We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“and relax............”
Review of Nature's Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nature's Paradise
Ranked #2 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
fareham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“and relax............”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

So we stayed here in Feb for 2 weeks, was a rather late booking due to other unforseen circumstances but thanks to trip advisor we struck gold with this place.

Can only echo previous reviews in that this is a great place to explore the island from and our hosts David and Wanda can not do enough for you to ensure you have a enjoyable stay and tips on how to make the most of the things to see and do on the island.

If you enjoy all inclusive hotels and need to be entertained by a cabaret in the evenings then this will not be your ticket, but if you prefer the more personal touch and peace and quiet and to meet like minded people then i can not recommend this place highly enough.

Would i go again? with out hesitation,beautiful b&b, island and people.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knight99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
222
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My partner and I came to Nature's Paradise between 25 Jan and 5 feb to celebrate my 50th birthday. He's more used to skiing trips so was completely unprepared for this caribbean Idyll and was bowled over from day one,. We stayed in Advocado cottage which had everything we needed for a relaxing and romantic stay, with a small kitchenette which was fine for the few snack-meals we prepared, a large shower/ washroom and an oversize four-poster which was soooo comfortable!

Nature's paradise offers the kind of holiday where you can do as little or as much as you like, we enjoyed several evenings just reading and drinking the local beer (Piton) on our wooden veranda overlooking the sea, lulled by the sounds of the birds and little tree frogs ( which 'visited' every evening, along with 'our' gecko and could be seen high on the exterior walls of the cottage waiting for unsuspecting moths) . Oh, I must mention the local finches too, which arrive on the veranda as soon as you get home. They're very bold and with a little patience you have them eating from your hand. Dave and Wanda were the perfect hosts, Dave being very knowledgeable about the island, its history, and the best places to go etc, and Wanda, who bakes the best muffins and banana bread to go with the tropical fruit breakfast. They are both lovely people who are keen to ensure you have a great holiday, and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We stayed for 11 nights and for the most part there were two other couples there too, however the pool was never crowded as folks tend to have their own plans and there is so much to see and experience in St Lucia that you have to drag yourself away from Natures's Paradise to experience it all.
Marigot Bay itself is a short drive drive down the hillside - we didnt chance walking down to the bay as I'd recently torn some ligaments in my ankle though we know other guests did and found the walk ok if you're moderately active. The only thing I would say is if you plan to walk back up the hill after dark you need a good torch and a good sense of direction because it really is pitch black, with only the stars and the moon to light your way. There are 6 or so restaurants/bars, all of which make for an enjoyable evening out though the price of food in the bay is more expensive than anywhere else, but hey.. its one of the most picturesque settings in the caribbean......
We have been home now several weeks and our tans are fading but not our memories. We can thoroughly recommend Dave and Wanda's place and would love to go back some day too.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong whiether in one of the two cottages or staying at the house itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veiga2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a fantastic stay in St. Lucia at Nature’s Paradise! Nature’s Paradise was definitely a vacation in the delights of Saint Lucian nature – the cottages have views of the ocean and are surrounded by gorgeous tropical foliage and the sounds of tropical fauna – mostly at night. We had frequent finch visitors on our porch, a few lizards and of course, the Nature’s Paradise cats, Mango and Papaya. The pool area is also serene and affords gorgeous sunset views.

We stayed in the Avocado cottage, which includes a bath with a spacious shower, kitchen and bed with mosquito net. The patio had a small table with chairs as well as 2 lounging chairs. We truly felt as if we were staying in the middle of nature with modern conveniences available but not in the forefront. Dave and Wanda even have a charging station in the main house for US power devices (cell phones, etc).

On arrival, Dave and Wanda were very welcoming – a tour of the property was accompanied by a fresh fruit rum punch. Dave’s suggestion to rent a jeep was absolutely a great idea for getting up and down the roads from Nature’s Paradise to Marigot Bay as well as for exploring the island. Be prepared to drive on the left – you do get used to it after a day or two. Dave and Wanda are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful with setting up tours and dinner reservations and with suggestions of things to do and the best way to get there. The tour with Dave of the South – diamond botanical gardens and the volcano – is a great tour and Dave uses his background in TV to take phenomenal photos!

Dave and Wanda made a delicious breakfast every morning at 8 AM. Fresh fruit (often local produce that is not available in the US), breads, cheeses, homemade baked goods and coffee were all amazingly good. Breakfast was also a time to get to know the other vacationers as well as Dave and Wanda. We had a chance to talk about things we did previous days and get advice about things we were interested in doing.

Out of the local restaurants in Marigot Bay, JD’s and Rainforest Hideaway (Dave and Wanda made sure we got a table on the water) were our favorites. We would definitely recommend going into Castries, exploring the market and getting lunch at one of the little food kiosks in the alleyway. We also recommend hiking up Gros Piton but be prepared to sweat! It’s hot and the climb is steep. Nature’s Paradise does have beach towels available and there are many nice beaches to visit.

Overall, we had a wonderful time in Saint Lucia and very much enjoyed our stay at Nature’s Paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BKA_JMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

What can we say? Just a great time to be there.

We were looking for a nice, unique accommodation on St. Lucia - and found it with "Nature´s Paradise". Wanda and David were very friendly and helpful.
The two Cottages (we had the Avocado Cottage) are so beautiful and clean...and the wooden porch is just a dream. We did not miss anything!

The house is located in a quiet area on a hill and we felt very comfortable there. Nature´s Paradise is a good starting point for excursions around the island - which is why a car (4WD) highly recommended. David and Wanda also give valuable tips - and if desired, they also offer interesting tours.

From Nature´s Paradis to Marigot Bay is a walk about 20 minutes.There you will find everything for a successful holiday (grocery store, bank, restaurants, cafes). Back, it is a steep walk, for it takes about 30 minutes. Important: In the dark, take a torch! But do not worry - this is also fun!

Yes, we would choose it again...but for longer! Thank you, Wanda - thank you, David.

Room Tip: There are two apartments and two cottages. I would recommend the cottages because they have this uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bodo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I went to St. Lucia for the first time over Christmas and spent weeks researching places to stay. We were looking for an intimate, boutique property with an incredible view and we found all that - and much more - at Nature's Paradise! The owners, David and Wanda, could not have been more helpful or hospitable. From the moment we arrived to St. Lucia, where a driver David had arranged was waiting to pick us up (on Christmas Day no less!), we felt completely at home. If you are looking for a large, all-inclusive resort with tons of amenities and no interaction with the locals, then please stay at Sandals....there's three of them on the Island! However, if what you are looking for is a unique, one-of-a-kind experience on the beautiful island of St. Lucia, then I can't recommend Nature's Paradise highly enough.

The property is surrounded by beautiful, lush foliage providing privacy and a true tropical feel. From the pool, you have a breathtaking view overlooking the Caribbean Sea and my husband enjoyed swimming a few laps here every morning. Breakfast is served promptly at 8 a.m. each weekday and we thoroughly enjoyed the spread of fresh, local fruit (papayas, pineapple and grapefruit, oh my!) cheese, coffee, tea and homemade bread baked by Wanda. It was a perfect way to start each day in St. Lucia and we valued spending this time with David and Wanda and the two or three other couples who were staying at Nature's Paradise (there's only four guest rooms on the entire property). We would all swap stories from the previous day and share recommendations for tours and activities we enjoyed. After breakfast, my husband and I would head out on a different adventure (many either recommended or coordinated directly by David). From ziplining in the rainforest to sailing along the Southern coast of St. Lucia to hiking Gros Piton, St. Lucia has so much to offer and we tried to take advantage of it all!

Finally, probably one of our favorite things about Nature's Paradise was the fact that there were no TVs in the rooms/cottages. WiFi and cell service is very spotty, as well, though there is a computer in the Great Room that is available for guests to use and access the internet. However, for us, having an opportunity to truly "disconnect" was the best thing we could have possibly done. It allowed us to completely enjoy our time in St. Lucia, and with each other, and we returned home to NC six days later feeling relaxed, rejuvenated and totally stress-free. We hope to recreate this experience and return to St. Lucia very soon and when we do, we will definitely be returning to Nature's Paradise!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathrynWCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Rest, Relaxation and Recuperation - what a perfect trifecta served up in Nature's Paradise. When my wife was diagnosed with cancer at the beginning of the year a doctor friend gave us a piece of advice: this was going to be a long haul so you need to create a light at the end of the tunnel, something to look forward to. Our daughter surfed the net for any place that met the criteria Worry-Free and Warm and found Nature's Paradise in St. Lucia. Come the Fall, the reality matched up to the billing. Avocado cottage overlooking the luscious expanse of Marigot Bay, with Martinique in the distance, was a paradise within Paradise. Fabulous fresh-fruit breakfasts, swimming in the pool surrounded by gorgeous tropical vegetation and walks down to the bay and the beach (and back up!) were all part of a beautiful, quiet, restorative two weeks. David and Wanda were delightful hosts, brimming with helpful knowledge and advice and amusing anecdotes (but not in the least bit intrusive). If you are looking for air conditioning, watching football games on the wide screen and hanging out at the bar, this is not the place for you. For those who love fresh food, fresh air, energetic walks, double rainbows and uninterrupted reading heaven then you too will have found the light at the end of your tunnel. Just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: There are two cottages each with studio bedroom, kitchen and separate bathroom. The verandah is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HMFAIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

You will either hate or love Nature's Paradise.

If you like TV in your room, bar, disco, on-site restaurant, 5 minutes walk to the beach where there are lots of other tourists just like you and all inside a security fence where the only St Lucians you meet are staff, don't bother - you will hate Nature's Paradise.

If you want a quiet, beautiful oasis set in a semi-natural garden to match the best on St Lucia, and where you can watch hummingbirds, with views across the Caribbean to Martinique, then Nature's Paradise is for you. A small pool - which you'll have to yourself much of the time - gives you views across the Caribbean. Lesser Antillean Bullfinchs will expect to be fed - and if you don't, will probably help themselves, there are some enormous butterflies and moths, at night geckos and frogs, the occasional possum and watch out for the large hermit crabs, wandering through the gardens.

While your own transport isn't essential, it's probably a good idea, at least for part of your stay. There are a range of facilities down the hill in Marigot Bay itself - several restaurants, a small beach with a range of water sports facilities, a small supermarket and an ATM. The track down to Marigot Bay is rough and steep in places but a fairly easy 20 minutes walk down and 30 minutes walk up - as you're on holiday, the walk really isn't a problem. Take a torch if you think you might walk it at night - which we did several times; the walk up after dinner, looking up at the Milky Way and listening to the tree frogs and cicadas is worth it.

David and Wanda are friendly, very helpful and very knowledgeable about St Lucia. They will happily make reservations for you as you want, organise tours, etc. But, really, the best thing to do it get your own vehicle and just drive off and explore St Lucia. You will certainly get lost from time-to-time. Despite being a small island, the lack of road signs and maze of small roads means you need to allow plenty of time to get where you want to go but who knows what you'll discover on the way. In any case, all the locals, despite the dreadlocks, really are very friendly and helpful and will happily give directions - and chat to you about where you're from and where you're going.

A wonderful place.

Room Tip: The cottages are probably a better choice - more space and kitchen facilities. Banana cottage has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StotfoldLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
7.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
9.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oasis Marigot
Oasis Marigot
#3 of 4 in Marigot Bay
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Paradise

Property: Nature's Paradise
Address: 1 Marigot Heights, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature's Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURE'S PARADISE at Marigot Bay A St. Lucia Eco-Lux vacation with a breathtaking Caribbean Sea view. Avocado Cottage and Banana Cottage are located on a quiet ridge high above the sea at Marigot Bay. The spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea creates the mood. Marigot Bay is what you have in mind when you think "Tropical Paradise". Our lush Tropical Gardens surround your private one-bedroom Cottage. Palms and Bougainvillea offer shade and color. You awake in the morning stunned by the breathtaking brilliance of the Caribbean - a turquoise like you have never imagined. PARADISE on a BUDGET Your Cottage is designed with romance and privacy as the keys to a great vacation. The French Provincial Four-Poster Queen-Size bed is draped with netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air conditioning unnecessary. Our large ceiling fans guarantee your comfort. The roofing is high and angled to allow plenty of light and airflow. The bathroom features a glass block shower and a built-in hairdryer. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous ocean views. Our Tropical Breakfast (Mon - Fri) begins at eight and lasts until you have finished dining on our fresh breads & muffins. Fresh fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Villa. NATURE'S PARADISE Eco-Lux, Adventure, Relaxation, Romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nature's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature`s Paradise Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing