We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Porch of the Year!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pelican House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pelican House
DSC00479.JPG GL3D2971
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Pelican House
DSC00479.JPG
GL3D2971
bedroom
small bedroom
Sun room
Tram
kitchen
Dining area
Sitting area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GA
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
momof308
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The previous review gives an excellent description of Pelican House - the pictures on the website really don't adequately convey the villa's charm.

My husband, young teenage son and college-age son just returned from spending a fabulous week there. We've rented places in Costa Rica, Mexico and a couple of other Caribbean islands, and all agree that Pelican House is one of our favorites. Unless you are looking for a lot of big resort action/looking after, Marigot Bay is the perfect location on St. Lucia: it's breathtakingly beautiful (the views from Pelican House can't be beat) and has a nice mix of vacationers, locals and those lucky folks who have the time & means to sail the seas. We had a great time watching the yachts sail out in the morning and return before sunset.

The owners were very helpful in providing information about the villa, car rentals, recommending a great scuba company (Scuba Steve's), arranging a porter to meet us, arranging for Julietta to clean, etc. The villa was impeccably clean on arrival - the fresh flowers were a very nice touch. Johnson went through the house with us to show us where everything was and recommended spraying the bedrooms early in the evening to get rid of any pesky mosquitoes. There is no a/c but I'm pretty certain no islander has a/c and manages - the ceiling fans were fine. We were without power twice during the week (once b/c of a storm) but there is a hand crank flashlight available and we just ate out rather than cooking in on those occasions.

We loved having to take the 'ferry' across the bay or to some of the restaurants - definitely adds to the charm of the location, and makes you SLOW DOWN. Ditto the tram - it's faster to walk, but after a long day of exploring/diving, sometimes it was worth the wait.

One point to make is that the restaurants on the bay are somewhat on the pricey side - good food though. Actually, any restaurant that tends to cater to tourists will be somewhat pricey. That being said, make sure you always have a plentiful supply of cash on hand; we always seemed to be running short. On 3 occasions gas stations/restaurants cc machines weren't working. All of the admission to hiking trails, the volcano, Pigeon Island, venders, parking, chair rentals on beaches, etc. ONLY take cash.

All in all, this was a fabulous vacation and a perfect place to stay. We loved the open air concept of the living area and never used the screened area. What could be better than having your morning coffee or evening drink, watching the sun come up or sink into the sea, while sitting in paradise. Miss it already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: can hear the music on weekends from Doolittles and Wednesdays from the community 'Crab Night'
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glassgal
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for anything more...”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I so enjoyed our stay at Pelican House. I am scheming to see how I can spend an entire week next year... My sister, two cousins and I stayed here in May for five nights and it was perfect as a getaway. I love that it's on the side of the Bay where there are no roads. You take the ferry to the many restaurants on the bay or to the marina to catch a cab or rent a car to get wherever else you want to go on St. Lucia.

Pelican House is like a beach house only it's perched on the side of the mountain with mountain views, views of Marigot Bay and views of the Caribbean. In the morning, you can watch the sun rise over the mountains and watch it set over the Caribbean. The house is colorful and full of personality and decorated with local art. There are lots of books just waiting to be read plus some games as well. The house is steps away from the tram stop. When you walk in, you're in the covered open air living/dining area complete with hammock. On the right, off of the living/dining area are the bedrooms and kitchen. The first bedroom is on the right behind closed doors, then the kitchen is next, then the 2nd bedroom. Then you walk into the screened in porch and the 3rd bedroom is off to the right while the sundeck is out the other door to the left off of the screened porch. The house was immaculately clean when we arrived and fresh flowers awaited us.

The bedrooms are all screened so that you can prop open the shutters and let the cross breeze through. The kitchen is equipped with enough dishes, storage containers, pots and pans that you could ever want. The shutters open up in the galley style kitchen so you can converse with those out in the living area. The important thing to know is to not leave food unattended on the counter or the little birds will pay you a visit and try to feast!

Our goal was to relax. We would start out the day on the outside deck by watching the sun come up over the mountains and would stay out there to get some sun. When it got too hot, we would move to the living area where ceiling fans kept us cool... in the evening when the bugs came out, we would migrate to the screen porch... Oh, we did a couple of excursions with a trip to the Castries market, ziplining and a trip to another beach with Captain Alex but stayed close to home for the most part...For exercise, we took the steps up and down the hill rather than ride the tram.

The communications from the owners was exceptional. Lots of tips and hints on where to eat and what to expect. They made the arrangements to have Smally, the cab driver meet us at the airport and we used Smally's services extensively while we were there. When we arrived, there was a notebook that had all of the information we could possible need including the list of contacts and restaurant recommendations. We cooked breakfast and lunch and went out for dinner.

I can honestly say that I have never been so relaxed and much of that is due to having our own house to stay in at such a lovely place. Love Pelican House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the feeling that I was in my own house rather than a rental
Liked least: bugs... you're in a rainforest area... of course, there will be bitey bugs...just plan accordingly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elijah940
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed at the Pelican House for two weeks in March/April 2012. Our group: four adults, two babies.

It's one of those times where I'm reluctant to review it honestly, because I don't want other people to hog it next year! But in all honesty, the house is just about perfect. The primary design features: three separate deck spaces, each with its own function -- there's the sun deck with a view of the bay and the sea; there's the screened-in porch, perfect for shade and late night card games; and then there's the wide, expansive porch, which is most of the house, and must be one of the greatest places on the island to have morning coffee and evening cocktails.

In terms of location on the island, if you haven't been before, Marigot Bay is the place to be (especially if you like to fantasize about other people's sailboats). Great views and vibe, convenient access to excellent restaurants, great beaches within 15 minutes, quiet and peaceful by 10PM.

The owners were very helpful and responsive to all of our needs prior to our arrival, even going so far as to set us up with a crib. (We didn't need anything once we arrived -- the house is well-stocked with information, phone numbers, etc).

Excellently furnished kitchen.

One small improvement the owner could make (that others have mentioned): issue multiple sets of keys, at least for the front door.

Two very minor issues that the owner may or may not be able to control: both showers rapidly shifted between hot and cold, no matter the setting, which took some getting used to. Also, mosquitoes were pretty bad in two of the three bedrooms (although the place is well screened and we couldn't figure out where they were coming from).

For us, these were minor inconveniences and wouldn't discourage us from renting the place again. It's really an awesome house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor spaces
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2012
Even though we had just installed a new door and lock on the front, multiple keys should have been available from the housekeeper...they are there. We stayed in the house from Jan-march and had no problem with mosquitos in any of the bedrooms. We provided instructions on how to deal with them in the house literature. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Perfect girls getaway”
Reviewed 17 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Myself and 5 girlfriends stayed at Pelican House for a week. What a fabulous location and such an adventure! Jim and Gail had an incredible notebook that told us all we needed to know to set up our week's activities. The house was in a superb, private location and a perfect spot to start out from each day. The house was quiet, beds comfortable and everything was in the kitchen that we needed. After touring each day, the only thing we regret was that we only had Julietta cook for us one evening. We should have had her make us dinner every other night as there was so much food, we had many leftovers. You can tell that the property owners are very involved in the community and well respected as everyone knew them and spoke fondly of them. They support many local groups. If we can swing it, next year we want to stay 2 weeks. Hated to go home when we were just starting to feel "island time". We recommend Alex for water taxi to wherever you want to go. Our favorite beach was Anse Cochon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and view
Liked least: challenging to get to for one of our girls who has some walking problems
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macomere
Bridgetown
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to indulge in total relaxation”
Reviewed 8 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Villa is comfortable and adequate for six persons. Loved the simple layout and the children actually READ books, played board games and talked to while away the time that we spent indoors. With no TV, radio or internet to entertain, there was no choice. Julietta, the maid was helpful and extremely efficient. The main issue I have is that we were unable to listen to the news or check online updates for when tropical storm Emily passed through the island. We were not even aware that Castries had been shut down because of the weather. In this regard, a radio, and/or internet access is therefore highly recommended. The internet signal from nearby properties was patchy and mostly non-existent. Another recommendation for the owner: please remove the ladder and ironing board from the already tiny closet in the children's bedroom so that they can have space to hang things. Other than that: Stunning view of the bay from the villa, the deck is a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright welcoming colours, hammock, living spaces.
Liked least: No radio or internet to let us know what is happening
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2011
There is a radio and CD player in the bookcase, so you should have been able to get the news. The ironing board and ladder are kept in the closet for the convenience of the housekeeper and she certainly should have moved them to make room for your clothes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MookieDou...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable house, great views, but a few drawbacks”
Reviewed 10 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Pelican House in early May 2011 for a week. Overall we had a good time, although there were a few drawbacks to the house as well. Sorry in advance if this review seems long, but I thought there were a lot of topics to cover that I hadn’t seen mentioned in previous reviews.

We ended up renting a car for our week on St. Lucia, mostly because we like to have the flexibility of going where we want, when we want. Driving to Marigot from the Vieux Fort airport took a little over an hour, and the main road has many areas where the road has a lane closed due to washouts from last year’s Hurricane Tomas. A few white knuckles aside, the ride wasn’t horrible, and the car park at the bottom of the hill just before getting to “downtown” Marigot Bay is free for guests. (At least I THINK it’s free…the owner told me it was, but a local told me I needed to pay $2/US to park there, and there was a money box on the side of the park that requested payment, but it was unclear whether that was for day-trippers to Marigot, or for everyone.) From the car park it’s about a 30 second walk to the ferry pier, a 1 minute ride across the bay on the ferry, a short walk along the beach and through Doolittle’s before a short but steep walk up the hill to Pelican House. Depending on how long you have to wait for the ferry (usually no more than 2-3 minutes), getting from the car to the house takes about 5-7 minutes total.
We liked the location of Pelican House, on the North (quiet) side of Marigot Bay. The house has amazing views of the Bay, and has wonderful landscaping all around. The living area, which has been explained before, is a large open-air, covered porch, and allows for unobstructed views of the bay as well as pleasant breezes to keep the house cool. The house is situated a little more than halfway up the hill on the north side of the bay, and while there is a small tram you can take to get up the hill, we found it much faster and very easy to simply walk the steps up to the house. The bedrooms are all large enough to accommodate 2 people comfortably, and each has its own bathroom as well. The kitchen is plenty large enough, and has a large fridge, gas oven/stove, microwave, coffee pot, and toaster oven. We cooked dinner in the house a few nights and the kitchen had more than enough cookware and dining utensils to cover our needs. There is also a small coal-pot grille outside, although you’ll need to find your own charcoal to use it.

There were a few drawbacks, and while this may sound like nitpicking to some, it was information I wish I had seen before we booked. First, there are mosquitoes at Pelican House. (It was interesting that none of the reviews on Trip Advisor talked about mosquitoes, while about 50% of the people who signed the guest book in the house mentioned them.) Because of the design of the house, which has most of the living area in the open air without screens, the mosquitoes were free to swarm and bite whenever you were there. I got bit at least 7-10 times per day, and it forced us to spend almost all of our “down time” at the house either in the small screened-in porch area, or in the bedrooms (which are screened in as well). However, the kitchen is not screened in, so cooking dinner, fixing breakfast, or even making a sandwich led to many mosquito bites. As I said, all the bedrooms are screened in, and I only had 1 night where a mosquito buzzed my ear, but it did require constant vigilance to keep the bedroom doors closed ALL THE TIME. I thought this would cause the bedrooms to get hot at night, as it cut down on the ability to get sea-breezes, but in reality we didn’t have any problems with the rooms being too hot at night. (Also, all of the bedrooms have ceiling fans, and 2 of the bedrooms have oscillating fans to assist in moving the air at night.) So my advice: bring lots of bug repellent, keep the bedroom doors closed as often as possible, and if the bugs get bad, spend time in the screened in porch.

The 2nd small drawback was noise at night. During our stay there were several live bands at the bars and restaurants in Marigot Bay and their music easily drifted up to Pelican House. (Since the house is entirely open air, even the bedrooms, there was no way to keep the music out.) There was live music at several different venues on various nights during the week, and they seemed to mostly finish up by 11 pm, so if you’re not one to turn in until late, it probably won’t bother you. For “early to bed, early to rise” folks like myself, it was pretty annoying. The worst, though, was the first night (a Saturday night) where there seemed to be an outside dance party going on at a bar at the top of the hill overlooking the bay. That music/deejay was the loudest of the bunch, and went until past 1:30 am. That seemed to be the only night of the dance party, and the nights without any bands or music I slept fantastic. There are other night sounds to be aware of as well, but these I found extremely pleasant. The frogs/peepers/insects create a nighttime symphony every night that was surprisingly loud but also easy to sleep to. For me, it was like camping in a rainforest but with indoor plumbing. (Interestingly enough, in one of the cabinets at the house I found a bunch of earplugs, so obviously someone else felt that the nighttime noise was a bit loud as well.)

Lastly, the review below that mentions the skeleton key issue came up for us as well. Since the house is all open air, each bedroom and the kitchen is locked by a unique skeleton key. There is also a house key as well as a key for the safe the owners supply. This huge conflagration of keys was quite unwieldy, especially considering every time we left the house for a long period of time we had to lock all the rooms. The skeleton keys aren’t marked, so it always took a lot of time to go through each skeleton key, try it to see if it works; if not, go to the next, etc. Also, when going to the beach to sit or snorkel, and trying to have as few items with me as possible, having this huge pile of keys to lug with me everywhere seemed quite silly. I guess it’s the tradeoff to having the open-air floor plan, but the reply from the management below that they “fixed” the skeleton key problem is misleading.

Again, these “complaints” might not seem like much to others, but they did bother us on our trip. We had pretty bad weather the week we were in St. Lucia (only 1 ½ sunny days – even all the locals kept saying “This is usually our dry season, but it’s been raining non-stop for 2 weeks!”), which meant we spent more time than most might in the house, and maybe that’s why these issues popped up more for us. But we did have a lot of fun as well, especially going zip-lining in the rain forest, going up to Reduit Beach one day, snorkeling at a couple places on the island, and enjoying the Marigot Bay bars. Our favorites were Hurricane Hole and Chateau Mygo. We didn’t care for Doolittle’s, as it smelled bad and had tons of flies around every time we went, although it also had billiard tables, which aren’t a bad diversion when it rains.

One last note: If you get up to go to the kitchen in the middle of the night, you will most likely startle the cat that will be curled up on one of the chairs on the porch. Although if you’re not expecting it, it will probably scare you more than you will the cat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2011
We appreciate the overall tone of the review. To respond to your concerns. Unfortunately we have no control over the noise..There is a bay wide ageement to curtail entertainment at 11 and most adhere to that. however the dance hall at the top of the hill doesnt. Believe me we have tried to quiet them down. As to the mosquito's..in the literature i send before your visit I advised you to bring bug repellant and to keep the Br doors shut. We have also added the screened Sun room so you have some respite. As to the keys, we generally only recommend locking the bedrooms at night so we usually leave the room keys in the doors and only carry the house key with us, but we are working on a labeling system.We hope that overall you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$165
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing