We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing!!”
Review of Hotel Miramonti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Miramonti
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Claviere
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very disappointing!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have just returned from a week in the Miramonti and well what can i say?? Quite simply the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. We were so disappointed with the Miramonti. We were expecting a basic hotel but it wasn't even that. The rooms were small and the bathroom was cold no radiators in the bathroom. There was mould growing in corners of the bathroom and it had a horrible damp smell in there. The shower also had mould growing in the cublcal. The door to the balcony wouldn't shut properly either. We asked for the door to be fixed and some air freshner for the bathroom smell which they did supply. Once we complained about the room the staff were really off with us and not very helpful at all. The food was not very good although there was plenty of it, it was very samey so your ok if you like ham and tomato pasta every day. Overall i wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone for a stay in Claviere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaEssexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    38
    12
    2
    9
See reviews for
23
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have just returned from a week at The Miramonti. Unfortunately our room was not available when we arrived and we had to wait three hours before it was,this didnt give us a good start as we had had a very early flight that morning and we were all a bit grumpy. We were in the rooms in the basement and we were very disappointed with them. The bathroom had mould growing in the corners as did the shower cubicle. Also the extractor fan was not connected and full of dust so it was always full of steam. On saying that, there was plenty of hot water. When we finally did get in our room, there was a cup filled with water and cigarette ends on the window ledge and there were two mouldy lemons in the wardrobe drawers. I dont think it had really been cleaned properly (probably because there was a party of french school children the week before us). The curtains were hanging by two/three hooks on each side so we couldnt actually close them. We also couldnt open the wardrobe doors as it was too close to the bed.
Although the room was disappointing (perhaps because we were in the basement) the food was lovely and plentiful.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A family run hotel, only a few metres from the French border. You will receive a warm welcome from Fabio & Fulvia. It is a 2 star & does not pretend to be anything else. All the rooms have en-suite with a basic bed & wardrobe, the heating is good with plenty of hot water. There are double rooms & family rooms for up to 5 people. Food is usually on a half board basis, and is typical wholesome Italian. If you fancy different food there are restaurants in the village.
The ski runs are within walking distance. They go in different directions allowing access to many slopes. Ski equipment can be stored at the hotel.
My trip was with a school party.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartmart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just back from a skiing holiday in Claviere.The Miramonti is a good clean comfortable hotel. Fulvio and Fabio are very friendly. The food was plentiful and cooked by Fabio himself. It was a perfect location for skiing and very quiet at night. The only fault i'd have is the walk back to the hotel at the end of a day's skiing is fairly tiring. It's up a short hill but the quiet location compensates for this.
Hopefully i'll be fitter next time and won't notice the hill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellie55Tralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in January 2012. The breakfast was plentiful, with a selection of ham, cheese, yogurts, croissants to which you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. The evening meals were plentiful and well cooked and if (like me) you are not a big meat eater an alternative such as omelette was offered and a good choice of good value wines. The rooms, though basic, were perfectly adequate, with plenty of hot water for showers. Beautiful views from the room over the village and towards the mountains from the balcony. I would certainly recommend this hotel to the budget concious skiier.

The only downside, and this is no fault of the hotel but due to incorrect details in the brochure and website by Crystal, is that the stated lift to Montgenevre behind the hotel is now closed and apparently has been for the last year!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mulgrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at the Miramonti for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year. Very nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Wonderfull italian food 4 courses every night and a superb gala dinner on Xmas Eve and New Years Eve. Fulvia and her brother Fabio and their staff could not have been more welcoming. We had a lovely double room with balcony overlooking the village and felt very at home and hope to visit again next year.

The hotel is a short walk to the village and the Claviere ski lifts. Great ski-ing and would recommend the Chalet MonSoleil for lunch, sunny location, friendly staff, good food and lowest prices on the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The Miramonti is a perfect hotel for people who go on ski holidays who want fantastic skiing, local food, to stay with a charming Italian family, have an easy transfer from the airport, and good value. If you want noisy late apres ski, please stay away. We have stayed at the Miramonti many times, sometimes twice in a season. We don't want to pay for OTT luxury; we want to feel we are in Italy not in British franchise facility run by the young "Hi guys, no worries, cool, cliche club." We like to be on the first lift of the morning and head for the top run on the north side of Montgenevre as the lifts close in the afternoon, as from there you can ski right back to the Miramonti. A competent skier can ski Claviere, San Secario, Souze D'Oulx, Sestriere, Borgatta and back to Montgenevre in a day with an hour's stop for lunch. An improvement would be to have the lounge door on a self closing spring and shut it after 10.00pm, otherwise noise from noisy people imbibing in the lounge travells up the stair well. Like most places, the Miramonti is best if the people staying there respect a basic principle of democracy, "you are free to do what you want, unless it affects the rights of others to do what they want". So with a little consideration for other guests, it is a great place to stay. Where best to go today? Ask Fulvia, who has also worked as a ski instructor. Blitz the pistes, return for a shower and rest and look forward to an Italian meal cooked by Fabio and probably served by Elena. If you enjoy wine with your meal, you need not worry about the end of week bar bill. Fine Italian wines come at an affordable price. You are right up against the French border, and the French lift over to Montgenevre is right outside. Five minutes down the lane and you are into the 450km of pistes of the Via Lattia. There are little or no apres piste head banging opportunities in the village, and long may it remain so. Claviere retains the characteristic charm of a high Alpine Italian village. This is the pass through which Hannibal and Caesar travelled, er, no, not with First Choice!
With the changing demographics and an increase in the numbers of people wanting a healthy holiday rather than one of self abuse; more destination and hotels like the Miramonti would be welcome and in demand in the TUI brochures.
Last January, a couple with young children sought refuge at the Miramonti having suffered the noise in the Grand Claviere.

Room Tip: On repeat visits, contact Fulvia by email before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claviere
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bes
Hotel Bes
#2 of 6 in Claviere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clari
Hotel Clari
#1 of 6 in Claviere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Chaberton
Hotel Chaberton
#3 of 8 in Cesana Torinese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Casa Cesana
Hotel Chalet Casa Cesana
#1 of 8 in Cesana Torinese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramonti

Property: Hotel Miramonti
Address: Via Rio Secco 1 | Claviere, 10050 Claviere, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Claviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Claviere
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Miramonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramonti Hotel Claviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing