We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Day Stay At Antico Borgo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Calatabiano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“3 Day Stay At Antico Borgo”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Delightful accomodations among orchard trees and vegetation. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Guizy (mother) and Francesca (daughter who speaks English fluently) were completely helpful with all requests, including local directions and suggestions, printing airline boarding passes, dinner reservations, etc. Note: Guizy looks like Francesca's older sister! Dinner at their restaurant by Chef Alessandro Russo and waiter Alessandro (same name, no relation) was a wonderful reflection of local Sicilian dishes with many courses and excellent price value. Good wine, bread, and after dinner liquors were free with the meal. Chef Russo is a talented, warm and engaging person. Our first dinner was such a wonderful experience that we returned for dinner (ask for the fish dinenr) the following 2 nights of our stay. Unusual for us, since we had a rental car and could easily go anywhere. In fact, other tourists who were not guests at the hotel also returned for repeat performances. One night everyone celebrated the 60th birthday of one of the diners with song and champagne. Also San Marco Beach (sand, not rocks) was only 2 miles from the hotel and provided a restaurant, chairs, umbrellas, etc. I would highly recommend Antico Borgo for a "home away from home".

Room Tip: Print out directions provided by hotel on internet - a bit hard to find without the directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    41
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This restaurant was exactly what we had wanted to find in Sicily. Chef Alessandro Russo covered our table with wonderful plates of typical local food, all cooked to perfection. As regular diners and previously disappointed at our hotel, we were very impressed. If this chef starts a cookery school, I'll be the first guest!!! They are not open for dinner on Mondays but at other times dinner tends to be at 8pm.

The menu is fixed with a huge variety of platters brought to each table, there being fish one day and meat another. Chef and his waiter explained the content of each dish and occasionally my dictionary assisted. The set menu had 4 courses and included local wine and coffee, followed by a citrus drink and grappa was offered too. We paid 50 eu per couple for the all-inclusive meat and vegetable meal and another night, 70 eu per couple for the fish meal.

We were introduced to other diners, New Zealanders, Americans and Israelis - all well-travelled people, sharing experiences. There was even a birthday treat for one guest and bubbly was distributed all round and we sang 'Happy Birthday! Alessandro's daughter had a birthday party on another evening and the elevated dining room with its high beamed ceiling was filled with happy voices.

The meals made our holiday really special and I loved walking up the low-lit staircase from the car park to the house with fragrant jasmine flowers lining the way. Jasmine always reminds me of holidays. We spoke to guests about their stay at the hotel and they were all very happy. We will return and make this accommodation part of a Sicily tour, which some guests were doing by train and loved the experience.

We wish Alessandro Russo and assistants well at Antico Borgo Agriturismo. They certainly deserve it! The restaurant can be found by turning right (see white small restaurant sign for Antico Borgo) on the main road in Pasteria (Calatabiano) just after the Aqip petrol garage (on the right). Access to the car park and house is at the end of the road on the right. There is a sports pitch, floodlit in the evenings, on the left side. It is easier to find in the daylight initially.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackygotaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

What a perfect introduction to Sicilian hospitality and lifestyle! This lovely place is on a private hilltop in the middle of their own orange and lemon orchards. We were there in spring and the combined scents of all the flowers was incredible. The rooms are tucked around the back of the building and are very quiet, dark and private. We felt like we were staying in a private luxurious home. The view of Mount Etna is great! Guisti, Valeria and Francesca were beyond wonderful, taking time to explain some of the details that helped make our experience go from great to exemplary, such as the best schedule for the trains and how to find nice places to walk. The village of Calatabiano is just far enough off the tourist path to feel like a real piece of Sicily, but lovely and enjoyable still.

Room Tip: The lowest level room at back is quiet and privat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Antico Borgo Agriturismo is a B&B ideally situated near Giardini Naxos and Taormina, not far from the sea, especially suitable for holidaymakers travelling by car (you can also go by train to Catania from the close-by station of Calatabiano). It is a very quiet place (the noise of the freeway passing not far away did not disturb us), set in a spacious garden with lemon and orange trees and offers a fabulous view of Mount Etna which is easily accessible by car.
The house itself is an old wine-growing estate, carefully restored, with tastefully furnished comfortable rooms. The staff is very helpful, but it is above all Valeria and her husband, the owners, who give warmth to the place and do everything to make your stay an unforgettable one. In the evening the restaurant offers home-cooked delicious Sicilian specialities.
We will certainly come back and can warmly recommend a booking at Antico Borgo. Of course the hosts speak English.
Lolo and Heiner

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allzeitbereit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

This might be a good place to stay if you wish to be close to Giardini-Naxos, but not in the city. It is a farmstay located 5km south. The staff are very polite and try to help with directions when they can. It is a gated property, so it is nicely secure. The downside is that it can be a bit noisy due to a roadway along the side of the property. Also, you cannot leave your shutters open at night because there are no screeens in the windows.

  • Liked — Very clean and great view of Mt. Etna.
  • Disliked — No screens and noise from the roadway.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cody1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We arrived after dark following a harrowing drive through Catania (we got lost, don't ask). Even once you are in Calatabiano, the agriturismo is rather hard to find as it is located on a small side street, behind a large gate with just a small sign out front. ( We had a GPS but it did not have the exact street so if you are using a GPS, I suggest searching for a nearby larger street.) We rang the bell and were allowed to drive through the gate. We were shown to our spacious suite/apartment with full kitchen. It was nicely decorated in a rural cottage kind of way. I thought it was very pretty. We were brought a welcome plate of food which I found very nice. The owner/staff was very helpful with local route information and restaurant advice. The agriturismo is near the highway; however, there are fans in the rooms which can be turned on to drown out any annoying noise. All we ever heard was the distant passing of freeway traffic which was not bothersome at all. The next morning, we had a simple (croissant, rolls, yogurt) in the main building. We toured the property which is full of citrus trees, plants and flowers. We picked some lemons and made lemonade. There is a magnificent view of Mount Etna from the property. On Day 1, we drove to a town on the slopes of Etna to view the lava fields. On day 2, we drove to Taormina which has a grand old theater and a great pedestrian street. This agriturismo is ideally situated for touring in both of these directions. We had just two complaints about our stay here. The beds were very very firm. Also, it was impossible to shower without soaking the floor with at least an inch of water as the shower is small and there is no door or tub (only curtain). All in all, this is in a great location and I imagine would be welcome retreat in the high season as it is tucked away from tourist areas yet accessible to them as needed. I would recommend if you are looking for this kind of accomodation.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank david9498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calatabiano
1.5 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
3.1 mi away
La Terra dei Sogni
La Terra dei Sogni
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Agriturismo San Cataldo
Agriturismo San Cataldo
#1 of 4 in Motta Camastra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
6.9 mi away
Agriturismo Galea
Agriturismo Galea
#1 of 12 in Riposto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
10.1 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
#1 of 4 in Santa Venerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B

Property: Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B
Address: Via Calatabiano Pasteria 8, 95011 Calatabiano, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Calatabiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calatabiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old renovated farmhouse located between Taormina, mount Etna and Giardini Naxos beach, 5 minutes by car from the beach, immersed in big lemon and orange garden under the complete view of Etna. Free WI-FI in all the structure and rooms, free indoor parking,Jogging path in the garden. The farmhouse organizes daily trips to Etna with departure from the farm. Buffet breakfast with fresh and genuine produce (honey, marmalades, cakes and croissant home made, fresh fruit and orange juice of the garden, coffe cappuccino etc). Typical traditional restaurant upon reservation. Very spacious rooms feature air conditioning & heating, minibar, coffee/tea boilers, handmade toiletries, sleepers, large windows open onto sea, Etna and lemon garden views, free wifi in all rooms and entire structure. It also has family rooms and apartment with kitchen for families and groups. Every day cleaning service in all the rooms. Wedding hall, banquet parties and events. Excursions on Etna with private guide and departure from the structure. Ideal location to visit Etna (35km), just 20 minutes drive from Taormina, 15 km from "Gole dell'Alcantara", ideal to visit Acireale, Aci Trezza and Catania, just 5 minutes from Giardini Naxos San Marco beach., Antico Borgo farmhouse is completely immersed in the garden, outside the village of Calatabiano, 300 mt away from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Agriturismo B&B Sicily/Calatabiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing