We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Five Star House with awesome porch & pool views...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Makambu and surroundings Villa Makambu and surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Mezzanine in the upper level unit
The mezzanine
Bedrrom with ensuite bathroom with extra large double shower
Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with double shower
Ensuite bathroom with double shower
Outside living on large verandas
Marigot Bay
Myranda and Carlos our exceptional staff!!!
Pascale and Franz the owners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PalmyraDa...
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Five Star House with awesome porch & pool views & Great Hospitality!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The place is even better than pictured, with top-notch construction, spacious lofted rooms, and wraparound covered porches with great views of Marigot Bay below. Owners Pascale and Franz have a slice of heaven here, and they are very sweet about sharing it with guests. Their caretakers Carlos and his son Lance are always present to help out too. We stayed there a week this January and our only regret is that we did not bring more friends with us to enjoy it with, as it could easily hold six guests. My wife and I had a car and it was a perfect place to explore not only the sights and restaurants and beaches of Marigot Bay, but we also made it our home base for our one hour drives to the northern tip of the island, the eastern side and the south too (Soufriere and the must-see Pitons).

We stayed in three places during our two week stay on St. Lucia, and we loved Villa Makambu so much! Very private and very relaxing...we almost did not want to leave the porch and pool...the rainbows and birds and ocean and Bay views were so gorgeous.

Our first stay in St Lucia was at a less expensive Soufriere Hotel (Still Beach) which was a less fancy place, but it was close to the Pitons and volcano, and gave you a feel for the local community. We also spent a couple glorious days at Ti Kaye Resort, which we also highly recommended (well worth the ~$400/night fees). Villa Makambu was priced in between these two, but with top end craftsmanship and service. We were greeted with rum punches and crab cakes thanks to Carlos, who helped build the estate with Franz and Pascale. We were lucky enough to be there while Pascale and Franz were there too, so we had a great time enjoying their hospitality. We hope to return there sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice furnishings, nicely landscaped grounds, clean pool, huge covered porch with views
Liked least: the beds were a little too firm for our likings, but this is likely a common experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnT...
Essex, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Makambu owner Pascale, manager Josette, and caretaker Carlos could not have been nicer. When our flight to St. Lucia was cancelled three times, Pascale did not charge us for the missed days. Josette took good care of my daughter when she arrived before we did, due to the cancellations. Carlos and Lance left us at Sugar Beach one day, and went back to Soufrière in the boat to buy us lunch. The day Carlos bought mahi mahi for our dinner, he also marinated it! The villa is lovely, and very well kitted out.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connor F
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we could want”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I recently stayed at Villa Makambu for our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for anything more. It was an absolutely perfect stay. The Villa is so spacious and so perfectly designed, we wish we could live there permanently. It was great for the two of us but would also be really good for a group of friends since there are multiple bedrooms. We are already planning a return trip and are hoping to bring friends to share it with.

The Villa and view are one thing but the difference maker were the people that helped make our trip incredible. Pascale, Josee and Carlos were awesome. We knew we were in good hands when Josee met us at the Villa and helped us figure out what we should do during the week. She told us about the beaches and hikes and restaurants all over the island. You can tell Pascale put a personal touch on the Villa and loves being there. And then there is Carlos, between the fresh local juice he brought us and the fish cakes he was fantastic.

I could go on and on because everything was so great. If you are looking for an alternative to the big resort vacation, this is the spot. Marigot Bay was a great place to make home-base for the week, there are a few restaurants to get dinner and drinks but it was quiet and relaxing but it's also in the middle of the island so we made it up to the north point and south to all of the beaches.

We can't wait to go back and visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAZIEMANI...
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“STOP LOOKING & BOOK Villa Makambu!!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

If you are like me, you are looking and looking and looking at all the great options for St Lucia, (it's a beautiful Island with amazing people after all!) trying to find just the right spot to stay. I assure you - THIS IS IT! You know when you see something great and you pull out your camera to capture the moment… and it does, but it's just somehow not as spectacular as the real thing? Villa Makambu is a spot like that for us. The pictures do show you exactly what you get but they don't show you how it feels to be there.

Arriving with really not much planned other then some basic ideas of what we wanted to see and do but nothing booked or set up, Villa Makambu arranged everything - and it was perfect. Perfect? YES, PERFECT!

We are a fairly active couple, and the 10 min walk down and 12 min walk up was a great chance to walk hand and hand, chat and become familiar with Marigot. We even were able to walk up at night with the flashlight provided in the villa and it's completely 100% safe… although incredible dark and we were thankful for the light! We ate at all the spots in the Marina, great chocolate croissants and pizza at Rowley's, atmosphere galore at Doolittles across on the little ferry, cold Piton at JD's, sophisticated comfort at Capella with amazing staff and great sparkling wine/Champagne, and the BEST times, great staff/owner and great food and Pitons at Chateau Mygo!

Pascale the owner is one of a kind and we truly feel we have made a lifelong friend. She helped us get to historic Pigon Island with amazing ruins and a little fabulous restaurant and a perfect beach. She helped us get to know the upstairs vacationers and sent us all for a great afternoon at the Rum Distillery. She let us move midway thru our trip from the main floor to the upstairs unit so we could experience it too. She called when we needed a dinner reservation at Rainforest Hideaway and couldn't get thru by email, she arranged the snorkel trip with Lance, she and Carlos even Climbed the Piton with us in the pouring rain then laughed and celebrated with us later at Chateau Mygo!!

From the wonderful driver Smally at the airport (bring some small tip money for airport staff btw - super helpful with bags etc), to the amazing owner Pascale. This trip is tops. The staff of 4, Miranda and another woman cleaned the units spotless clean, Lance who took us for a remarkable snorkel day to Soufriere showed us the best spot to eat a local lunch and back (FYI we saw stunning scenery and beaches and marine life including an Octopus!), and then there is Carlos! He cooks, he tends to the gardens, he brought us freshly squeezed sour orange juice (that I think I may dream about!), and he will take you wherever you wish to go - whenever you'd like, and all while smiling :D Is it any wonder we are already looking at when we can make it back to this Villa!!

So, stop looking and reading. This is where you should stay. Central on the island for Rodney Bay and Castries, Canaries and Soufriere along with so many other wonders along the way, it's clean and comfortable and you will not regret booking here!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing (seriously, nothing)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Property with great owner & staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We recently returned from my birthday celebration in St. Lucia and Villa Makumbu. It was incredible. The house is all that you see in the pictures and more. It's stunning views, lovely pool, spacious & well furnished unit all made this trip one of the best birthdays I've celebrated. I have to say that I looked at several properties prior to booking with Pascale but her warm reception, prompt replies to my numerous emails & questions & knowing that she had staff on site 24/7 truly made me feel comfortable renting one of her units. Carlos was amazing--we hired him for a full day of excursions which included taking his boat out to a few snorkeling spots, Sugar Beach, the Pitons, the volcano and hot springs. It was great!!! It was so reassuring having him there to take us back and forth to the Bay for dinner nightly as well. Pascale has thought of EVERYTHING the unit even has a cell phone with Carlos's number programmed so that we could call him when we were ready to return. There is also cable TV and even a DVD player. We had a great time and are already looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalesh F
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I cannot express the amazing time my friends and I had at Villa Makambu, in St. Lucia. We stayed there for 7 days and I must say it was truly wonderful. This Villa is definitely for people who loves being away from all the “hustle and bustle” and just a few minutes away you can find a Club or a lime on the streets of Marigot Bay. Pascale was a fantastic host as well as Carlos. Such incredible people, they made our stay 100 times better.

Villa
We rented out the lower level of the Villa, the bedrooms were spacious as well as the bathrooms. Firstly the décor at the Villa is amazing. Very ethnic pieces which I absolutely adored!! Lovely kitchen with an open plan looking into the living room and the patio.
My favourite is the salt water pool with that beautiful deck equipped with lots of seating and shade. The pool at night is the best, warm and inviting. We stayed in there for hours and sometimes did not want to come out. There is no AC however that would not be a problem as the rooms were very cool at night, especially with the fans.
The roads to the villa are quite rough and if you intend to move around a lot you should probably invest in a car rental. We did not have a car and for the few times we went out we got around just fine, thanks to Pascale and Carlos.

Staff
I cannot say enough how much I appreciate everyone at Villa Makambu…………….Pascale, Carlos and Lance! When Pascale was not there as she had to fly back home Carlos took great care of us. We also did a boat tour which was reasonably priced and I must say the best thing anyone can ever do over there. We started at morning, visiting the Sulphurs Springs, Waterfalls, ate at a “real” Creole Restaurant (absolutely delicious food), Sugar Beach, The Pitons, very overwhelming and breath-taking. On boats I usually get motion sickness but everyone made sure I felt really comfortable; thankfully I did not get sick that day.

We went cliff diving off the small cove near to the Villa with Lance…again an amazing experience. I felt that we took home more than an experience but newly developed friendships.

They made my birthday absolutely great, Carlos and Lance took my friends and I out and had the Dj shout me out a few times (felt great) lol

I’m certain tears were flowing saying our goodbyes. There is so much more I can write about our experience but that would be a whole book of awesomeness :)

Great place to stay, you would not be disappointed! I cannot wait to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SturdyPid...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I am not sure where to begin. I can say that our stay at the Villa Makambu exceeded our expectations. We stayed here the second week in February. There were 4 of us, two couples, and we rented the bottom level of the villa. We only used two of the three bedrooms. Each bedroom was spacious with a comfortable king size bed. The one bedroom had a large ensuite and there was a huge main bathroom. Both bedrooms had slated doors that led to their own private deck area equipped with lounge chairs. The villa has all the amenities that you would require. There is a large kitchen, with a separate open air dining area. The villa also has a spacious living room with a TV. The deck, where we spent most of our evenings, features a loveseat, table and two chairs directly off the living room. The whole villa is nicely decorated. The villa also has a large pool and deck area with eight lounge chairs for relaxing. The landscaping around the villa is beautiful and the view overlooking Marigot Bay and the Caribbean is truly spectacular.
We were lucky enough to be there at the same time as the owners, Pascale and Franz. They were extremely friendly and accommodating. Upon our arrival they greeted us, gave us a tour of the villa. The fridge was even stocked with some food and beverages to give us a start on breakfast. Once we were settled in they made a point of coming over to check and see if everything was okay or if we required anything else. They are very knowledgeable about the island and gave us tips on local beaches, sightseeing, shopping, things we did not see in the tourist books. They always took the time to make sure everything was okay and ask if we needed anything. We were able to spend a few evenings together lounging and visiting with them. They really made us feel at home.
They arranged for, Smally, their preferred taxi driver to pick us up at the airport. His offer to stop at the grocery store so that we could pick up supplies was appreciated.
We rented a four wheel drive vehicle during our stay and would recommend anyone doing the same. Pascale recommended a local person to rent from. They delivered the vehicle to the villa and then retrieved it from the airport when we were finished.
I cannot write this without including Carlos, the caretaker, handyman, tour guide jack of all trades. Carlos was there cleaning the pool, pruning the plants and making sure you had everything you needed. On our first night he brought us a BBQ with briquette and starter fluid. He made sure that it was always ready to go. He brought us fresh squeezed juice on three occasions. He served us delicious fish cakes one evening. Our second last day we had the pleasure of enjoying some BBQ chicken that Carlos had been marinating that day. On our last day he brought us some fresh Coconut juice. All of us including Pascale, Franz, Carlos and Miranda enjoyed this mixed with a little local rum. Although we did not get to enjoy one of Carlo’s water excursions, as he was booked up and the seas did not co-operate, I heard they were amazing.
Miranda is the housekeeper and she is very pleasant. She cleaned our villa twice while we were there and it was spotless.
We would stay here again and recommend the Villa Makambu to anybody.
Pascale, Franz, Chuck, Carlos and Miranda thanks for making our stay enjoyable and memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa was beyond our expectations
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing