We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday wish come true”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A birthday wish come true”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We ate at the Rainforest Hideaway to celebrate my 40th birthday, and we were not disappointed.

The food, ambience and service were exceptional. It was also a beautiful setting and we made the most of sitting outside watching the boats in the bay bobbing up and down.

One thing I would clarify is that for the food that you are given, I would not call this place ridiculously expensive. We had the 3 course meal, with a bottle of wine, water and two cocktails and it was less than £65 each. Having eaten at The Cliff in Barbados where we felt the need to extend our mortgage after paying the bill, this seemed like a good price for the evening.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you fancy a delicious meal in a fantastic venue.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jammyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    217
    93
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Memories”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This review is dated, but I thought it may be valid for travelers considering The Rainforest Hideaway. We ate at the RH for our wedding reception 5 years ago. From other reviews, it does not appear the quality has gone down at all, so I am comfortable adding this years later.

The RH is one of the most memorable parts of our wedding. Our guests are still talking about the quality of the food as well as the presentation. The Chef and his staff did an impeccable job with more than 18 different selections served to our group of 16. We had some confusion with our wedding planner and offered 3 selections to our guests for each of 6 different courses. Chef Jim managed to make every course memorable - from seafood to beef to vegetarian to dessert. The ingredients were fresh and the portion sizes more than ample. The wine and bar selections available to compliment our meal were diverse. RH has a full champagne and wine selection to suit anyone's needs.

The atmosphere was excellent. Even though the restaurant was open on the night of our event, we felt like the only table there. The calm from the Bay brought true relaxation on a hectic day. The staff was attentive and professional. We moved through the courses seemlessly.

Even though this review is dated, I wanted to provide it for anyone considering RH for their wedding reception or a memorable dinner on the island. You will not be disappointed with the experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purduemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Rainforest”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Excellent food and service. Very romantic atmosphere

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but a bit too formal for the Caribbean!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Having got used to the chatty informal manner of the staff in all the other restaurants, this one felt rather formal. They were charming and polite but just a little too serious for the Caribbean. Food was very good though, quite pricey but overall with the boat trip there and the stunning setting, we had a great evening but didn't feel the need to go twice.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaLoubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear LaLoubiere

I am very pleased that you had a "great evening" at Rainforest. We appreciate your patronage - but I would like to pick up on two of your comments:

Firstly, I have never heard Rainforest described before as "formal". In fact we have made every effort to provide fine dining and high standards of service in as informal a setting as possible to make guests feel comfortable. Your comment appears to refer more to the staff than the setting - but too frequently in St Lucia "informal service" is synonymous with poor service. On the whole, I am rather pleased that you found our staff "charming, polite and serious".

Secondly, you mention that the restaurant was "pricey" - a comment which several other reviewers have made recently. Our prices are comparable with restaurants of similar standard in the USA and Europe - which should come as no surprise since almost every item used in the fit-out of the restaurant, the kitchen and its equipment and much of the food and consumables we use have to be imported. Wih high import taxes and customs charges - for some items up to 80% of cost plus freight - most of our costs exceed those of comparable restaurants in developed countries.

We are probably the most expensive restaurant in Marigot Bay - but not more expensive than the fine dining restaurants in Rodney Bay - and certainly cheaper than the restaurants in the best hotels like Calabash Cove, Cap Maison, Jalousie, Anse Chastenet, Ladera or Le Sport - all of which we out-rank in the TripAdvisor listings.

Our prices have increased by less than the rate of inflation over the past six years - but we are all more conscious of costs today. During the first six years of our existence I cannot recall a negative comment about our prices. The world has changed, not Rainforest, but today's conditions put a huge pressure on us to deliver value - since we cannot reduce prices and survive. We have the location, we have achieved very high standards of food and service - and our mission is therefore to give guests the best overall restaurant experience on the island.

John Verity, Owner, Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible. Not worth it.”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Yes, there is a pond with live fish, and live jazz, BUT! You cannot see anything as the bay is not lit. Service is ok, the wine list is ok, nothing unusual. The problem is the food. We had an appetizer and an entree each and we shared one dessert (pear tart). Dry, breaded, "killed" Mahi Mahi. A nail-size piece of foie gras in the foie gras appetizer. A dry pear tart. We cannot say anything good about any of the five dishes we ordered. We cannot relate to any of the great reviews from many people we read on this site.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnA-NJ-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear AnaA-NJ-USA

Firstly I must sincerely apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy your recent meal at Rainforest. As you yourself point out, your experience was inconsistent with the dozens of very satisfied reviews we regularly receive - and which have kept us listed as the No 1 restaurant in Marigot - ever since we opened in 2004. I am at a complete loss to explain why you fared so badly - but every restaurant gets things wrong sometimes. You were clearly very unlucky.

I have talked this through with our General Manager, who recalls your visit, but no complaint at the time other than a comment about the small size of the foie gras - which I would point out was not a "foie gras appetizer" as you describe - but a garnish on the Ham Hock Terrine appetizer.....a rather different concept..!

If diners are dissatisfied in any way, we urge them to make their criticisms known to the senior staff at the time - so we can identify any faulty processes or staff carelessness - and correct them by offering replacements or compensation. Several days after the event it is very difficult to identify "one-off" problems.

Please accept my apologies - and, if you are still on-island, please contact me on 484 3486 - and we will be pleased to invite you back for a better experience..!

John Verity - Owner, Rainforest Hideaway

PS: We are all a little mystified by your comment about the Bay at night - not being lit. I think that most of our diners find the moonlit views across the bay - with the scattered twinkling lights on the boats and villas on the opposite ridge - to be part of the magical experience of dining out over the water in Marigot Bay. Maybe this shows that "you can't please all the people........."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing