver relaxing vacation steep hill ferry pass botanical gardens the cliff view of the bay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I will start by saying I was offered a bribe to not put a negative review. My husband only put a 2 star review with no comment and we almost immediate received an email with an offer of either $150 or all of our RCI points credited back to take it down. After some debate we decided that we certainly wished someone had turned down the bribe and forewarned us of what awaited. The taxis are ridiculously expensive. $80 each way from the airport to start, plus tip mind you. And at least $40 to get ANYWHERE. We even saved the final $80 and tip and he asked us for a different bill because there was a 1/4" tear in 1 bill (we were broke at this point and there was no way to get cash out even if we wanted to). Feel free to rent a car but their roads are AWFUL and down right scary in places!Oasis Marigot/Marigot Bay has pretty views....that's it. For anything else you better come with a lot of money. The beach was tiny, rocky initially and then all seaweed further in, plus the whole bay is dead from all the boats leaking oil. If you like smelling weed and being harassed by the local pot heads all day you'll enjoy the beach but otherwise you'll have to rent kayaks or buy an excursion or pay for a water taxis or some other thing to pay for to go somewhere decent. The food was Expensive and not very good. The only restaurant worth anything was the Masala Bay, but that is out of only 5-6 that you can get to without paying for a taxi (and the public ferry that we paid the weekly fee even charged us extra to go to one of them) . Each meal was at least $50-100/person/meal but don't think that means you get good service. Hell there wasn't even a SINGLE restaurant that was inside. The heat I could deal with, but with literally NO escape from the bugs the whole week , it was terrible. You could buy food and cook to save money, but we like to try the local fare and not have dishes when on vacation. We did end up cooking at least 1 meal a day though due to the expense.The accommodations weren't "horrible" depending on your standards. The air conditioned rooms only have screens, so it's no wonder they have to charge you and extra $200 when they are that wasteful. But those screens mean the mosquitoes (and everything else) still get in. I would write more but RCI has limited room - I'll just say it was terrible and when I tried to note anything with just a low review I was offered a bribe to take it down - I think that says it all!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank casspusvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenOasisMarigot, Guest Relations Manager at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

We are disappointed that in 25 years in business, it is the first time we are responding to such biased and irrelevant (malicious) feedback. When you first published a bad two-star review on Google, we politely sent you a note asking: "We'd like to hear why and what went wrong as we care about our customers satisfaction. Please contact us... "

As we further learned about your unhappiness with your week vacation with us, we went as far as to propose to fully replace (refund) the week you spent with us with a complimentary week deposit at RCI. Rather than seeing this gesture of ours to amend your dissatisfaction, you decided to see this as a bribe and launch this review.

Plus, it seems, you were very discontent with the island as a WHOLE, (such as the general road system, restaurants, taxis too expensive), and proceeded to point out everything wrong with the island in a review about us, which is completely irrelevant. With taxis being a strong complaint of yours, you also omitted to say that the taxi ride is a long one from the airport and lasts about one hour and 20 minutes, and that taxi rates are fixed by the government. We also do not own or operate a restaurant in Marigot Bay, although you easily have access to 4 of them.

Your feedback offers very little insights about our accommodations and the kind of experience and service you received from us. While staying with us, you never complained about anything, and in your review here, you only have TWO comments directed to us. One is a positive point saying you were provided with a unit with a nice view. The only other thing you said about us is that the air-conditioned bedroom only had screens but not closing windows. Do you think we would pay to endlessly run A/C in an open-air unit with only screens? I think not. You omitted to say that all our units feature typical tropical windows of fully closing wooden louvers. The mosquito screen is behind this system, but it is obviously necessary to close the wood louvers when running AC, as all our guests do. This convenient little omission in your review shows exactly how you wish to paint us…

So, it’s unfortunate we’ve had to bear the blunt of your overall bad experience. Your comments are more applicable to a general St. Lucia forum or review board than to our specific property on Tripadvisor, and even then, they are starkly, unconstructively negative.

It should be noted that your stay with us was not a rental, but you stayed with us via a vacation exchange through RCI. So you obviously decided/accepted to travel to our resort in a country that was not the right fit for you. There are many travel options out in the market and plenty of resources to guide you. We are disappointed that this was not the case for you and that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We borrowed a song title from The Who, to help you visualise this stunning 'rooftop' view, from Marigot, a true Oasis of calm. The two-minute ferry trip with the concierge to the north side of the bay and the tiny tram to the top of the hill, suddenly revealed the welcoming red roofs of a dozen or so villas. Our amazement at this feat of construction, gave way to speechlessness, when we stepped out onto the living room balcony. The living areas are thoughtfully at the top of the villa, where the terrace dining area reveals the natural beauty of the bay. Small wonder it is considered one of THE sights of The Caribbean, where we have travelled extensively over the years. The effusive welcome from the staff of Guest Services, was backed up throughout our stay with travel advice, 4-wheel drive hire, dining guidance and reservations and organising yacht day-charter, as we prefer a trip on the ocean that does not involve loud music and noisy tourists! All were seamlessly arranged, along with laundry and villa cleaning. The provisioning service, with first-day breakfast essentials, is a nice touch more normally reserved for the yachting community.

The casual dining option of Doolittle's, at the foot of Oasis Marigot is a great first night base and somehow, always conveniently there, whatever you pleasure. The south side of the bay offers a broader range of dining options, all well executed. A particular thanks to Nadjhla at Guest Services, for arranging a special birthday dinner for Jenny, the occasion that inspired the whole trip. We are now busily searching for even a flimsy excuse to return!

Room tip: Any of the villas will have a remarkable panorama
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lakesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenOasisMarigot, Guest Relations Manager at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your bay view from your balcony at the Vacation Club. It was a pleasure hosting you for your vacation. We hope you find a flimsy excuse to return ; ) Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

St Lucia would not have been the amazing experience it was without Oasis Marigot! We came to St Lucia for our honeymoon and unfortunately we were so busy planning our wedding that we basically showed up to St Lucia with no plans and only a place to stay. The ladies at Oasis Marigot were MORE than helpful in planning all of our activities on the island! We did SO much in the 9 days we were there, we truly got the fullest experience and it could not have been possible without Oasis Marigot's help. We stayed in the Great House property which was such an amazing, beautiful house. The pictures do not do it justice! Having a daily maid was amazing as well. We definitely plan on bringing our whole family back soon, that house was way too big for just us two! Thanks to Oasis Marigot we felt like royalty, they were there to help us anytime we needed them. We will never stay anywhere else on the island but there!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcmunden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques B, General Manager at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Thank you for sharing your wonderful honeymoon experience at Oasis Marigot. It is nice to read that our dedicated staff made you feel like royalty and the Great House was your castle during your stay. As you said, it is an amazing property and we are taking note that the pictures we present do not do it justice! We may not change them as it is always good to get a Wow from the guests on arrival! It means a lot to us to get this very positive review and we are so happy to hear that you are already planning to come back with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We have traveled quite a bit in the Caribbean and can truly say this place has the most amazing view of all our stays. You can’t beat cooling out in the pool overlooking Marigot Bay on one side and the Caribbean on the other. We rented a car so the hill was not a problem. There are enough restaurants nearby to find any type of meal. With the car it was a quick trip to the grocery store located in Cul de Sac. The trips to beaches, waterfalls, volcanoes, mud baths, Castries, Pigeon Island filled the days followed by relaxing in the pool.

Room tip: Both rooms have air conditioning but was not needed
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sammymh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenOasisMarigot, Guest Relations Manager at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Emerald Hill Villa. We totally agree with you that this property offers the most amazing views of Marigot Bay!
Hope to welcome you back soon : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

After searching extensively for where to stay for my first international trip, my husband and I opted for Oasis Marigot because it was secluded, had great views, and instead of a motel room, we got an entire villa. Oasis did not disappoint!

I received an email a week before our trip from Oasis asking if we'd like to book a taxi. We agreed since we were going to get one anyway. Since taxi fares are set, I recommend using this option from guest services! It was $75 for 2 people from UVF airport to Oasis. Our taxi driver, Godfrey, was very friendly. He stopped by Masi's supermarket before arriving to Marigot Bay so we could get some snacks and bottled water.

After arriving to the bay, Trevor, the porter, greeted us and we took the ferry across the bay (maybe 2 minute ride). He helped us carry what little luggage we had.

First impression was how beautiful the bay was. Second impression upon crossing the bay and seeing Oasis Marigot was... STAIRS. So. Many. Stairs. We're a young, somewhat fit couple, and they killed my legs. There's a tram that seats 4 people that crawls at a snail's pace with a couple stops, depending on what level your villa is on. You approach the base of the property with fingers crossed that the tram is on the level you're at, otherwise, it's about a 5 minute wait.

The villa was clean, with the exception of a dead roach next to our fridge. We didn't say anything, and just left it alone. The bathroom was great, but water temp. fluctuated randomly... didn't bother us. The toilet also had slight issue flushing completely. The bedroom has an AC and it made the room comfortable. Kitchen was stocked with plenty of cookware. The VIEWS are outstanding. WiFi was pretty much non-existent. I used Doolittle's or Hurricane Hole's wifi since the room's rarely worked. The guest services presentation on Sunday mornings is a must! This was our 1st trip where we did not book anything in advance. We booked everything after the presentation.

Some random thoughts: Pool was always clean and refreshing. I recommend paying the refundable deposit for pool/beach towels. Make friends with nearby villas - save fares on taxis if you go to the same events! The Tue/Thu day sails were worth it, but if you have motion sickness (like me...) be warned. You'll probably get sick if water is choppy. Negotiate with locals if you're buying anything - water taxi, souvenirs. You don't have to typically pay base price. Drink bottled water if you're not used to rain water. Don't book something every day - it's nice to just sit on your deck and swim in the pool and just relax! Security is AWESOME... left my phone at the pool at 4pm. Around 1am I couldn't find it, so all our villa lights were on. Security waved the flashlight across our windows. Came outside to him with my phone in hand! Lifesaver! The area is super safe feeling... only we were offered ganja every. single. time. we went to the ferry to cross the bay. The beach area is okay. After we saw Pigeon Island's beaches, we were like wow, our beach in Marigot is blah. SNORKELING IN MARIGOT BAY is totally worth it! $10/24 hour rental for fins/snorkel gear. Right on the other side of the rock wall is some great areas to snorkel. Also, sun seems to rise at like...5:30am? Sets at about 6:30pm in summer.

PROS:
- Gorgeous views. Best sunset view ever. Watch yachts and catamarans sail in all day!
- Lots of space. Private villas for close to the same price as a motel room.
- Helpful staff that will book everything for you including transportation
- Plenty of eating options around. GO TO CAPELLA'S TAPAS RESTAURANT!
- Doolittle's Bar is an excellent way to end the day. BOGO from 5pm-close with 4 pool tables.
- Safe area with no worries.
- Clean pool, rarely anyone there.
- GORGEOUS landscaping.
- Good area for snorkeling.

CONS:
- Stairs, stairs, and stairs. Your calves will kill you the 1st couple of days.
- Tram is slow, and sometimes occupied, so you either wait 10 minutes or take the stairs.
- Not as many amenities as some resorts like option to be all-inclusive dining or a free/discount airport shuttle.
- Not the fault of Oasis, but the bugs are rough in the summer. Highly recommend that you coat yourself with bug spray in the afternoon AND use the bug net over the bed.
- The ferry is a separate cost. If you buy from Oasis, it's $20 US a person. Buy in EC direct from the ferry owner, it's $18 US a person. (We paid $50 EC per person.)
- The loud music from the local bar on the beach is irritating and full of vulgar words...Again, I'm young, so sure I listen to some vulgar music. But blasting it in a public area is awkward when there are families around.
- The constant questions about buying ganja from locals was irritating. We said no at least 2x a day. They smoke it on the beach. It doesn't bother us, but if you're not into that or have kids, it can be a nuisance.
- If you're looking for a consistently busy day, this area is not for you. It's a very slow, chill area, made for relaxing. If you want to do anything besides eat, swim, relax, and snorkel, you'll need to leave the bay.
- The ATM in the bay was iffy. Some days it didn't work. We had to go to Scotia International Bank to get money.
- The grocery store in the bay has essentials, in case you forget anything. But it can be pricey since it's made for people who forgot things and just want a snack.
- WiFi rarely works.

Room tip: Oasis 8 had amazing views. 3 was our friend's villas and has average views.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenOasisMarigot, Guest Relations Manager at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

We are glad that you choose to stay with us at the Vacation Club for your first International trip : ) Thank you for mentioning that our staff was wonderful and the gorgeous views our villas have to offer. Every traveler wishes to get a first positive experience overseas and it is nice to hear that this is what you got by staying with us. As you said, you had a fully equipped villa with a kitchen, for the price of a hotel room.

Please allow us few comments regard the cons you mentioned in your review:

- Stairs & lift-track: We do advertise that the Vacation Club has many steps and it's not ideal for guests with mobility issues. We are located up on the hill and once you have arrived you will see the gorgeous views from your balcony. To avoid the many stairs, you can simply use our lift-track to go up and down the hill from the Villa. The lift-track is a sort of outside elevator on rail and we admit that it is not fast. It gives you the time to look at the nice luxurious gardens that you mentioned in your report and see all the birds that are regular visitors to our beautiful flowers. The lift-track ride gives you a sense of the mood on this side. It is unique and we feel it's part of our charm : )

- Type of resort: You consider that not being able to get options like all-inclusive dining or a free/discount airport shuttle, is a negative point. As you will travel overseas more extensively, you will realize that you can get many different travel options and sorts of accommodations worldwide. Oasis Marigot is offering an excellent value but we are not an all-inclusive resort. As you pointed it rightly, or rates more particularly in the low season are really competitive. With more travel experience, you will be able to see what suits you best for the future;

- We took note of the issue with the water temperature in the shower. We will have our maintenance team look into the solar water heater to make sure temperature is consistent. Thank you for mentioning the toilet issue, this problem has now been solved. We proud ourselves in offering an excellent service and when those things are reported to us, they are addressed immediately.

- It is nice to note that you found your villa cleaned and well appointed. It is unfortunate that you found one dead crawling insect in your villa. Being in a tropical climate, we treat all our properties regularly and we are doing a lot to prevent this occurrence. Unfortunately after a treatment the bugs will sometime find their way inside a house to die. Having said this, I am forwarding your comments to our maintenance Department and we will do a follow up on this.

- Wi-Fi: You had a poor connection and you should have reported this while staying with us. We actually have our technician looking at it. You said that you have used instead the Wi-Fi service at Doolittles Restaurant. As they get exactly the same Internet service as us, it was a matter of an adjustment that we are addressing. Being located on the side of Marigot Bay where there is no road service, the Internet is coming through an underwater cable. The capacity is limited and we offer free Wi-Fi Internet for emails and light browsing;

They are certain negative points you are reporting that are beyond our control, like the choice of music of a local bar or the ATM iffy operation. For the rest, we take pride in our property and want to make sure our guests have a great time during their stay. We are only happy when we know you are - thanks for reporting that you had a great vacation. We do hope that you will return and stay with us again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews