We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Stay in the Banana Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nature's Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nature's Paradise
Ranked #2 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
“Our Stay in the Banana Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I booked our Honeymoon for 7 days, 6 nights at Nature's paradise during the end of April and beginning of May. We were at first a little uncertain whether to stay in an all inclusive resort or a private villa, and we are so incredibly glad that we chose to stay at Nature's Paradise with David and Wanda. They were incredibly hospitable. They provided us with exactly the perfect mix of interaction and solitude that we were looking for. David picked us up from the Airport and took us on a scenic tour of the island on our way back to the villa. We couldn't believe the incredible majesty that was St. Lucia, and we had such a wonderful guide that was versed in the history and background of the island. David also took us on a wonderful tour of Soufriere, which included the Botanical Gardens, a hot spring, and the volcanic crater, in addition to a lunch at a restaurant with an insane view of the Pitons. Unfortunately, due to conditions out of all of our control, we were unable to rent a vehicle, but the cottage was a short walk down the hill from Marigot Bay, and David was so kind as to pick us up at any time we called him after we had included our night activities. We spent a good amount of time on the beach next to Doolittle's, sailing the small Catamarans, and renting a small sailboat. David and Wanda's reputation on the island also certainly preceded them. We received several discounts and deals from some of the local recreational vendors just by telling them who we were staying with! The Cottage itself was incredible. We had everything we needed. All of the necessities for cooking, a fully applianced kitchen, beautiful furnishings, and an incredibly comfortable bed were just a few of the amenities provided. The villa had an awesome wrap-around porch complete with a small table and chair set, in addition to two lazy lounge chairs. The pool....the pool was about a 15 foot walk from the cottage on the main grounds, and it was brilliantly built on the edge of the ridge, overlooking the coast. My wife and I will NEVER forget seeing the sun set over the water while lounging in the pool. We also got to know David and Wanda, and they have incredible stories, wonderful hearts, and so much to give. We want to thank them for making our dream come true, and memories that we will never, ever forget.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandRyan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
219
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose Nature's Paradise as we wanted somewhere romantic to celebrate our anniversary and it certainly lived up to that, being perched above the Carribean with beautiful views, exotic wildlife but still accessible to the town of Marigot Bay. Our hosts, David and Wanda were marvelous and looked after us really well, showing us round the island and genuinely interested in us having a great time. We had great views from the veranda and the swimming pool. Breakfast was always a treat for me with different varieties of local fruit and great conversation. We had a wonderful time and would recommend it as a location, especially for those seeking a romantic place to get away to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked the ginger room at natures in paradise but on arrival they had a cancellation so we got to stay in the banana cottage which was great. The sea views from the cottage and the pool at natures in paradise are fanastic. We loved chilling out on our veranda at the end of the day with a piton beer and watching the birds. Marigot bay is beautiful and still some what less touristy than the rest of the island. We sampled most of the restaurants on the bay and enjoyed getting the free ferries across to them. The food was a highlight for us when we were there. Dave and Wanda we're truly very welcoming and the breakfast of fresh fruit and juices and homemade breads was lovely. We were the only guests staying at the time ( which was very unusual) but was great for us. Dave took us out for the day on his Eco tour and we got to visit the botanical gardens and waterfalls of soufriere. There is a small local beach nearby that you can go swim at too. Dave is very knowledgable of the island and so you get to understand more about life in st Lucia. We had a jeep while we were there, you really need it to see the island and access nature in paradise as it sits high above the bay along a rough track. After our stay at natures in paradise we stayed at a small resort further south for 3 nights which we enjoyed but we felt we got to experience more of st Lucia when staying at natures in paradise. Such a wonderful holiday, we will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is not your cookie cutter vacation spot – if you’re a more independent traveler looking to get to know the island of St. Lucia then this is for you.

A car is essential, don’t be put off by the steep uneven road to the property – the views are worth it.

The hosts David and Wanda are very knowledgeable, happy to help you organize trips, restaurants and give you the information you need to really experience St. Lucia.

We stayed in the Ginger Room for a week. The room was comfortable and the views from the balcony were breathtaking.

Breakfast with the other guests was relaxed and a wonderful opportunity to plan the day's activities and share our island adventures. Wanda and David were there if needed to bounce off ideas on plans for the day, always making sure that we made the most of our stay on this beautiful, friendly island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank westma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Nature's Paradise is a wonderful way to get away. Dave and Wanda are the perfect hosts --knowledgable, engaging, caring, and respect your privacy! Nature's Paradise is for people that truly do not want to be in a busy area - Marigot Bay is beautiful and really gives your a taste of the local flavor. Dave took us on a tour of the Peton's, mineral baths, and a volcano. We felt after just one week, we understood the island. Everyday we did something different -- beach, sailing, relaxing at the pool. Their home is lovely, high in the hills with incredible views. You do need to rent a car -- you will be driving everywhere. Wanda has landscaped the property beautifully, you truly feel that you are in your own little world. Marigot Bay is not commerialized, we loved this as it forces you to engage with the local people and food. The people of St. Lucia are very friendly, I have been to many Caribbean islands, St. Lucia by far is the friendliest and safest. It is perfect for couples that want a lot of privacy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Nature's paradise this winter. We highly recommend this B&B. The room was very comfortable and grounds were stunning. I loved the beautiful variety of plants. The breakfasts were fabulous and a great start for your day of adventures. David was extremely helpful and a wealth of knowledge on the island. I do recommend renting a car as the B&B is high up in the hills and you will need a car to get to most of the islands sites. Don't hesitate booking at Nature's Paradise you won't regret it! We can't wait to return next winter!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthByNorthwest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a really wonderful holiday with David and Wanda at Nature's Paradise. We knew that we didin't want a sanitised american hotel/resort style of holiday...we wanted a more unstructured holiday...peace and quiet, genuinely good service, good company and the ability to tailor our hoiday each day to suit our individual moods and interests. This was exactly what we found at Nature's Paradise in delightful and friendly Marigot Bay.
David and Wanda were there if we needed them, but left us in glorious peace when we wanted to just relax. Having breakfast with everyone else in the main house was a better idea than we had at first thought. This was how we met the other guests and were able to share adventures. It was a really good and sociable start to each day.
The accomodation was simple, clean and homely, the setting was heavenly, and although the track up the hillside is rough and unmade it is well worth the journey to find peace, tranquility and superb views when you reach the top! The only thing that we missed was having wi-fi capability in our cottage, but it was always a pleasure to go up to the house and sit on the veranda where our lap top immediately sprang into life.
We did an initial day out with David to the south of the island..this allowed us to find our feet, and to pester him with a mass of questions about where to go, how the currency worked, good places to eat etc etc... Armed with all this valuable knowledge we were then able to get great value out of every day that followed.
It was on this first day that David took us to Orlando's restaurant in Soufriere, and we returned there a week later to celebrate Peter's birthday. Orlando is not just a sensational chef - he is a genuinely welcoming and talented host. Don't miss a visit here! In our opinion his restaurant, and the cuisine, outshone our experience at the more expensive and highly publicised Rainforest Restaurant in Marigot Bay, despite the Rainforests superb location set in the mangroves right on the water's edge.
Other highlights of the trip which David and Wanda helped us achieve...?
A facinating early morning trip into the nature reserve to see rare parrots with the resident Ranger Charmaine, followed by a walk in the rainforest canopy area.
Climbing Gros Piton.
Sailing all day out of Marigot Bay.
Snorkeling on reefs in the shadow of the the Pitons.
Bathing in hot springs and also in volcanic mud!
Waterfalls at Dennery and Anse La Raye
Lunch at Hotel Chocolat
Castries market
The rum distillery ( and excellent shop with lowest prices).
Lazing on the local beach in Marigot.
Lunch at the Pink Plantation and dinner at JD's

We are delighted to recommend Nature's Paradise to you, and to commend David and Wanda as hosts. They work so hard to give their visitors a 5 star experience, and because of them you find yourself doing things that you may not have even tried or considered without a little help and advice.
They are also lovely, bright, funny and intelligent people... go visit!!

Room Tip: Both cottages are exactly the same, so don't worry about which you get put in. Perhaps Banana ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
6.3 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.0 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 9 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Paradise

Property: Nature's Paradise
Address: 1 Marigot Heights, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature's Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURE'S PARADISE at Marigot Bay A St. Lucia Eco-Lux vacation with a breathtaking Caribbean Sea view. Avocado Cottage and Banana Cottage are located on a quiet ridge high above the sea at Marigot Bay. The spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea creates the mood. Marigot Bay is what you have in mind when you think "Tropical Paradise". Our lush Tropical Gardens surround your private one-bedroom Cottage. Palms and Bougainvillea offer shade and color. You awake in the morning stunned by the breathtaking brilliance of the Caribbean - a turquoise like you have never imagined. PARADISE on a BUDGET Your Cottage is designed with romance and privacy as the keys to a great vacation. The French Provincial Four-Poster Queen-Size bed is draped with netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air conditioning unnecessary. Our large ceiling fans guarantee your comfort. The roofing is high and angled to allow plenty of light and airflow. The bathroom features a glass block shower and a built-in hairdryer. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous ocean views. Our Tropical Breakfast (Mon - Fri) begins at eight and lasts until you have finished dining on our fresh breads & muffins. Fresh fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Villa. NATURE'S PARADISE Eco-Lux, Adventure, Relaxation, Romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Nature's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature`s Paradise Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing