We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This place ia great at night. Such breathtaking views..food was good too. The staff was friendly and all was fab

Thank Jae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Jae L

Very pleased that you enjoyed the wedding reception recently. Rainforest is a very special place for wedding receptions - and weddings themselves. Rated as one of the most romantic venues in the Caribbean we are small enough to tailor the event precisely to your requirements - no "conveyor belt" weddings and receptions here....!

We handle parties up to 60 comfortably - closing the restaurant for complete privacy - and in the summer we can usually accommodate the wedding party at Mango Beach Inn - our "sister business" a few yards behind the restaurant overlooking the Bay.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Rainforest Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 555 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Exceptionally tasty food, beautifully presented. The service staff was fine. The atmosphere is resort casual with an open air restaurant along side the Marigot Bay. While pricey, the Rainforest Hideaway is the best food we found on the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Dave W

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. We were happy to see your very positive reviews of the food and service but surprised at the low grading for atmosphere. We normally score very highly for "atmosphere" - but some of this is beyond our control when one thing like a noisy table or bad weather can affect the ambiance. Fortunately these are infrequent...!

As for price, I have responded on this many times - but in summary it costs a lot to put on the Rainforest "experience" - with a high staff to guest ratio to ensure good service and high cost food and consumables. Many people tell us our prices are consistent with those of comparable restaurants in major cities - but in fact most of our costs are higher because of imports with high freight, tax and duty costs. Our Government has to live off the Tourism Industry - the mainstay of the island's economy. We also have to generate profits in the High Season to subsidise the 6-month Low Season - when most restaurants lose money but don't have the option to close without damaging their reputation. City restaurants don't have this problem..!

Given these parameters - which we cannot influence - our aim is always to provide value through good food and service - which you have appreciated. I am sorry that for you it didn't convert into "value".

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were given a meal gift voucher and we loved it! the boat over to the restaurant is fun and when you arrive the bar area offers wonderful views into the bay and yachts!

The food was delicious and offered unique choices! The location of this restaurant makes it a one off and a must to visit whilst in St Lucia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Caroline

We are so pleased you enjoyed your surprise honeymoon gift of a voucher for an all expenses paid dinner at Rainforest. Being regularly called the most romantic restaurant in the Caribbean is a great start to a romantic evening - and we have seen most things from an at-the-table proposal of marriage through weddings and honeymoons to anniversaries - and other romantic occasions.

Good luck - and we hope like many others you will come back to celebrate an anniversary at Rainforest in the future.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We loved it so much here we had to go back for a second meal during our recent trip. Great service and excellent quality food and having to get the ferry to access the restaurant makes it feel very special.

Thank Rabstar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Rabstar 32

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. The best feedback we can get is your decision to return to Rainforest for a second evening. We are aware you have a wide choice of good restaurants in St Lucia - so we appreciate your return visit..

John Verity
Owner- Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really enjoyed our time here. We came me by boat from Soufriere, which was a great bookend to this experience (with St. Lucia eco dive - great service and good fun). Food was all wonderful, great ambiance, very nice staff. Very good and reasonably priced cocktails too. The effort they put in to make it a great destination shows. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Darac

Many thanks for your review and highlighting the experience of travelling and arriving in Marigot Bay by boat - directly onto the Rainforest dock. It is a wonderful way to arrive in Marigot Bay - almost invisible from the ocean but progressively unfolding as you pass the villas perched on the south ridge, the La Bas beach sand-spit and into the inner bay with its multitude of boats from the colourful local pirogue fishing boats up to the Mega Yachts on the marina - a fascinating experience day or night.....not cheap but many guests have told us that the boat trip for dinner at Rainforest was the highlight of their St Lucian vacation.

ECO Dive St Lucia pick up at several points in the Soufriere region and are fully licenced to carry passengers at night - a twin-engine boat having all the relevant safety and navigation equipment. They have a number of special deals for the summer season.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing