We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This IS Truly Paradise!”
Review of Nature's Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nature's Paradise
Ranked #2 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This IS Truly Paradise!”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I went to St. Lucia for the first time over Christmas and spent weeks researching places to stay. We were looking for an intimate, boutique property with an incredible view and we found all that - and much more - at Nature's Paradise! The owners, David and Wanda, could not have been more helpful or hospitable. From the moment we arrived to St. Lucia, where a driver David had arranged was waiting to pick us up (on Christmas Day no less!), we felt completely at home. If you are looking for a large, all-inclusive resort with tons of amenities and no interaction with the locals, then please stay at Sandals....there's three of them on the Island! However, if what you are looking for is a unique, one-of-a-kind experience on the beautiful island of St. Lucia, then I can't recommend Nature's Paradise highly enough.

The property is surrounded by beautiful, lush foliage providing privacy and a true tropical feel. From the pool, you have a breathtaking view overlooking the Caribbean Sea and my husband enjoyed swimming a few laps here every morning. Breakfast is served promptly at 8 a.m. each weekday and we thoroughly enjoyed the spread of fresh, local fruit (papayas, pineapple and grapefruit, oh my!) cheese, coffee, tea and homemade bread baked by Wanda. It was a perfect way to start each day in St. Lucia and we valued spending this time with David and Wanda and the two or three other couples who were staying at Nature's Paradise (there's only four guest rooms on the entire property). We would all swap stories from the previous day and share recommendations for tours and activities we enjoyed. After breakfast, my husband and I would head out on a different adventure (many either recommended or coordinated directly by David). From ziplining in the rainforest to sailing along the Southern coast of St. Lucia to hiking Gros Piton, St. Lucia has so much to offer and we tried to take advantage of it all!

Finally, probably one of our favorite things about Nature's Paradise was the fact that there were no TVs in the rooms/cottages. WiFi and cell service is very spotty, as well, though there is a computer in the Great Room that is available for guests to use and access the internet. However, for us, having an opportunity to truly "disconnect" was the best thing we could have possibly done. It allowed us to completely enjoy our time in St. Lucia, and with each other, and we returned home to NC six days later feeling relaxed, rejuvenated and totally stress-free. We hope to recreate this experience and return to St. Lucia very soon and when we do, we will definitely be returning to Nature's Paradise!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathrynWCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
222
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Rest, Relaxation and Recuperation - what a perfect trifecta served up in Nature's Paradise. When my wife was diagnosed with cancer at the beginning of the year a doctor friend gave us a piece of advice: this was going to be a long haul so you need to create a light at the end of the tunnel, something to look forward to. Our daughter surfed the net for any place that met the criteria Worry-Free and Warm and found Nature's Paradise in St. Lucia. Come the Fall, the reality matched up to the billing. Avocado cottage overlooking the luscious expanse of Marigot Bay, with Martinique in the distance, was a paradise within Paradise. Fabulous fresh-fruit breakfasts, swimming in the pool surrounded by gorgeous tropical vegetation and walks down to the bay and the beach (and back up!) were all part of a beautiful, quiet, restorative two weeks. David and Wanda were delightful hosts, brimming with helpful knowledge and advice and amusing anecdotes (but not in the least bit intrusive). If you are looking for air conditioning, watching football games on the wide screen and hanging out at the bar, this is not the place for you. For those who love fresh food, fresh air, energetic walks, double rainbows and uninterrupted reading heaven then you too will have found the light at the end of your tunnel. Just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: There are two cottages each with studio bedroom, kitchen and separate bathroom. The verandah is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HMFAIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

You will either hate or love Nature's Paradise.

If you like TV in your room, bar, disco, on-site restaurant, 5 minutes walk to the beach where there are lots of other tourists just like you and all inside a security fence where the only St Lucians you meet are staff, don't bother - you will hate Nature's Paradise.

If you want a quiet, beautiful oasis set in a semi-natural garden to match the best on St Lucia, and where you can watch hummingbirds, with views across the Caribbean to Martinique, then Nature's Paradise is for you. A small pool - which you'll have to yourself much of the time - gives you views across the Caribbean. Lesser Antillean Bullfinchs will expect to be fed - and if you don't, will probably help themselves, there are some enormous butterflies and moths, at night geckos and frogs, the occasional possum and watch out for the large hermit crabs, wandering through the gardens.

While your own transport isn't essential, it's probably a good idea, at least for part of your stay. There are a range of facilities down the hill in Marigot Bay itself - several restaurants, a small beach with a range of water sports facilities, a small supermarket and an ATM. The track down to Marigot Bay is rough and steep in places but a fairly easy 20 minutes walk down and 30 minutes walk up - as you're on holiday, the walk really isn't a problem. Take a torch if you think you might walk it at night - which we did several times; the walk up after dinner, looking up at the Milky Way and listening to the tree frogs and cicadas is worth it.

David and Wanda are friendly, very helpful and very knowledgeable about St Lucia. They will happily make reservations for you as you want, organise tours, etc. But, really, the best thing to do it get your own vehicle and just drive off and explore St Lucia. You will certainly get lost from time-to-time. Despite being a small island, the lack of road signs and maze of small roads means you need to allow plenty of time to get where you want to go but who knows what you'll discover on the way. In any case, all the locals, despite the dreadlocks, really are very friendly and helpful and will happily give directions - and chat to you about where you're from and where you're going.

A wonderful place.

Room Tip: The cottages are probably a better choice - more space and kitchen facilities. Banana cottage has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StotfoldLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I visited St Lucia for the first time earlier this month as a brief escape from the notorious Seattle climate.
After initially researching options through various resorts on the island, I stumbled upon Nature's Paradise (via Trip Advisor actually) and was immediately drawn to the intimacy - not to mention the outstanding reviews.

A few things that need to be stated up front. Nature's Paradise is not a resort. It is not for those who wish to experience a foreign country partitioned off from the culture or those who prefer to view the action from afar. On the contrary, this B&B is for those who wish to immerse themselves in the natural environment of St Lucia (it is called Nature's Paradise, after all). Nature's Paradise is located up a steep hill overlooking Marigot Bay, a hike away from any restaurant, grocery, or other establishment. It's beautiful and scenic, and very private hillside.

This brings me point two: as another reviewer already stated - you will need a rental car. For some this can be tricky considering the British driving style, but believe me it's worth it and you will become accustomed to the driving after a few short minutes. Having a vehicle gives you the freedom to do what you want, when you want it, and also empowers you to explore more of the island and break away from the groups. I have to give credit to Dave for stressing this point. The rental was worth every penny.

Now, for the accommodations itself.
From the moment you arrive in Nature's Paradise, you feel as though you have entered… well… Nature's Paradise. After the long flight and drive, we were well worn in from the road and needed relaxation. Dave and Wanda warmly greeted us with fresh squeezed tropical juice and kindly toured the house, cottages, and gardens with us (we were also graced with the presence of their two cats Mango and Papaya, who we were visited by regularly). After a brief tour Dave walked us down to the Banana Cottage, located just down the hill from the main house. We were instantly taken with the amazing view, the hush, and the remoteness of it all. Immediately the weariness of travel washed away and we were ready for our vacation.

The cottages are quaint and functional. Each comes with a nice bed, couch/chair, full kitchen, fridge, and full bathroom. It's worth noting for some here that these are not hotel bathrooms. They have a few very minor quirks that come with being as remote and secluded as you are – primarily with consistently hot water and pressure. This was minor for my wife and I but I note it as some may take issue with this. Keep in mind the days and nights are very hot so a tepid shower is actually preferable.

Breakfast is served every morning in the main house at 8am. Dave and Wanda are gracious hosts and use this time to learn more about their guests, plan the day, and organize any outings as required. Dave is a great resource for the island's history, restaurants, and culture. More than anything I urge those who stay at Nature's Paradise to put trust in Dave to help you plan the trip that is right for you. He is a personable and knowledgable guide who is keen on avoiding crowds/tourist pitfalls and giving the best possible experience to his guests.

The afternoons can be as busy or as free as you like. We opted to spend our time taking advantage of two of the available Eco Tours Dave will book on your behalf – the first being a day filled with roadside coconut tasting, snake charming, a hike to a secluded natural hot mineral bath (fueled by the islands volcanic activity), and a beautiful lunch overlooking the islands iconic Pitons. The second: a full day sail, snorkeling trip, and gourmet lunched cooked on the boat by your personal crew - all booked through a Marigot Bay local restaurant, Chateu Myggo, and recommended by Dave. It was absolutely splendid and the day ended up being one of the highlights of our trip.

We spent the late afternoons and evenings lounging around Nature's Paradise's beautiful pool, overlooking a stunning sunset, beach, and distant banana plantations.

In the dusk, the surrounding jungle comes alive with hermit crabs, frogs, lizards, and bats. We would often sit on the deck of our cottage and listen to the sounds echoing up from the forests around the hill. The air itself seems to vibrate with life and one can truly feel a sense of awe and wonder for the environment you are surrounded it. It is at once engaging, exciting, and peaceful.

All told our St Lucia adventure was incredible, made all the more so by Nature's Paradise: the location, the accommodations, the hosts. My only regret was not staying a second week!

A couple tips:
-Utilize your full kitchen to plan a couple meals back at the cottage. Pick up some fresh fruit or food from the local markets. Enjoy some time at the cottage and really settle in.
-Ask questions. As already stated, Dave is your resource. Learn more about the island and it's rich history. Talk to the friendly locals. They have a great demeanor and the conversations I had with some were very memorable and provided perspective.
-Because of the remoteness of Nature's Paradise, I caution those checking their toiletries/essentials with the airline to pack some small essentials/extras in a carry on. I only mention this because American Airlines lost my wife's bag en route. This meant going without a change of clothes and some essential toiletries until the next daily flight to St Lucia over 24 hours later. To Dave/Wanda's credit, they offered my wife a change of clothes and some base necessities while we waited for the airline to taxi the bag across the island to the North side. Again - something to keep in mind as it was not easy to simply get replacements due to the remote location.
-As another reviewer pointed out, there are some great beaches right next to the airport in Vieux Fort. It's definitely worth checking in for your flight, then heading out to grab lunch at one of the local restaurants on the beach.

Evan

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EvanLaVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our second time back to Natures Paradise for a two week celebration of our 25th anniversary. The first week totally lived up to the expectation we had from being there once before (2010). We were the only guests and spend a lot of time together with Dave, who again showed that he has a good knowledge of St Lucia.
We were somewhat disappointed when a couple with a two year old showed up at Natures Paradise for the last 6 days of our stay.
We decided to give it a try, but after breakfast we realized that this was not going to work for us. We luckily found another place in Marigot bay, that was available immediately, so we could continue to celebrate our anniversary, the way we originally planned it (no children allowed); in a tranquil environment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kell_Lisbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The best vacations are those where you don't feel like a tourist. While there are few opportunities to escape this fate in the Caribbean we found that experience here at Nature's Paradise, and in St. Lucia.

Our planning started with some frank emails and discussions with Dave over the phone. The first thing to accept over everything else is that you need a car. Period. This was a poInt of contention between Dave and I, but once I accepted the addition cost I vowed to make the most of it. As Dave and other reviewers will tell you, Nature's Paradise is atop a hill ... a big hill. Perhaps it's a mountain, but I digress. You're not walking up and down said hill several times a day for a week to see the sites. But what gain in return is so very rewarding. The car gives you independence and mobility (and a bit of a 4x4 adventure), and the Nature's Paradise location offers you a remote, hidden gem that feels private, local and comforting. My wife and I felt right at home.

To the North lies Maragot Bay, a 10 minute drive, and stunningly beautiful. You're offered birdseye views of it on your drives up and down, during your stay in the cottages, and from the main house. We never tired of it. Marigot Bay is small, but provides a perfect blend of restaurants, beaches and hidden spots. And don't forget to stroll the docks to view the yachts sailing in from around the world. At the very end of the dock lies JD's Mangrove Restaurant. While Dave's other recommendations are nice, this one stood out. Enjoy candlelight dinner by the docks with top-notch food and service.

To the South lies the Roseau valley, and home to St. Lucia's award-wining rum distillery. You're offered views of the valley from the patio, and at poolside. A chance opportunity allowed us to see a barge from Guyana delivering molasses to the distillery.

The grounds around Natures Paradise were well planned and executed by Dave and Wanda. Words can describe it, but won't do it proper justice. The cottages are perfect, private, and very comfortable.

On day 1 we took a drive to a grocery store inland to pick up snacks and refreshments for our cottage. We experienced our first adventure out into the local economy, and face to face with native Lucians outside the tourist hotspots.

We blended our week with a mix of guided trips with Dave and personal adventures out in the 4x4. There's much to tell, but it's best left for our diaries and personal memories. What I can recommend is to explore, learn and appreciate St Lucia while you're there. If you want a pretty sunset, there's plenty to be had. Eat at the small, local spots (where native Lucians eat), stop at a roadside stand to buy bananas or coconuts, drive inland to the nature preserves, explore, and get lost. Dave can provide more guidance if you prefer. He and Wanda have a wealth of information.

Highlights:
Nature's Pardise:cottages, gardens, pool, views
Marigot Bay: restaurants, strolls along the dock,driving up and down the mountain, rum at the small beach bars
Anse La Raye: strolls, locals restaurant, the "fish fry"
Ti Kaye: best beach in St. Lucia
Pitons: lunch at Ladera, stunning views
Millet Forest: guided tours
Castries: watching where the tourists go- then heading in the other direction. Great local food at the small "shacks" just outside of town
St. Lucia: mountainous, twisty roads, lush landscapes, interesting history

And on the last day, before you jump on the plane, spend a few hours on the beach at Vieux Fort, just south-east of the airport. I think this was Dave's recommendation. Good call Dave, and Thanks!

(actual trip was in Feb, 2011, but Trip Advisor doesn't let me go back that far)

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We loved Nature's Paradise! We were only there for 2 nights, but we would definitely recommend it. David and Wanda were lovely hosts and made our trip to Marigot Bay just perfect! My Mom and I were traveling around St. Lucia for 6 days, seeing as much as possible, scouting out places for my wedding next year. Each morning we began our day with the best breakfast on the island- fresh mangos, pineapple, papaya, banana, and homemade breads! Nature's Parade is located on top of the hill overlooking the bay and without a car it can be hard to get up and down. David graciously drove us down to town and picked us up both days since we didn't have a car. This was such a nice thing, since my Mom was not really up for a trek up and down the twisty hilly roads! I would definitely recommend getting a car if you plan to stay here- it will make it a lot more accessible. We spent our first day relaxing in Marigot Bay having lunch and swimming! Its a lovely bay with a little ferry that will take you across to any of the many restaurants. Our second day was spent with David on a private tour of Soufriere! This is a must! We enjoyed every minute of the trip from the waterfalls, botanical gardens, soaking in mineral baths, sulphur springs, and a fabulous lunch at the Ladera Resort overlooking the Pitons (our favorite lunch spot!)
Don't miss out on this oasis in Marigot Bay! You can't find better hosts and will love relaxing on your cottage patio with the birds and and floating in the pool!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
7.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
9.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oasis Marigot
Oasis Marigot
#3 of 4 in Marigot Bay
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Paradise

Property: Nature's Paradise
Address: 1 Marigot Heights, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature's Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURE'S PARADISE at Marigot Bay A St. Lucia Eco-Lux vacation with a breathtaking Caribbean Sea view. Avocado Cottage and Banana Cottage are located on a quiet ridge high above the sea at Marigot Bay. The spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea creates the mood. Marigot Bay is what you have in mind when you think "Tropical Paradise". Our lush Tropical Gardens surround your private one-bedroom Cottage. Palms and Bougainvillea offer shade and color. You awake in the morning stunned by the breathtaking brilliance of the Caribbean - a turquoise like you have never imagined. PARADISE on a BUDGET Your Cottage is designed with romance and privacy as the keys to a great vacation. The French Provincial Four-Poster Queen-Size bed is draped with netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air conditioning unnecessary. Our large ceiling fans guarantee your comfort. The roofing is high and angled to allow plenty of light and airflow. The bathroom features a glass block shower and a built-in hairdryer. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous ocean views. Our Tropical Breakfast (Mon - Fri) begins at eight and lasts until you have finished dining on our fresh breads & muffins. Fresh fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Villa. NATURE'S PARADISE Eco-Lux, Adventure, Relaxation, Romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Nature's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature`s Paradise Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing