We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“lovely spot and fantatic sunsets”
The living room in the evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room in the evening
External view of the house and swimming pool The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
15 reviews
The living room in the evening
External view of the house and swimming pool
The Master Bedroom
The swimming pool at night
The house
The living room at night
The Second Bedroom
The Kitchen and Dining Area
The terrace in the evening
View from the living room balcony of the Caribbean Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pusscatio
Surrey England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lovely spot and fantatic sunsets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at White Turtle in January - the house and view are lovely. sitting on the deck watching the sunsets with a sundowner was just a perfect end to the day. The pool was lovely - few bits from trees in the pool every morning but hey that's what you would expect and need to accept to have such a beautiful garden surrounding the pool. but its no hardship to stand in the sun and skim the pool with the net provided - quite relaxing!. The quality of the bedrooms and furnishings is very good. Quite a hike up the hill from Marigot Bay but you can get a taxi if you want at night.

A welcome pack of a few essentials would have been welcomed!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: watching the sunsets from the deck
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapperchr...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great home - Fantastic bay - Do little”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Both my girlfriend and I stayed here recently for 2 weeks and apart from the mosquitoes (it is rainy season) found this to be the perfect base to see the island from. We were met at the house by Maggi and she explained the alarm system, safe, washing machine , dishwasher etc and also gave us pointers as to the restaurants located in the bay (thanks Maggi) The house is built over two stories and is designed to give maximum living space and wonderful views from the balconies. It has everything that you need for a comfortable stay - iron, board, high power hair dryer, safe, fantastic kitchen, DVD's (not that we needed them), small collection of books, snorkel gear etc. We had coffee each morning on the balcony and we were surrounded by bird life, we even had a resident bird visit us for his daily bread. I had never seen humming birds before but they are fascinating to watch from the balcony, albeit a little tricky to photograph.
The pool is just the right size for a good swim and for horseplay after a day sight seeing. We took the recommendation from Dan (the owner) and hired a car through his contact on island (it was Auto Rentals - Anthony). It was cheap and reliable but not after a lot of hassle getting a driving permit. If you book through this chap then ensure that he gets you a driving permit before you take control of the car. We landed on the Saturday and were picked up by the car rental owner in the car and driven to the house. when we asked about a permit he told us that we would have to get it ourselves from a police station in Castries, we didn't want to do this as we were not willing to drive without a permit. It was Monday before he came back to the house with a permit!! that said , he is a really genuine personable chap who we both really liked. The internet wifi was appreciated (it allowed me to answer work emails at the poolside surreptitiously without my girlfriend knowing - come on we all do it!!)
A couple of small niggles that we had were the pool could have been cleaned more often , it appeared that the pool was only cleaned once whilst we were there, by the end of the second week we had a few dead bugs and leaves at the bottom of the pool - don't let that put you off though as it was still swimmable. Another small niggle is that the ipod dock in the lounge didn't appear to work with our ipod / iphone - we had to plug the speaker jack plug lead directly into the ipod / iphone, again not a huge problem but one that should be addressed. Remember to take mosquito repellent if you visit in their rainy season and we also took a mosquito net to put over the bed - it made for a better nights sleep knowing that we were going to be bite free.

One huge let down for this house though is the lack of air conditioning. It should have air con units in at least the bedrooms - the fans at night are no match for the high temperatures experienced during the night - maybe this is something that Dan can easily retro- fit.

Overall though this is a home that you can relax in and feel special in.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Heat at night without air con
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally T
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“A honeymooner's paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stunning views, beautiful pool, stylish design and immaculate presentation - The White Turtle has it all.

We spent two wonderful weeks on honeymoon staying at The White Turtle. The house has been beautifully designed and finished with real thought and attention to detail.

The large bifold doors in the living room open onto a huge balcony area where you can relax outside on a sofa to watch the sunset or admire the stunning views over the forest towards the bay.

The pool is large enough for a good swim if you're feeling energetic and perfect for cooling off and splashing about after some strenuous sunbathing. The area around the pool has been skilfully planted and attracts hummingbirds and other amazing exotica. The speakers around the pool are a perfect addition for a relaxing day soaking up the rays. The iPod / iPhone dock allows you to play your own music and we also managed to stream UK radio stations using this and the WiFi. Dan has cleverly added external WiFi so that you can even access the Internet whilst you are lying by the pool!

Indoors the house is furnished to a very high standard. The super king size bed was the comfiest we've ever slept on and fan above the bed is a very welcome addition to cool down the room at night. The outdoor shower is a real luxury and a very liberating experience after a hard day in the sun!! The kitchen has everything that you would need for a holiday and is very well equipped with appliances and utensils.

Marigot Bay is a beautiful spot and as we'll as having lots of lovely restaurants and bars it is a great place to access the local water taxis. The taxi's will take you on a trip along the coast to the Pitons which is well worth doing and gives you an opportunity for some wonderful snorkelling (and has the added benefit of being much quicker than driving!).

Both Dan and Maggi were amazingly helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and they went the extra mile to make sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The information about local car hire proved very useful and we would highly recommend Dan's suggestion of getting a 4x4.

All in all an absolutely stunning house in a beautiful tropical location. Thank you Dan and The White Turtle for an unforgettable honeymoon.

Sally and Julian

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Watching the humming birds feed from the flowers while lounging by the pool.
Liked least: The last day, when we realised we couldn't stay any longer...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treetop paradise with sea views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at The White Turtle and were completely impressed with both the house and the island. The photos don't exaggerate the beauty of the house but what can't be seen in the photos is the serenity. Perched high on the hill overlooking the sea, The White Turtle is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The location may be viewed as remote by some, but both my husband and I enjoyed the distance from the village and even found the uphill walk to be a nice way to work off some of all the great food we consumed at many of the restaurants in Marigot Bay. :)

Booking the house was easy. Dan was very helpful in answering any of the questions we put forth and the 'welcome package' provided once the booking was complete was thorough.

The surrounding neighbours were all very friendly and even stopped to give us a ride a few times when they came upon us walking down into Marigot Bay.

It was extremely warm during our stay and Maggi was quick to bring us a fan when we found the evening time to be a bit too hot for a restful sleep. The pool was the perfect way to cool off in the evening and the outdoor shower was a real treat.

A mosquito net would have been welcomed as the mosquitos took quite a liking to my husband.

I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, completely private and luxurious getaway to stay at The White Turtle.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quiet, the privacy and the view
Liked least: the mosquitos and perhaps the lack of AC
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2013
Many thanks for the glowing review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay (sorry about the mosquitoes).

Hope to hear from you again one day.

All the best

Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovetrave...
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern comfort in a stunning tropical paradise !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from 3 weeks in this brand new house. We were it's first occupants, what an honour.
It was just paradise.
From sitting on the balcony in the morning with a coffee to watching the fabulous sunsets with a cocktail in the evening the place is just bliss.
The location is wonderful, although remote, you are on the side of the rainforest, you feel totally secure , cocooned in this fantastic modern home.
It is equipped with all modern features, iPod dock and great sound system by the pool and in the house was particularly welcome. Fantastic kitchen with everything you could wish for. Particularly adaptable lounge and outside furniture made entertaining our friends extra special.
Bedrooms very luxurious, master bed mattress ..........best ever comfort away from home.
Views from all parts of the house are to die for !
Excellent booking process and service from the owner could not be more helpful.
Wonderful assistance from Maggie and her team locally, nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
If you want to experience total paradise book this house now !

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The fantastic view.
Liked least: Coming home !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörn B
Molln, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Das Haus an sich, die Lage und der Ausblick
Liked least: nichts
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$300
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing