We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Honeymooning Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Pomme d'Amour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Pomme d'Amour
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“A Wonderful Honeymooning Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We arrived in St. Lucia in early October just a day after our wedding. We flew into the airport in the North, which was more convenient from the States, despite the extra flight. Pierre picked us up at the airport quite late, 11PM, and took us back to the Villa. Josee was waiting, as advertised, with some delicious rum punch and bruschetta.

The villa was beautiful and had a fridge stocked with multiple mornings worth of food. We had heavy rain the first night, which sounded beautiful on the roof and was a nice welcome to the island. The weather was beautiful for the rest of the trip, and we enjoyed the villa and immediate area. The pool was a great way to relax after a long day of being out and about and the kitchen was well equipped for cooking, which we did about twice a day. The rooms were very nice and the rooms were cleaned every other day. The internet was a little spotty, though this wasn't a huge deal for us.

The villas were exactly as advertised here on TripAdvisor, although the photos do not do it justice. The things that should be emphasized the most, we think, in addition to the beautiful villa, is that Josee and Pierre know the ins and outs of St. Lucia. This is incredibly helpful when planning your day. They arranged for everything from a private tour of the island given by locals, a rental car at a very good rate through a private friend, a zip-lining excursion, and told us about many wonderful restaurants. If you stay with them, the private tour with Carlos and a dinner at the Rainforest Hideaway are things you should definitely do. The latter is a little pricey, but is an amazing experience with wonderful food and great service. Marigot is a small, ritzy sailing town and was a nice place to have nearby. Josee also recommended a beach near the airport, which was a nice beach not overrun by other tourists. The local food shacks there were particularly good. We had two enormous plates of St. Lucian barbecue - pork and mahi mahi - and four drinks for $20 total. Many of these were Piton beer, which we also had waiting in our fridge upon arrival. It's a good but not overpowering beer that is available everywhere on the island and was perfect for a beach trip.

Overall, this was an excellent place to stay while honeymooning in St. Lucia, and the price is excellent as well. We were adamant about not staying in an all-inclusive resort, and the Villa Pomme D'Amour was exactly the sort of private experience we were looking for. The reviews on here are spot on. Trust them, and ours.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
173
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We recently stayed at Villa Pomme D'Amour and enjoyed every moment! From the picturesque scenery to the beautiful villa and everything in between, we could not talk more about how great this place is!

Josee and Pierre are fantastic hosts and we thank them for all of their help during our stay. When we arrived, we were picked up by Pierre and taken back to the villa where we were greeted with some homemade rum punch and snacks. The next morning we met with Josee to go over the map of the island and discuss what adventures we were interested in. I highly recommend renting a car because the island is fairly easy to navigate around and you can see so much at your own leisure! And with a little help from Josee, you can see so much.

By the end of our trip, we really didn't want to leave and we hope that one day we will return to St. Lucia and Villa Pomme D'Amour.

If you're looking for a tropical getaway where you can come and go at your own pace, this is the place for you!

Thanks again Josee and Pierre, we truly appreciate your help in making our vacation one that we will never forget.

Julia, Adriana and Kianah! :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Jules1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Pierre and Josee have pretty much nailed it with this place. They both have worked extensively in hospitality and it shows. Good location which is just about walkable to the bay, but I would recommend renting a car via them, which we did. Both are very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Mosquitos are very present so bring so deet. They are friendly without being intrusive, which fits in nicely with the rhythm of the island

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Honeymoon at the Villa Pomme D'amour. Our initial searches in St Lucia included all the usual suspects- Sandals, Windjammer, etc. Though a big all inclusive might be nice, we really wanted to find a very secluded romantic getaway. As our searching narrowed we came across this very page filled with 5 star reviews of the Villa Pomme D-Amour. We put our faith in the outstanding reviewers here and we so pleased to find every word of it was true!

About the hosts:
Josee and Pierre are possibly the greatest hosts you could ever ask for. Beyond providing you with a simply beautiful villa to enjoy on a tropical island paradise, these two go above and beyond so you can enjoy all St Lucia has to offer. Pierre picked us up from the airport and even shuttled us down to Marigot Bay on a handful of occasions, and Josee sat down with us and we plotted together some amazing activities only locals would know about and where to find them. They also helped us book our rental car, water taxi, and various other activities. Josee and Pierre are delightful company and always so helpful, you will never be left unsatisfied at their villa.

About the Villa:
As honeymooners, we were simply SPOILED by the villa. We honeymooned in October during the "slow" season and it often felt like we had the Villa, and island, all to ourselves. We enjoyed lazy dips in the pool, almost always by ourselves. We also walked down the private cove multiple times enjoying swimming, snorkeling, and our bottle of champagne with a movie quality beautiful sunset. The villa itself is very open air and outfitted with folding doors that open up to a private patio where we enjoyed many home cooked breakfasts and lunches made in our own kitchen. All of the accommodations were clean and the villa is simply and tastefully decorated with several artisan pieces made by local artists. The location of the Villa Pomme D'Amour is *key*. It is well situated so you are about mid-island on the west coast. Go north for a day and drop in on Castries on the way to a fun evening in Rodney Bay, and the next day head south to hike the Pitons and check out Soufriere. Marigot Bay is a short walk down the road and we enjoyed many dinners at restaurants like Chateau Mygo, Rainforest Hideaway, Doolittles and more. Wherever you like to go, the Villa is a very versatile starting point.

Activities we enjoyed:
A bit "touristy" but still fun was the zip-lining adventure at Rainforest SkyLines. Our guides were fun & the 15+ zips definitely get your blood pumping. We absolutely enjoyed our horseback riding on the beach, and in the ocean, with the International Pony Club- being an experienced rider I got the privilege of galloping on the beach and it was a thrill! The Water taxi with Carlos is worth every penny and the snorkeling on that trip is amazing. We visited the Diamond Falls and very much enjoyed strolling through the botanical garden and discovering wondrous flowers and plants that seemed right out of the film Avatar. We toured the fort at Pigeon Point and enjoyed the food and scenery of Jambe de Bois. We enjoyed a little shopping and fine dinning in Rodney bay and seeing the more "ritzy" side of St Lucia. And last but not least- hiking the Piton. We were actually surprised by the tremendous effort it took to climb this mini mountain, we read up on and it thought if other tourists could do it surely we could! And we did....but with much sweating, huffing and puffing, and a few stumbles up and down. The view is spectacular and the sense of accomplishment afterwards is worth it all. We like to joke hiking the Piton is "An Ancient St Lucian trial of Marriage! If you and your spouse make it up and down all in one piece, surely your marriage will survive any other obstacle thereafter!"

Must Haves for the trip:
1) If you are sensitive to mosquitoes like me, bring deep woods bug spray and anti-itch cream! They are very expensive on the island and you will want it. Use the mosquito netting every night at the bed and keep your fan blowing and you will not be bothered at night.
2) Rent a car- there's really no other way to see St Lucia without a vehicle. Besides the hilarious thrill of driving on the wrong side of the road, you will also smugly pat yourself on the back when you see all the van taxis STUFFED with other tourists from the big hotels. Having our own set of wheels was a godsend.
3) Plenty of cash- we experienced many "aw shucks" moments when we had no cash on hand and only cards.
4) Underwater Camera - We bought a GoPro action sports video camera before the trip ($180) and it was worth every penny! We took it on all our activities above and below water and it captured not only great video but still imagery. The joy of seeing undersea marvels or the true 'birds eye view' of ziplines astounds our friends.
5) Sea shoes - Josee recommended them and they came in so handy. $10 at your local sports store and you can get the slip on 'aqua shoes' which we used a bunch. Worth it.
6) Island map- We didn't want to pay for an international plan on our cell phones which meant no gps! But never fear, the old fail-safe paper map served us faithfully our entire trip and we kept our scribbled on atlas as a memento of our honeymoon.
7) If you do plan to hike the Piton, pack athletic wear and maybe even hiking boots if you can manage it. We experienced many slips in our regular tennis shoes.

My husband and I fondly flip through our Honeymoon photos time and again, savoring every memory of our lovely stay at Villa Pomme d-amour. We are already planning out our return trip to paradise and we know exactly where to book.

Room Tip: You only get four choices, try and book the top level villas for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyDee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Josee & Pierre are the best hosts ever! Pierre picked us up from the airport and gave us information about the island during the trip. Josee helped us plan all of the activities during our stay. She even set us up with a rental car at a great rate. I recommend taking the private boat trip with Carlos. The Villa is perfect. A 10 minute walk brings you to a secluded cove. We are going to be visiting here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogafanatic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the Villa Pomme D’Amour for our honeymoon for 2 weeks and couldn’t imagine a better place. Josée and Pierre were incredible hosts. They picked us up at the airport, stocked our refrigerator with breakfast for the next morning and a bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon, had cold rum punch waiting for us, arranged a rental car, and provided us with an insider way to experience the island; from where to get the best produce, taste local food, hear the best music to sharing their off-the-beaten-track beaches and waterfalls.

The apartment was beautiful. We bbq’d and ate on the large terrace at night with views of the sea and the sunset, swam in the pool under the stars, and relaxed in the living space and bedroom with views of their lush garden and surrounding vegetation.

They made everything easy and fun. They listened to our interests, made arrangements and reservations for water taxis, boat rentals, dinners, etc. and shared the secrets of the island to make it a truly unique and memorable experience. We not only had an amazing honeymoon, but are honored to now call Josée and Pierre our friends.

Lisa and Elijah

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaswitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham on the Wolds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The reviews on Villa Pomme D'Amour are positive for a very good reason - this is a faultless place to stay, and the hosts Josee & Pierre are totally welcoming and helpful. Marigot Bay is a wonderful, scenic and relaxing location. Everything is easily on hand, which makes a spot of self-catering a delight.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.3 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.2 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Nature's Paradise
Nature's Paradise
#2 of 7 in Marigot Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pomme d'Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pomme d'Amour

Property: Villa Pomme d'Amour
Address: Sea View Avenue, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Villa Pomme d`Amour Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing