We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of a beautiful island”
Review of Nature's Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nature's Paradise
Ranked #2 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new milford, ct
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of a beautiful island”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent over a week in the Avocado Cottage, high up a hillside, overlooking the blue Caribbean and the lush gardens below us. Our cottage was simple but comfortable, but we spent most of our time on the beautiful porch - a perfect spot for a glass of wine and the snacks we shared with the friendly birds. Wanda and David were exceptionally helpful and friendly and David's eco-tour of the island took us to many spots we would have missed on our own. Breakfasts, shared with the two to four other guests were leisurely and comfortable, especially when served on the terrace. The pool is lovely and has a great view, especially at sunset.The people of St. Lucia are friendly and kind and on each of the many times we were lost on back roads we were offered assistance. The roads can be treacherous and be aware that if you are over 65 you cannot rent a car anywhere on the island. And a four wheel car is a necessity. We especially enjoyed touring the island by a chartered sailboat with a very competent and outgoing crew and spending a day on Anse Chastenet, on the Atlantic side. Difficult to find but quiet and beautiful, with a nice cafe for lunch. The Saturday Market was a bounty of fruits and vegetables and local foods, but skip the crafts section - touristy imports. We had beautiful weather, met great people, were treated like friends by our hosts and had a memorable vacation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The two cottages have a small kitchen which is handy to prepare a light meal or coffee in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quietseeker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
222
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I rented Banana Cottage for a week at the end of March, 2013. We rented a car at the airport and made our way to Nature's Paradise later than expected due to a delayed flight. We found David & Wanda in the main house and they immediately jumped into action making us feel welcome. As David helped us with luggage and toured us around the property, Wanda brought us a perfectly refreshing drink that hit the spot. After we settled in, David took us down the hill into Marigot Bay, showed us around, and had reserved a delightful dinner spot for us on the water. When we were finished, he picked us up and brought us back up to our cottage.
Every morning for breakfast, Wanda made fresh bread and served all guests a blend of tropical fruits and juices. We thoroughly enjoyed each fresh breakfast as well as conversations with the other guests. After breakfast on our first morning, we sat down with David and got the "lay of the land," literally. His vast knowledge of St. Lucia and its people was impressive and served us well as we enjoyed our week in paradise. At that point, we felt confident about venturing off and exploring.
David made any arrangements and/or reservations we needed for both day and night activities. Two of our favorite daytime excursions were (1) going with David on an eco-tour to the botanical gardens, mineral baths, and active vulcano; and (2) renting a staffed sailboat for the day to explore the island from the water. Most evenings, we went to a Marigot Bay restaurant where David had reserved a top notch table for us - all were exceptional!
We enjoyed the Nature's Paradise pool, and found it to be the quintessential sunset spot. Incidently, there is no bad view from the property.
If you are considering staying at Nature's Paradise, keep in mind that although you are truly part of Marigot Bay, you are up a steep, bumpy, windy road and you will end up traveling that road many, many times. As mentioned, the property is perched beautifully for views of the bay and ocean, and we quickly learned to navigate around all of St. Lucia's steep, bumpy, windy roads - it became part of the island's charm for us.
We wholeheartedly enjoyed our stay at Nature's Paradise, and hope to return for a second honeymoon sometime. David and Wanda are exceptional hosts with unlimited knowledge and connections to make visiting St. Lucia a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristinandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We rented Banana Cottage at Nature's Paradise for 1 week at the end of February and beginning of March 2013.

David and Wanda are the quintessential hosts, offering hospitality, conversation, and knowledgeable guidance and support for exploring and understanding St. Lucia, always in a friendly and laid-back manner and never intrusively. Plus, they are genuinely nice people.

Banana Cottage, like its virtual twin Avocado Cottage, is a simple one-room cottage with a large wrap-around deck on 2 sides. However, this description, while accurate, does not do it justice. Both the deck and the large sliding glass door to the cottage have a wonderful view overlooking the Caribbean. The cottage is private, quite spacious for 1 or 2 occupants, and is very well and comfortably furnished, including ample sitting space indoors and out and enough lights (a rarity) to spend a relaxing evening reading if you are not going out. (It gets dark early this time of year.)

Wanda has done an amazing job of landscaping the entire property with lush tropical plants that are now home to a variety of lizards and birds. You will get to know some of the latter quite well, especially the finches which will be eating out of your hand if you let them. The 2 cats are every bit as friendly, laid-back, and non-intrusive as the hosts, although somewhat less informative.

We enjoyed Wanda's breakfasts of local fruits, homemade bread, cheese, and juice and coffee. We tended to eat most other meals out - lunches as we wandered around the island and dinners at a number of very decent restaurants (ask David and Wanda for recommendations). We stayed "home" some evenings to swim in the wonderful pool overlooking the Rousseau Valley and to cook in Banana's cozy but perfectly adequate kitchen.

Temperatures were in the mid to upper 80's every day and the mid 70's every night. The location of Nature's Paradise high up on a hill overlooking the Caribbean generally kept the room temperature at a comfortable level, and Banana is equipped with a ceiling fan and a pedestal fan to help out when necessary. While the cottage was sometimes warm, it never really got hot except possibly at mid-day, when we were rarely there. Anyway, that is easily remedied with a 2 minute walk to the pool.

Although it is possible to get around the island by taxi, we recommend renting a car for your stay, especially if you like to explore on your own, as we do. A high clearance, 4 wheel drive vehicle will get you down just about, but not quite, every road on the island. Plus it will ease your way up the steep, bumpy hill to Nature's Paradise, which is quite an adventure the first time but just a bit bumpy after that.

If you are looking for a high-end, expensive, pampering resort that keeps you in an artificial bubble, isolated from the island and its people, St. Lucia has plenty of those. Nature's Paradise is not one of them (thankfully). It is, however, truly a welcoming slice of paradise in a wonderful location, with great accommodations and terrific hosts. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveandellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at Nature's Paradise for four nights over NYE this past year as part of our honeymoon trip to St. Lucia.. Our decision to stay there was based on reviews we read on Tripadvisor, and from our first communication with David and Wanda, we knew the reviews were true. David and Wanda were so helpful in the planning of our trip, and even set up to have JoJo pick us up at the airport when we landed. Having never been to St Lucia before, this was so helpful and made us feel very safe and secure. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Wanda and David with a tasty cocktail and smiling faces. That night, David drove us to Marigot Bay and dropped up off at an amazing restaurant. He also arranged for our rental car (a must have in St. Lucia for those adventurous souls like us) to be delivered to us the following morning.
We met the other couples each morning for a light breakfast in the main house. This was included in the price of the room, and the perfect amount of food to get your day started. Lots of local fruit and homemade breads. It also provided an excellent opportunity to meet new people and get insights on what to see and do on the island. Our group got along so well that we even opted to celebrate NYE together in Marigot Bay.
We stayed in one of the rooms attached to the main house because both cottages were already booked. Our room was very nice, quiet, and private, but after having a chance to peek inside the cottages, we will definitely stay in one of them next year when we plan to return to celebrate our one year anniversary.
We are both adventurous travelers who look to immerse ourselves in the local cultures. We tend to shy away from all inclusive resorts. If this is your take on travel, you will love Nature's Paradise. It's centrally located on the island. A short drive from Cannes (check out the awesome market there), and also not far if you want to head south to hike the Pitons or relax at Ti Kay beach.
David and Wanda's sincerity and in depth knowledge of the island helped make our stay that much more fulfilling We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparty975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks at Nature's Paradise in February. It was just perfect for us. We had one week in Banana Cottage and one week in the upper room in the house. Both were lovely, the cottage had cooking facilities, but we preferred to eat out. Both had lovely views.
We enjoyed the breakfasts with the other 4 - 6 guests. A good time to share experiences and learn of places to visit. David and Wanda were really helpful and knowledgeable and wanted us to make the most of our stay with them. Wanda has made the tropical garden area the most beautiful place we found and we loved just relaxing by the pool with the beauty and the views.
We were quite happy to walk up and down to the Bay, which is 15 - 20 mins, but we agree that it is essential to hire a jeep for exploring the beautiful island. We loved the rainforest paths and the beaches and the snorkelling and the unspoilt villages.
Dave also arranged a boat charter for a day with another couple from Nature's Paradise, which was a highlight. The horse-riding on the sand and in the sea was also a highlight.
The St Lucian people were friendly on the whole and welcoming and we enjoyed some lovely meals, especially Orlando's at Soufriere.
All in all an amazing location, great hosts, beautiful island and a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LInda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a very relaxing week at Nature’s Paradise. It is off the beaten track and has great views as well as being peaceful and quiet. David arranged a taxi from the airport and had a jeep delivered the following morning. We thought we would just have the jeep for three days but found it indispensable for getting around and really enjoyed driving around the island. It is about 25 – 30 mins walk into Marigot Bay so if you don’t intend to hire a car bring a torch. Driving around St Lucia is very easy – just watch out for potholes and the locals overtaking on bends.

We stayed in Avocado cottage which is very private and there is a great view out to sea from the balcony, with Martinique visible on the horizon. The little finches would be waiting outside the door each morning for some food. The cottage has a kitchen and there is a small supermarket in Marigot Bay, although the bigger supermarket on the way to Castries in better for fruit – it even sells Waitrose products. David and Wanda are very helpful and knowledgeable about where to go and what to do.

There are plenty of good restaurants in Marigot Bay and would recommend Chateau Mygo, Doolittles, JDs and Julietta’s. The latter has great views of the Bay and the coconut shrimp is great.

There is a lot to see and do on the island. When going to Castries, park in the multi-storey on Jean Baptiste Street. There are some great food stalls behind the main market where you can sit and eat local food. We also enjoyed the Diamond Botanical Gardens, Mamiku Gardens and Tet Paul. The latter has fantastic views of the Pitons.

If we return to St Lucia we will definitely stay with David and Wanda.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhobibucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

What a fabulous find! Our visit to Nature's Paradise was unforgettable! It's a quaint B & B with several cottages & guest rooms. We stayed in "Coconut" room which was charming & private, overlooking the Caribbean Sea dotted with sailboats. In the morning, we awoke to a breakfast of tropical fruits & home-baked banana bread. . .Yummy! Our hosts Dave & Wanda were very friendly & knowledgeable about the island. Some days, Dave was our tour guide & showed us many towns & beaches. Of course, the pool on the premises was delightful too.
It was just a short walk to the closest beach. . .sooooo relaxing. We felt renewed & rejuvenated, looking forward to returning soon.

Ruby & George M.

Room Tip: All the rooms had a different charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubymoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
6.3 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.0 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 8 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Paradise

Property: Nature's Paradise
Address: 1 Marigot Heights, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature's Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURE'S PARADISE at Marigot Bay A St. Lucia Eco-Lux vacation with a breathtaking Caribbean Sea view. Avocado Cottage and Banana Cottage are located on a quiet ridge high above the sea at Marigot Bay. The spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea creates the mood. Marigot Bay is what you have in mind when you think "Tropical Paradise". Our lush Tropical Gardens surround your private one-bedroom Cottage. Palms and Bougainvillea offer shade and color. You awake in the morning stunned by the breathtaking brilliance of the Caribbean - a turquoise like you have never imagined. PARADISE on a BUDGET Your Cottage is designed with romance and privacy as the keys to a great vacation. The French Provincial Four-Poster Queen-Size bed is draped with netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air conditioning unnecessary. Our large ceiling fans guarantee your comfort. The roofing is high and angled to allow plenty of light and airflow. The bathroom features a glass block shower and a built-in hairdryer. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous ocean views. Our Tropical Breakfast (Mon - Fri) begins at eight and lasts until you have finished dining on our fresh breads & muffins. Fresh fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Villa. NATURE'S PARADISE Eco-Lux, Adventure, Relaxation, Romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Nature's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature`s Paradise Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing