We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, incredible atmosphere and the perfect ending to our trip”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arranged to go by boat to this gem in Marigot Bay. It was our final night on the island. we arrived just as the sun set and stayed well into the night- we did not have music our night, but we had the sounds of the bay which was just as terrific. The menu was a prix fix with excellent choices. We went as a family. Our teenaged girls loved not only their choices but anything they tried off our plates as well- it was more expensive than some places but the overall evening was so memorable it was worth it. Service was top notch and food was as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mosdry

Thanks for your lovely review of your memorable experience at Rainforest. You have highlighted most of the USP's of the restaurant and there is nothing more to add except - thanks and please come back again..!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 542 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Loved the position, food very good the band were excellent.
Liked it all.
Also good to use the walkway from Marigold bay through the mangroves,the sound from the mangroves was excellent.

Thank avril51sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear avril51sunshine

I guess you are referring to the short water taxi ride across the Bay. Think of Rainforest as being on an island - only reachable by a two-minute ferry ride. Many guests find this an endearing part of the experience - like leaving the "real world" behind for a few hours to soak up the magical atmosphere of Rainforest

Coming directly to Rainforest by water taxi from Soufriere or Rodney Bay is also a great experience. A sunset cruise to Marigot, delivery direct onto the Rainforest dock and then a moonlight or starlight cruise back after dinner captures the full magic of Marigot. Not cheap but for many the highlight of their St Lucian vacation.

Please continue to liase though Sam. who is monitoring events closely


John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

They are now serving a prix fix menu which is nice as you have few surprises on the menu. I had an excellent fish plate with a ceasar salad and dessert. DH had sea bass for an up charge. Dinner for two with not drinks but bottled water was $160 with service charge. Two course was slightly less. Definitely an option for a special occasion. Be sure to arrive before dark to get the full experience of Marigot Bay.

Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Rosebud

Thanks for your review of Rainforest and so glad you enjoyed the experience.

Our fixed price Menu is EC$130 for two courses and EC$160 for three courses - plus all diners receive a complimentary bruschetta and amuse bouche. Not cheap, but not expensive for free live dinnertime jazz three nights each week (year round), free ferry, professional service, a unique "over-the-water" location and some of the best food on the island.

July is out tenth anniversary - and the tenth year that we have been listed by TripAdvisor as the No 1 restaurant in Marigot Bay and the second time as "One of the Top Ten Fine Dining Restaurants in the Caribbean".

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We loved this restaurant. While it is a little pricey, how often are you in St. Lucia on Marigot Bay? You have to try it! We met the owner while we were there, a very nice gentleman. The food was amazing! Everything came out looking like a piece of art! Will definitely come back next time we are in Marigot Bay, it was a magical evening!

Thank Jeasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Jeasue

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Rainforest - and glad you enjoyed the experience. Not sure about the "nice gentleman" comment. Must have been one of his good days. His well-earned nick-name is "Mr Grumpy"...

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fantastic top notch food, would rate is as a Michellin star. open 3 sides onto the marina, accessible only by boat, 2 minutes from waterside. soul singer some nights.
Pilates and Yoga classes held on Tuesday & Thursday.
Great place to completely relax, fantastic suroundings

Thank katielulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Katielulu

Thanks for your very positive review of Rainforest. Glad you enjoyed it so much..!

Unfortunately Michelin don't rate Caribbean restaurants so we have to be satisfied with our TripAdvisor "Travelers Choice" award - which is as rare as a Michelin Star. No other St Lucian restaurant has ever been awarded one - and we have two - 2008 and 2013. Our founding Chef, Jim Verity, returned to England in 2009 so that he could work for a Michelin Star. He got listed last year and hopes for the star this year. His legacy is the standard he set for Rainforest.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing