We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place in Katanga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Karavia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lubumbashi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a nice hotel to relax in before and after going out of Lubumbashi. The place is clean, rather friendly, things work generally well and the pool is real nice. The room price is a bit high but well...
The evening buffet has safe salad and a choice of cheese, goodies in DRC. For the main course, take a look at the far end of the buffet, you may be lucky to find mopane worms (actually caterpillars).
I'm just puzzled by the review that says internet is good and free. It's certainly not free and it works some of the time.

Room Tip: Pool side is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Je tiens tout d'abord à vous remercier pour vos commentaires très constructifs , effectivement, votre bien être et la qualité de nos services est au cour de nos priorités.

En ce qui concerne la qualité de notre accès internet et le fait que cela gratuit, nous sommes actuellement entrain de déployer une couverture WIFI à 100%, et sommes entrain de chercher des solutions quant à notre tarification et gratuité.

Toute l'équipe du Grand Karavia Hôtel vous invite à nous contacter lors de votre prochain passage à Lubumbashi, afin de pouvoir vous témoigner de son professionnalisme, et de pouvoir vous délivrer le service que vous méritez.

Très Cordialement,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

By far the cleanest, most professional and friendliest staff at any accommodation I have been in the DRC.
Rooms are acceptable in price, the restaurant is however on the pricy side.
Great views, sparkling pool and big terrace makes relaxing or working after hours tolerable.
Good internet connection at the room ( cable, not wireless ), but not all public areas have wireless internet like the restaurant, what is disappointing. Everything works and helpdesk/reception is fast.
It almost is a different country within the DRC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

I firstly want to thanks you for your review, yes, indeed the wellness and the quality of our service is in he heart of our priorities.

Regarding the internet, we're right now working on a 100% WIFI coverage with high speed;

The Grand Karavia Hotel's team will be happy to welcome you again during your next stay to Lubumbashi, and develop with you "Guest Experience";

Best Regards,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is a little gem, It is quiet, modern, Rooms are large, beds are comfy, food is very good and internet is good & free!!
You can tell there is attention to details and the overall maintenance of the premises (rooms, fixtures, gardens, furniture, etc). This is usually the downfall of hotels in Africa, but the management seems to be very dedicated and paying attention to details
The terrace by the pool is very nice as well and a perfect place for meeting people over a cold beer.
I have tried many hotels in DRC and in Africa in general, but this one really stands out as being well run, customer oriented and affordable as well.

Room Tip: Any room is good, you should try the suites though!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zitoondubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sir,

I would like first thanks you very much for your comment regarding your last stay at The Grand Karavia Hotel, the quality of our service and your well being is in the heart of our priorities.

We will be more than happy to receive you again at the grand Karavia Hotel during your next trip to Lubumbashi, in order to offer you the service experience you deserve.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is by far the most modern in Lubumbashi - situated in a nice area close to the Golf Course - the rooms are very nice and modern. It has a nice pool and the service is good. A bit too bland for my liking so would only recommend for business travel - not cheap either.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Mr Thomas,
I firstly want to thanks you very much for your comment and let you know that you're more than welcome at The grand Karavia Hotel during your next trip to Lubumbashi. All the team is willing to receive you again and will be happy to take care about you.
Best Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed there a couple of times, look no further it's the only option you have in Lubumbashi. European standards in terms of rooms. Food and wifi slightly below but very acceptable. Golf next door if you have time. Just make sure you book in advance to get a room in Karavia before travelling to Lubumbashi.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank loran_outan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Loran,

All the Karavia's team thanks you for your comment. For your information GKH is actually deploying a 100% WIFI coverage with high speed, this should be ready in the next few days.

Do not hesitate to contact us for your next trip to Lubumbashi, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again, and make your stay unforgettable.

Best Regards,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Grand Karavia Hotel in Lubumbashi is your only option for comfort and great service for a business stay in DRC's Lubumbashi. The hotel attracts high-level business people and the opportunities for networking in the lobby or restaurant are many. Service is good, food is really good, rooms are small but very comfortable. Furthermore the hotel has excellent capacity for large-scale international business events like conferences and exhibitions and we have been thrilled to work with the team annually since 2010. We are more than satisfied with the quality of service from the entire staff and I'd recommend anyone organising an even of any size to choose Grand Karavia. Despite DRC being a challenge in terms of infrastructure and power supply at times, the Hotel is very accommodating and pro-active in finding solutions to any challenges this may present.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool a good option, suites are also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mrs Smith,

I firstly want to thanks you very much for your constructive and encouraging comment, as our guest's well being and experience is in the heart of our priorities.

I take advantage to let you know, that we'll be soon deploying a 100% WIFI coverage with high speed connectivity. We've also launched our Taxi & Limo service and really insisting on our welcome process in order to personalized each of guest arrival.

All Grand Karavia Hotel and his team his happy to welcome you again for the organization of the 5th edition "Ipad" event and will be glad to give you the best service you deserve.

Best Regards,

Laurent ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great hotel, a haven of calm. Swimming pool and outdoor area has a holiday feel.
Impressive setup in Lubumbashi, more than what you would expect. Definitely the best hotel in Lubumbashi.
Easily accessible, good service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sir,

I would like to thanks you first for your comment.

All Grand Karavia Hotel's team will be glad to receive you again during your next trip to Lubumbashi.

Best Regards,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubumbashi
0 mi away
Hotel Lubumbashi
Hotel Lubumbashi
#3 of 6 in Lubumbashi
45 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Planet Hollybum
Hotel Planet Hollybum
#2 of 6 in Lubumbashi
30 reviews
0 mi away
Gloria Inn
Gloria Inn
#4 of 6 in Lubumbashi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Belle Vie
Hotel Belle Vie
#16 of 26 in Kinshasa
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ngokaf
Hotel Ngokaf
#7 of 31 in Lubumbashi
4 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel la Rose
#10 of 31 in Lubumbashi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Karavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Karavia Hotel

Address: 55, Route du Golf | Quartier Golf, Lubumbashi 450, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Region: Democratic Republic of the Congo > Katanga Province > Lubumbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lubumbashi
Price Range: £88 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Karavia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortlessly stylish, appealing modern, Pullman Lubumbashi Grand Karavia, offers travelers an unique experience at the heart of Africa's copperbelt. Situated on the slopes of Lubumbashi Lake, surrounded by lush gardens and the Lubumbashi Golf Club,this modern international hotel offers all the facilities and services necessary to ensure guests a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Karavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing