We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Westfijords Hotel/Iceland”
Review of Hotel Djupavik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Djupavik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kjorvogur
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Westfijords Hotel/Iceland”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hi. Our family stayed only one night at this wonderful hotel located in the Westfijords region of Iceland. We hope to return to Iceland and will definitely stay here again.
It was built in the early 1930's as housing for the women who worked at the Herring Factory located on the grounds. The factory has a rich, short history and the tour of the factory is well worth it.
The rooms are small, cozy and comfortable. Shared bathrooms for men and women are located on the second level - where bedrooms are found. All rooms have views of either the fjord (in front) or the hills (behind). The views are great all around this hotel. The waterfalls from the melting snow above are camera worthy.
The current owners bought the property in 1985 after it had been and are slowly and lovingly restoring the hotel. The large first floor holds the restaurant (exceptional food!!) and sitting room where antiques from days gone by are found everywhere.
Hope to stay here again on our next visit to Iceland and spend more time in this lovely spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I've discovered hotel Djupavik, while exploring the dramatic Strandir Coast and Reykjarfjordur. We stopped for lunch and what a surprise: excellent home made, comfort food and a service beyond expectation.

Djupavik use to be a thriving community for herring business, now with the plant closed more than 60 year ago, it is an just an isolating hamlet in a midle of dramatic fjords. The mountain behind with a remarkable waterfall, adds uniqueness to Hotel Djupavik. Look for wildlife and other natural beauties. I'm already planning to return...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haxey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Due to time we only spent one night here, but we intend to return in the future. The rooms are basic but clean, warm and comfortable. The reason to stay here is the location, miles from any where next to a historic herring factory. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful and it is obvious that they love and are in tune with the area. The evening meal was very good home cooking, not fancy just good fresh cooked fish, the breakfast was very good. It is well worth the 1 hour + drive along the coast just to get here, go next year and help them celebrate the 30th anniversary. Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveHaxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Djupavik is beautiful. The most isolated places in Iceland.
I've been here for dinner. Amazing place, amazing people and the food was very good. Given that its isolated, the price is accessible. The decor and ambiance are cozy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Of the many places we have visited during our 2 weeks long trip around Iceland, this is my favorite one. Located in the middle of nowhere (it's one if the most remote places in the country, that can be reached in about 1 hour and a half of gravel road), this hotel is in an historical building. The past of the small village is really interesting and I strongly suggest to visit Djupavik's herring factory museum to learn something amazing and unexpected. The ex-factory sometimes also hosts exhibitions and concerts.

We stayed 2 nights in a double room with shared bathroom. The atmosphere was cozy and friendly, and it was a pleasure to chat with the international staff. The food at the restaurant was simple but good.

Beside the great hikes in the area and the wild natural life, there are some small thermal baths facing the ocean at about 1 hour drive north that are worth the trip.

All this and more at an honest price. Very recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here and I felt sad to leave. The location is stunning; the inn is charming and the whole experience is magical. The staff was very nice but Claus is truly a gem. He helped us with many aspects of our trip, was a brilliant tour guide for the factory and shared his love of the area. Don't miss this wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debjar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We did not spend the night at the hotel just dropped in for some food.

Warm welcome from very friendly staff. They cooked up some simple but excellent food for us and made excellent waffles.
Great location, great staff, unique experience.

A place one must stop.
Next review will be after spending the night there

Room Tip: Call ahead as this place is pretty remote and they will be ready for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ON_iceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kjorvogur
131.4 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#6 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
83.9 mi away
Breidavik Guesthouse
Breidavik Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Reykjanes
Hotel Reykjanes
#4 of 10 in Isafjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Malarhorn Guesthouse
Malarhorn Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Drangsnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
16.9 mi away
Iceland Visit Hostel
Iceland Visit Hostel
#1 of 2 in Holmavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
7.4 mi away
Urdartindur Guesthouse & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djupavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djupavik

Property: Hotel Djupavik
Address: off Route 643 in Westfjords | Djúpavík, Kjorvogur IS-522, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Kjorvogur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kjorvogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Djupavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing