We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nature's Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nature's Paradise
Ranked #2 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Nature's paradise this winter. We highly recommend this B&B. The room was very comfortable and grounds were stunning. I loved the beautiful variety of plants. The breakfasts were fabulous and a great start for your day of adventures. David was extremely helpful and a wealth of knowledge on the island. I do recommend renting a car as the B&B is high up in the hills and you will need a car to get to most of the islands sites. Don't hesitate booking at Nature's Paradise you won't regret it! We can't wait to return next winter!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthByNorthwest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
221
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a really wonderful holiday with David and Wanda at Nature's Paradise. We knew that we didin't want a sanitised american hotel/resort style of holiday...we wanted a more unstructured holiday...peace and quiet, genuinely good service, good company and the ability to tailor our hoiday each day to suit our individual moods and interests. This was exactly what we found at Nature's Paradise in delightful and friendly Marigot Bay.
David and Wanda were there if we needed them, but left us in glorious peace when we wanted to just relax. Having breakfast with everyone else in the main house was a better idea than we had at first thought. This was how we met the other guests and were able to share adventures. It was a really good and sociable start to each day.
The accomodation was simple, clean and homely, the setting was heavenly, and although the track up the hillside is rough and unmade it is well worth the journey to find peace, tranquility and superb views when you reach the top! The only thing that we missed was having wi-fi capability in our cottage, but it was always a pleasure to go up to the house and sit on the veranda where our lap top immediately sprang into life.
We did an initial day out with David to the south of the island..this allowed us to find our feet, and to pester him with a mass of questions about where to go, how the currency worked, good places to eat etc etc... Armed with all this valuable knowledge we were then able to get great value out of every day that followed.
It was on this first day that David took us to Orlando's restaurant in Soufriere, and we returned there a week later to celebrate Peter's birthday. Orlando is not just a sensational chef - he is a genuinely welcoming and talented host. Don't miss a visit here! In our opinion his restaurant, and the cuisine, outshone our experience at the more expensive and highly publicised Rainforest Restaurant in Marigot Bay, despite the Rainforests superb location set in the mangroves right on the water's edge.
Other highlights of the trip which David and Wanda helped us achieve...?
A facinating early morning trip into the nature reserve to see rare parrots with the resident Ranger Charmaine, followed by a walk in the rainforest canopy area.
Climbing Gros Piton.
Sailing all day out of Marigot Bay.
Snorkeling on reefs in the shadow of the the Pitons.
Bathing in hot springs and also in volcanic mud!
Waterfalls at Dennery and Anse La Raye
Lunch at Hotel Chocolat
Castries market
The rum distillery ( and excellent shop with lowest prices).
Lazing on the local beach in Marigot.
Lunch at the Pink Plantation and dinner at JD's

We are delighted to recommend Nature's Paradise to you, and to commend David and Wanda as hosts. They work so hard to give their visitors a 5 star experience, and because of them you find yourself doing things that you may not have even tried or considered without a little help and advice.
They are also lovely, bright, funny and intelligent people... go visit!!

Room Tip: Both cottages are exactly the same, so don't worry about which you get put in. Perhaps Banana ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinique
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Transfers from UVF to the house, and from the house to SLU by the host himself.
Very nice Ginger Room without TV for a quiet sunset from the balcony.
View on the Caribbean ocean and Roseau Bay.
Tropical garden very nice
Breakfast : very good coffee with fruits, toasts, butter from France (so, the best ! ) marmelade, cheese.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aurelien33971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have put off writing this review because I am worried that I cannot find the words to properly express how phenomenal our vacation in St. Lucia at Nature’s Paradise actually was. First, St. Lucia is an amazing island that my husband and I are now in love with and having been to many tropical locations including Hawaii and French Polynesia, it takes a lot for a new tropical location to wow us. But, St. Lucia did it with very little effort. The locals are super friendly and helpful, the food at a wide variety of restaurants was outstanding and the different activities that are available could keep us busy for years. Of course, the natural beauty is astounding. Plus, the warm hospitality of David and Wanda at Nature’s Paradise made everything easy and effortless.

If you are a bit of a do-it-yourself adventure seeker on your vacations and like to take advantage of much that a new place has to offer in terms of sea, sun, food, hiking, and more without a lot of excessive fuss, then Nature’s Paradise is the ideal place from which to explore St. Lucia. My husband and I stayed in the Ginger Room, which is attached to the main house, from 12/23/13 – 12/31/13. You don’t hear much about the Ginger Room as it is not really on the website and is overshadowed by the fabulous cottages, but it is a great alternative if the cottages are unavailable. The room is spacious with a small refrigerator and shelves off the closet that served as a great place for us to keep snacks and drinks. The bathroom has a lovely glass block shower and lots of space to store all your toiletries. The room has a very comfortable bed with a small sofa for lounging. There are windows on two walls and a great overhead fan providing plenty of natural air conditioning. The tree frogs at night are amazing! But, the best part is the view through the main sliding glass doors that overlooks the beautiful tropical foliage that Wanda has planted on the property and the Caribbean ocean beyond. Despite being attached to the main house, we always felt very private and secluded when in our room and also enjoyed being able to use the main verandah as our quasi-personal happy hour location without bothering others who were staying there.

Sharing breakfast with the other guests was fun. Obviously, depending on your small talk skills, this can go better with some than others but we were able to have a good time with the 3 different groups that were there during our stay and learned some interesting things about different parts of the world and different things people had done on the island. One of the best experiences we had on St. Lucia was with one of the other couples staying at Nature’s Paradise and demonstrates just how thoughtful and kind David and Wanda are as hosts. On Christmas Eve, there was record setting rain (something like 16 inches in less than 24 hours) that especially in the afternoon and evening ground all activities to a stop. Many restaurants in Marigot Bay closed due to flooding and my husband and I had decided to stay in our room with sandwiches for the evening. But, David and Wanda graciously asked if we would like to share their Christmas Eve dinner with them. So Alex and I and the other couple, Dawn and Martin from Vienna (hi guys!), and David and Wanda all shared Christmas Eve together. It was an amazing lamb dinner that Wanda put together with all the trimmings. We had a really great time talking and laughing that night listening to the rain pounding away on the roof and even having the power go out very briefly. It was an unforgettable experience shared with some truly remarkable and fun people. It turned what could have been a let down of a Christmas Eve into a wonderful memory that we will cherish forever and it was way above and beyond for David and Wanda to do this for us.

David is instrumental in helping orient you to your location on St. Lucia. He goes over the map and is always happy to give you directions to places, make suggestions for activities, etc. He will also make reservations for you and help in any way possible. His connections within the community always managed to get us a great table or the best guide, etc. St. Lucia is not the easiest place to navigate as there are virtually no road signs. It was very helpful to have someone in the know to tell us how to get places but if you get lost, like we did, just ask the locals as you are driving. They will gladly help you get where you are going, even hop in the car and direct you, if you are going their way. David’s tour of Soufriere was a highlight and I encourage everyone to take this if you can. The secret mineral springs that David has found alone is worth it! Beautiful and secluded. Wanda is equally thoughtful and has had an amazing life as a dancer and now gardener and cook extraordinaire. Both of them are remarkable people who have done extraordinary things and now offer a great place for visitors to call home while on St. Lucia. My husband and I are very honored to have been able to get to know both of them as they are not just great hosts, but special people.

Marigot Bay is a great location from which to explore the island. You are basically half way between the rainforest and other activities near and north of Castries, and the beaches, gardens and snorkeling near the Pitons to the south. As I mentioned, driving is challenging and the roads are windy and some are truly rough. But that is part of the adventure, isn’t it? Getting to Anse Chastanet for snorkeling was an adventure in itself matched only by the friendliness of the staff once we got to the resort. The restaurants near Marigot Bay were for the most part, really, really good. Rainforest Hideaway was hands down the best food we have ever had. Do NOT miss going there. Pricey but lovely and delicious!! Juliettta’s and JD’s were also really, really good and deserve a visit. Dolittle’s was decent for dinner but terrible at breakfast. I honestly don’t think it’s worth the money and can be skipped. Chateau Mygo was very nice (we had fantastic Christmas dinner there) and worth a stop. All of these are right in or near Marigot Bay, so you almost never need to go anywhere else for great food.

Other things we did:

* Ziplining in the rainforest at Rainforest Sky Rides – awesome!!

* Snorkeling at Ti Kaye Resort – okay snorkeling, great food and drinks at the beach restaurant

* Snorkeling at Anse Chastanet – decent snorkeling, really nice people

* Lunch at Ladera – good food (not great), great drinks but the view is to die for!

* Lunch at Mango Tree restaurant with David – super delicious rotis and another awesome view

* Hiking Pigeon Point – tough in spots but fantastic! wear good shoes

* Hiking in the rainforest just south and inland from Marigot Bay (David and Wanda gave us directions) with a local and his pack of dogs – really great; tough at times but the rainforest is so cool and it was fun to hang with a local

* Sulphur Springs – not the greatest volcano experience but probably worth the small fee to see it; we didn’t do the mud bath part

I can’t recommend St. Lucia or Nature’s Paradise enough!! Go! Have fun!! It’s so worth it!

Room Tip: The Ginger Room is very, very nice but if you can, splurge on a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a lovely stay at Paradise Retreat. 

David and Wanda are superb hosts, and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. 

We had a memorable day travelling with David and two other guests to the south of the island, visiting hot springs  and eating at a chocolate restaurant. 

Our room had a magnificent view of the gardens and far below the cruise liners and yachts coming into the bay. 

The drive from the bay to the Paradise Retreat will take you breath away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goddard4captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This quaint bed and breakfast comes with a spectacular view of the Carribean. Be prepared for a narrow, rough access to the property, that being said, once your to Natures Paradise it is an easy place to call home. Dave took care of our requests for a rental car and suggested tours and Wanda made sure we had a wonderful breakfast every morning. It is not a busy resort (but a place to relax and take in the beauty of the surrounding area). The tranquility of the island is here. Located close to Marigot Bay we found it a central location to explore all areas of the island and Dave is a wealth of knowledge on where to go on the island. Our cottage was clean and nicely done and the privacy of the location made it a relaxing vacation. There are so many good choices for places to dine close by, and the cottage kitchenette also gave us the option to cook if we wanted to. There is a huge private deck to enjoy all times of the day and the view from the pool is breathtaking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Momkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Natures Paradise for a week to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We had been so busy in our lives that we hadn't had a vacation since our honeymoon and couldn't have chosen a more suitable place. We really wanted a private quiet place with a great view. David and Wanda were absolutely amazing from ensuring that we were picked up from the airport and having our rental car delivered to going out of their way to find me a great soursop. I had mentioned that I was excited to try one so Wanda made sure to have the perfectly ripe one at breakfast. We definitely recommend taking David up on an offer or 2 to be shown around, it really helped us to feel more comfortable navigating the island. David is very knowledgeable with a great personality and sense of humor. They were both always there to answer questions, everything from tipping to directions. You absolutely need to rent a car if you want to really experience the entire island, even just walking down the hill to the bay would be quite the hike. This is not the type of place where you'd going to sit around and watch TV or take long showers in the morning, but it was perfect for us. We spent every day exploring, hiking, kayaking, etc and really just wanted a quiet place to return to and rinse off the sunscreen and sand. We enjoyed our wonderful evenings on the large deck drinking our tea or beer and listening/watching the frogs and reading. Every morning we'd wake up to the most incredible views. And when I would feel a little homesick for my pets, their wonderful Mango kitty would meet us at the drive every evening and come down and keep me company for a little while. There isn't any A/C but up on the hill you really don't need it, you get a great breeze that actually chilled me at times. Our only regret is that we wish we would have held out and gone a little later in the year when the days are longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyK720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
6.3 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.0 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 8 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Paradise

Property: Nature's Paradise
Address: 1 Marigot Heights, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature's Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURE'S PARADISE at Marigot Bay A St. Lucia Eco-Lux vacation with a breathtaking Caribbean Sea view. Avocado Cottage and Banana Cottage are located on a quiet ridge high above the sea at Marigot Bay. The spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea creates the mood. Marigot Bay is what you have in mind when you think "Tropical Paradise". Our lush Tropical Gardens surround your private one-bedroom Cottage. Palms and Bougainvillea offer shade and color. You awake in the morning stunned by the breathtaking brilliance of the Caribbean - a turquoise like you have never imagined. PARADISE on a BUDGET Your Cottage is designed with romance and privacy as the keys to a great vacation. The French Provincial Four-Poster Queen-Size bed is draped with netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air conditioning unnecessary. Our large ceiling fans guarantee your comfort. The roofing is high and angled to allow plenty of light and airflow. The bathroom features a glass block shower and a built-in hairdryer. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous ocean views. Our Tropical Breakfast (Mon - Fri) begins at eight and lasts until you have finished dining on our fresh breads & muffins. Fresh fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Villa. NATURE'S PARADISE Eco-Lux, Adventure, Relaxation, Romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nature's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature`s Paradise Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing