We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Before arriving in St Lucia, I wasn't really familiar with this Caribbean Island. From driving from the airport / other part of the Island I was amazed at the beauty/scenery and how tropical it looked. When we arrived at Marigot Bay I was truly amazed at the natural beauty and realized this is a hidden gem. Mairgot Palms was exactly what we were looking for : quiet, slightly off the beaten track, within walking distance to amenities, with a killer view. The apartments are very modern, completed to taste and extremely clean.. you could tell the owners cared deeply about their renovations from the previous owner. Steve the owner was fantastic: very attentive if there was anything we needed, took care of restaurant reservations and genuinely a very nice guy. What I liked about staying here that it didn't feel like a hotel, you could come and go and not worry about ordering food, cleaning your room first thing in the morning. You could make your own breakfast lunch etc. Mairgot Bay it's self was very beautiful and I really liked the marina’s and the surrounding restaurants etc. and how cool to arrive to some of them via a 24 hour Water Taxi. Steve organized a few trips for us to the South of the Island to the fish fry; both of which were a great experience. I’d highly recommend St Lucia and in particular Marigot Palms to anyone, it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrettboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

As soon as we arrived at Marigot Palms, we knew we’d chosen well. When we asked Steve the proprietor how he and his wife planned the property, he said, "We created what we look for when we travel." Well apparently, we are like-minded travellers because my friend and I found just what we were looking for—a great view, a wonderful apartment, a quick walk to the shops and restaurants, a quiet, well-maintained villa, and accommodating hosts.

We rented the 2 bed/2 bath suite on the upper level. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots, dishes, and utensils. Day one, Steve provided us with a lovely breakfast, and then he took us to nearby grocery store where we found a good selection of reasonably priced food. Even the small store in Marigot Bay offers a good selection of staples (including wine and beer) at reasonable prices, and it is walking distance.

I've rented houses in the Caribbean before, and this was by far the most modern and comfortable. The furnishings offer a clean European sensibility. The beds are made up with crisp, white cotton sheets and duvets and the towels are fluffy, white and fresh. We felt instantly at home.

Normally, when I read, “we provide tours,” I’m skeptical, but all I can say is “Trust in Cyrus.” Cyrus is a trusted employee from the island, and he’ll provide you with the experience you are looking for without being intrusive. He’s an expert in getting you ahead of the cruise ship mobs, so it’s good to leave your inner control freak on the plane and let Cyrus run the show. After a few trips with Cyrus, you'll feel like you are visiting with relatives rather than being shuttled around by a tour guide. Tours with Cyrus are worth every penny.

Steve is more than willing to hold court at the Tikki Bar and swap stories, but if you are looking for quiet time and privacy, you will also find it here. My travel companion dubbed Marigot Palms as having the best view of the Bay. If you are a like-minded traveller who wants to escape the tourist crowds and all-inclusive hotels, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkf943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Marigot Palms. After a long journey w/ little sleep, and lost luggage, we were met at the airport by Cyrus who drove us to MP. Upon arriving at MP, Steve met us with a warm smile. He made us feel very welcomed. He showed us to our beautiful and extremely clean apt. After a quick shower and change into our swimsuits (we packed these in our carryon, thankfully!) we made our way to the pool to relax. Steve was more than accommodating by offering us drinks and a dinner reservation at a local restaurant. Though it is only a quick 6 min walk down to the Village, Steve offered to drive us. He also offered to pick us up after dinner, but we opted to walk back up the hill after dinner, which even though it was dark was no problem. We stayed at MP for one week and each day was relaxing and fun. We met and made friends with all the other guests at MP. Many nights all eight guests would sit out on the poolside deck; have a cocktail and talk, laugh and joke. We always invited Steve to join in as he became more than a host, he became a friend. Even though there were six other people staying at the apts, we still felt like we were on our own and could relax.
Steve was always helpful and available for setting up activities for us. We also hired Cyrus for a day to drive us around the island. Cyrus has lived in St. Lucia his entire life and knows the island as well as its people. We were very comfortable with him and enjoyed our time with him. We could not have asked for a better personal guide for the day. I definitely recommend MP as a place to spend your vacation in St. Lucia. The location is perfect! After seeing Castries, Rodney Bay and Soufriere, we were always so happy to be "home" in Marigot Bay. It is one of the most beautiful places on the island and MP overlooks this little piece of paradise. Thank you, Steve for making our vacation one we will always remember and treasure. You and Marigot Palms exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajs062103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at Marigot Palms from Jan 19-26 at the same time as the previous three reviewers. All I can say is that I agree with all their statements. We had a very good stay. Rather than echo their remarks I will try to fill in some details that may be of interest to future guests.
Marigot Palms is a rectangular building with two stories and a pool, tiki bar and patio in front of the lower level. The building is situated about 100' above the water of Marigot Bay directly opposite the beach. The pictures of the beach that you see posted here are a good representation of the view you get from any room in the property. Our room, the Buckingham suite, was situated on the lower level and had windows and door right out onto the pool and patio area. The suite consisted of a large great room with full kitchen and dining area along with a seating area with a nice sized leather sofa and TV. The TV service appears to be sattelite service with ALL the US cable and broadcast channels as well as a sampling of Spanish and other worldwide features. There was a separate large bedroom with a large bathroom. The bathroom features a walk-in shower with a rainfall shower head and also a hand spray attachment. There was plenty of hot water. Although we didn't drink the water, it appeared that the water quality was good, no odor, very soft. I want to stress the fact that the room was absolutely spotless and brand new. The floors in the entire suite are shiny new beige tile. The bed is a US Queen size four poster with a white down duvet. We discussed with Steve that the duvet might be a little warm for the spring and summer season. He stated that he had plans already to swap them for a lighter bedspread. The mattress was quite comfortable and we slept well. The room was very quiet due to the fact that the lower level is built into the hillside and only has windows on the side facing the pool. The suite has air conditioning in both the bedroom and great room with separate controls. We felt that it worked well and used it everyday. We cooked breakfast in the room everyday. I thought the stove worked well. The oven is a convection model that we weren't real familiar with. I believe the temperatures were listed in Celsius which made things a bit unfamiliar. I'm sure if we wanted to use it that Steve could have provided some insight. We thought that the selection of kitchen utensils was appropriate for most cooking tasks. They provide a toaster and a coffee maker, I didn't see a microwave. The refrigerator is small, one of those under the counter models. The freezer is tiny. Steve allowed us to get ice from the bar, that was real handy.

The grounds of the hotel are well kept. We saw a few people cutting grass and trimming bushes while we were there. Steve stated there was some damage in the hurricane but you really wouldn't notice it. We never noticed a single mosquito the whole time we were on the island. Maybe it had to do with the time of year but we both felt that no bugs is a very good thing. Never saw a bug in the rooms either, impressive.

We rented a small jeep for the week. I guess this is a personal choice. We are fairly sophisticated travelers and are pretty comfortable driving in strange places. By the way, we felt that it was quite easy to drive on the island. You do drive on the left, but the main roads are pretty wide and well paved. If you didn't have a car there are many options. Steve can arrange for Cyrus or others to take you just about anywhere you want to go. Cyrus drives a brand new Suzuki minivan that is quite comfortable. We had him take us to the Anse la Raye fish fry on friday night with another couple who were staying at the hotel. We could have driven ourselves but felt that it might be nice to not have to worry about parking the car and driving back half drunk. We had a really good time and enjoyed talking with Cyrus. Cyrus also helped us with directions about everyday as we were studying our maps and deciding what to do. I would leave the car thing like this; if you are adventurous and want to save some money, then rent a car, otherwise take tours with Cyrus or others and enjoy having a local show you around. Be sure to discuss the cost of various destinations and tours with Steve and then make your own choice. Driving times to common destinations; Castries 25 minutes, Soufriere ("Soo-fray", Pitons, waterfalls, etc.) 1 hour 15 minutes, Anse la Raye 20 minutes, Anse Cochon (nice beach with snorkeling, free beach access by 300 yd path, Ti Kaye resort) 30 minutes, Rodney Bay/Gros Islet (shopping, dining, beach) 45 minutes. All these times were off season, midday, add time for traffic and high season. There is a large, modern, US style grocery called Super J located about 15 minutes away. The grocery was very similar to a typical mid-size store in the states including a lot of familiar US brands. They have a deli, quality produce and some decent meat. They take US dollars at the official rate of 2.67 which we thought was very handy. Everybody on the island took US dollars. We did not change money or get money from the bank machine. Be sure that your currency is in good condition, they look at every bill and really do not want anything with damage or writing on it. The exchange rate we got varied from 2.5 to 2.67 so we felt like we did pretty well.

Summary;

Marigot Palms is a very nice small guesthouse with quality hosts and great new facilities. Marigot Bay is beautiful, quiet and peaceful. There are a few stores and restaurants here. For stays longer than a few days you will want to have a car or take a tour by boat or with Cyrus. The people on the island are very friendly, helpful and speak good english. The island is quite expensive and you must be careful and make choices if you want to stay on a budget. It is possible to save a great deal of money by cooking a bit in your room at Marigot Palms. Come visit Steve and Anne Marie at Marigot Palms, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indianajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Don't let the small town or steep dirt road fool you. Once you walk outside your room at Marigot Palms you will not want to leave. It has the best view of Marigot Bay! Steve, Cyrus and his crew could not have done a better job being hosts. The condo has a modern updated feel with all the amenities you need. We came with a Jeep, but it was really nice to have the option to set up transportation through Marigot Palms if we wanted to head out without driving. Steve also had a lot of recommendations on what to do and see as well as all the contacts to set anything up. There is quite a bit to do, from sightseeing and hanging out at the local fish fry to zip lining, sailing and eating at great restaurants. Every night we were warmly welcomed at the outside bar for a drink or two with other guests. Not to mention Marigot Bay has the best restauarnt on the Island, the Rainforest Hideaway. I highly recommend going to Marigot Palms! We can't wait to come back some day and maybe next time climb the Pitons.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Marigot Palms, and loved it. Steve and Ann Marie have the best kept secret in St. Lucia. The room was great, the view was spectacular and the experience was even better. All the personal touches blended with all the privacy we wanted made our stay precisely what we were looking for when we booked our trip. If you can't enjoy what Marigot Palms has to offer, then St. Lucia is not the place for you! One warning, watch out for Cy's Potion when you saddle up to Steve's bar -- it is as smooth and inviting as Cyrus but it will make the hair on your arms stand on end....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gophers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at Marigot Palms in the Windsor suite for our honeymoon in St Lucia. We had an amazing time and would both highly recommend it. The view of Marigot Bay from the suites is gorgeous, and the apartment we stayed in was spotless and very nicely furnished - all modern appliances and bathroom. The pictures really don't do it justice! There's AC and wifi in the rooms if you want it, and also a full kitchen - there's no landline in the room though, so I'd recommend bringing a laptop and a usb headset so you can make local calls for cheap through skype. You're within about a 5-7 minute walk from the marina, where there's a handful of restaurants, a grocery store, a small beach, and a place you can rent kayaks and such. Although honestly, we spent a lot of time just relaxing at Marigot Palms, either lounging by the pool or hanging out by the Tikki bar chatting with Steve and other guests who were staying there.

The owners, Steve and Anne Marie, live in one of the other suites on the property and are both wonderful people who were extremely helpful throughout our stay. We actually got to be friends with them by the end of the trip. They would call restaurants for us to make reservations and offered to drive us over if we didn't feel like walking. The night we arrived Steve drove us down to a local restaurant (Chateau Mygo) and the following day he was nice enough to drive us to a supermarket to stock up on some supplies for our kitchen (the smaller grocery store by the marina is more expensive and I wouldn't recommend buying a lot of stuff there). It was nice being able to cook meals ourselves when we didn't feel like going out. There aren't a ton of restaurants in Marigot Bay and overall the area is smaller and less touristy than Rodney Bay, but we actually preferred this.

If you stay at there, you can choose to do your own exploring, or there's prearranged tours offered through Marigot Palms (they cost extra, but prices are pretty reasonable given what it would cost even just for cab ride to and from the different places on the island). The tours are led by Cyrus, a local who's good friends with Steve and Anne Marie. We chose not to rent a car when we were there (it wasn't necessary but some people might prefer to have their own vehicle - we didn't since we did a lot of relaxing!) and we went on a few tours led by Cyrus - he is just a really sweet, wonderful guy that we enjoyed spending time getting to know. One day he brought us fresh grapefruit picked from the grounds of the property and picked and cut open a coconut for us so we could try sipping some coconut water. The tours Cyrus does are not totally set in stone - he would ask us if we wanted to stop at different local places, and if there was someplace nearby that we wanted to see he'd take us there.

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pchiusano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.2 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 12 in Castries
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn On The Bay
The Inn On The Bay
#1 of 4 in Marigot Bay
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.3 mi away
Nature's Paradise
Nature's Paradise
#2 of 7 in Marigot Bay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments

Address: Mama Sheila Drive, Marigot Bay 00124, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range: £127 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARIGOT PALMS Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartment Suites is a small private resort, located on the exclusive South side of the Bay, known locally as "Millionaire Row", overlooking the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean. It is the perfect accommodation if you are looking for a luxury vacation in your own little piece of paradise. MARIGOT PALMS is perfectly positioned less than 5 minutes walk to the beach, water sports,and local amenities. Our apartments and B&B suite are the perfect indulgent getaway for families and couples alike. Experience the many fine waterfront restaurants and bars while watching the "Green Flash Sunset". MARIGOT PALMS sits in its own private grounds with stunning ocean views. The garden has a fantastic swimming pool, "one of the finest in Marigot". The grass lawn is surrounded by palm trees, fruit trees & plants. Our 3 luxury fully air conditioned self contained apartment suites and B&B suite, come highly equipped with all modern conveniences, carved four poster Queen Anne beds and furniture, leather sofa`s, walk-in showers with rainforest heads, polished porcelain floor tiles, full kitchen, on site management, quality linen, and much more.Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy MARIGOT PALMS. It's the ideal place to while away your days enjoying the breath taking views and the beautiful Caribbean weather, sunning yourself by the pool or the beach, and your evenings enjoying the nightlife in Marigot Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing