We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem of a guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Pomme d'Amour
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful gem of a guest house”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Josee and Pierre are the perfect hosts at this wonderful gem of a guest house just by Marigot Bay. The two bedroom apartments with their own private terraces overlooking the pool (saltwater, and so no chlorine smells) and the nearby secluded Smugglers' Cove (with excellent snorkelling starting only a few feet from the beach and its own resident turtle) have everything you need for a perfect holiday. Josee and Pierre do everything they can to make you comfortable and relaxed, and manage to provide all sorts of helpful tips and ideas for days away from the villa without in any way being intrusive.
In addition to all the things mentioned in other reviews, the highlight of our stay was a daysail with Dave from the watersports centre in Marigot Bay, when Dave helped our two boys to sail a 20 foot boat to a cove further down the coast, picking up a bucket of live snapper from a local fishing boat on the way, which were prepared and barbecued on driftwood on the beach by Dave and his friends while we snorkelled in the crystal clear water of the cove. The lunch which we all shared, with bread from the local bakers and Piton beers cold from the ice box, was a fantastic and unique taste of the Caribbean!
Villa Pomme D'Amour does not have the facilities of the all inclusives or large hotels, but if you prefer independence and class then you could not find a better place to spend your holiday in beautiful and friendly St Lucia

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
176
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent 6 days in St. Lucia staying at The Villa Pomme D'Amour and had a fantastic time! The villa was so beautiful and our little apartment had a lot of space, including a nice kitchen and outdoor deck space that we enjoyed many meals on while overlooking the pool and the bay in the distance. The property also had many great areas to explore and relax including a 'treehouse deck' with a nice hammock and chairs and a little private cove with a dock that was nice for swimming and snorkeling (you will need water shoes!) Josee and Pierre were excellent hosts and made everything so easy for us from picking us up from the airport, taking us to the grocery store and helping to book dinner reservations. They also were a huge help in planning out our different excursions, which amoung our favorites were climbing The Gros Piton (wear comfortable shoes and bring lots of water!), taking a private water taxi tour for snorkeling and lunch at 3 different beaches and visiting La Tille Falls which were beautifully maintained with a lot of signs to make easy to find and they even gave us some bananas to take for the ride home!

Overall I cannot say enough good things about our stay in St. Lucia and I will definitely be back to visit the island soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2nd floor apartment which had nice and easy access/stairs to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had an awesome time in St. Lucia with our 2 teenagers! We rented the 2 bedroom Villa which had all the amenities needed for a relaxing stay. The views were spectacular, the grounds lush and well taken care of; the kids also enjoyed the salt water pool after a day of exploring on the island. Our hosts Josee and Pierre were amazing, always on hand to answer questions, make restaurant recommendations or suggest places to visit. Josee arranged a car rental for us through Lori (Lori and Alex were great to deal with), a water taxi trip from Marigot Bay along the coast to the Pitons and on our last night arranged for Davey to prepare a delicious authentic St Lucian meal in our Villa served right on our balcony. Thank you Josee and Pierre for making our stay a memorable one.
If you enjoy a little wave action check out Anse Cochon, best snorkelling Anse Chastanet and Sugar Beach; places to eat Rainforest Hideaway (amazing), Chateau Mygo, JD's, and Doolittle's.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHARLOTTESVILLE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Villa Pomme D'Amour was a fantastic boutique hotel tucked away from the busier parts of Marigot Bay. The proprietors are friendly and helpful. The private pool and the views of the Caribbean are spectacular. My wife and I stayed in a suite with my in-laws and it couldn't have been more relaxing and fun. For a splash of local flair, ask Josi about eating dinner at J.J.'s on the hill!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOFFREY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We've just returned from St Lucia where we stayed for 6 nights at Villa Pomme D'Amour and found it to be just what we wanted and a fabulous place to stay. We thoroughly endorse all the other excellent commendations for Josee and Pierre and their beautiful home. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skenman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Before we left for our February trip to St. Lucia, we read many Glowing Reviews about the Great Experiences people had at Villa Pomme D'Amour. After our 8 day stay, I have to say it was All True.
- Yes - Josee and Pierre were Fabulous Hosts and took great care of us from the time we were picked up at the Airport until the day we reluctently left. We were given many helpful suggestions and were never disappointed. Definetly take them up on their offer to arrange a car thru Andrew (hassle free), the Water Taxi trip up the coast with Yetta and Lance, and the many great Restaurant suggestions especially JD's on Marigot Bay. The island provided many unique experiences and allowed a great mix of Relaxation and Adventure. We'll definitly go back.
Thank You Josee and Pierre
Mark & Mary

Room Tip: All rooms had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK-MARY1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at Villa Pomme D’Amour from February 8 to 15, 2014. What a great time! From our first email to Josee to our final day, we had great service and never once second guessed our decision to stay here.

Pierre picked us up from the airport, so we could get a feel for the island and ask some questions during the drive, that was a huge bonus. When we arrived at the Villa, Josee welcomed us with some delicious rum punch and bruschetta. You really appreciate that nice gesture after a long day of travel!

Our room at the Villa was the lower one-bedroom unit. For the two of us, it was just the right size. We ate breakfasts at the Villa every day from the generous provisions that were provided for us and supplemented with a few things from the store and roadside stands during the week. Having Wifi was amazing because we were able to communicate with our family back home every morning through Face Time, and they sure were jealous of our view!

Don’t be fooled by not having air conditioning – it’s beautiful! You never have that ‘ugh’ feeling after being chilled in the air conditioning and walking into the hot exterior. Your body stays equalized the whole time, and the fans at night with the cooler evening temperatures are just right. Plus, you wouldn’t want to close the gorgeous louvered doors overlooking the incredible scenic view. That’s the best part!

After reading other reviews, I had brought tons of mosquito paraphernalia, but didn’t need anything as we had no bugs at all the week we were there. There is mosquito netting over the bed, but we didn’t use it.

All week long Pierre and Josee were both gracious and helpful. They arranged our car rental for us and each morning helped us with directions and suggestions on how to fill our day. They also kept an eye on us to make sure we arrived home safely too!

The Villa is located centrally to everything on the island. We drove north to Pigeon Island, and after a bit of reassurance from Josee, we drove South to Soufriere (they could really use a few guardrails on that drive – I was nervous!). We went to the Castries Market, Tet Paul Nature Trail, the Botanical Gardens/Waterfall, Zip Lining, and all of which Josee told us tips and tricks on things like where to park, when to go, and called ahead to make reservations where necessary. She even arranged for us a private water taxi which we took down the coast to Sugar Beach and back (with a stop for lunch on the way).

Josee was always good for a restaurant suggestion, we ate at Chateau Mygo, JD’s, the Rainforest Hideaway, La Monique’s (our favourite local cuisine), Dasheene at the Ladera Resort (another favourite for the amazing food and views), and the Pink Plantation House (another must and not too far from the Villa… go for lunch!).

All in all, staying at Villa Pomme D’Amour was perfect for our island adventure because we had wonderful accommodations and absolutely the best concierge service you could possibly have!

We will definitely come back to Villa Pomme D’Amour!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJFoodNetworkFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
935 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nature's Paradise
Nature's Paradise
#2 of 7 in Marigot Bay
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pomme d'Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pomme d'Amour

Property: Villa Pomme d'Amour
Address: Sea View Avenue, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Villa Pomme d`Amour Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing