We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a Star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a nice inn with nice staff. However, I can see why it lost its Michelin star. Our dinners were OK but not nearly as good as Restaurant Martin Wishart in Edinburgh. My souffle had completely fallen and they tried to explain that it was supposed to be like that. Oooph!?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KonaNimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Airds Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent meal at The Airds Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. In terms of your comments regarding your starter, unfortunately your comments are slightly misinformed and therefore not a fair representation of the restaurant.

Under previous owners, the hotel did have a Michelin star however that was over 10 years ago. It is however very pleasing for us to be compared to Martin Wishart who does have a Michelin Star.

‘Your’ explanation of your starter which was a Twice Baked ‘Lanark Blue; Cheese souffle is also a little misrepresented. The soufflé you ordered was in fact a savoury and not a sweet one and therefore by its nature of being twice baked is not a high risen souffle. I would have hoped that a member of staff would have explained this to you, as before menu’s are implemented in the restaurant, our staff go through quite a rigorous training programme and taste every dish on the menu and hence should have advised you when questioned that the soufflé is not a ‘rising’ soufflé like the soufflé on the dessert menu

We take great pride on our food and service and would never knowingly serve a dish that was faulty, or a souffle that had deflated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    43
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
52
323
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Aids hotel fits perfectly in its peaceful pastoral decor. The three rooms we had booked were small, but so comfortable! Two of the rooms had the same attractive view as the dining room, one and two floors higher. We tried the tasting menu one evening then ordered all the other choices on the menu for our second evening and everything was perfect. The wine list would benefit from some expansion. The service is excellent. Breakfast is wonderful also. Don't miss the whiskey and ginger wine in the room or a trip to Lismore island (for walking or biking) on the charming ferry.

Room Tip: All great. View is worth it for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benoitj507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel could not have been better from the food to the service - we wanted for nothing and everyone was so friendly without being intrusive. I have never done a tripadvisor review before but I thought that this hotel deserved one. Stay if you can but try to stay several nights as there is much to do in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just spent a few days over the jubilee weekend at one of our favourite hotels and once again it was fantastic. Service friendly and good to see the same staff again with each visit we make and this says something about the way the hotel must be managed in that the staff stay. Food even better then the last visit and that is saying something and unusually the weather was fabulous which was the icing on the cake. This time we were able to do some lovely walks direct from the hotel and the scenery round this area is stunning - if you want a real break from it all and peace and quiet and relaxation then this is a superb place to have it all. What really makes this hotel stand out is the consistency of the service and food and everytime we have been we have never been disappointed in the least. This hotel is a must!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthabrooks83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Another great stay in our favourite hotel. New menu options gave us an even wider choice than before - the halibut was simply divine and the cremeaux was out of this world. Our normal room had recently been decorated in a very stylish manner as was the dining room. The owners always appear to be looking for ways to improve their guests visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Everything about this hotel is exceptional in my view. The excellent staff, delicious food delightful surroundings. It all seems to happen effortlessly, one's every wish is anticipated. I quite fell in love with the Airds and long to return.

Room Tip: We were accomodated in room 1 - it was the only room available and we booked a week ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I have stayed at many Relais Chateaux hotels, but in terms of food this was one of the best. The location is beautiful, whilst the staff are professional and welcoming. I would recommend the Chef's taster menu, which is full of local flavours without being over the top. This is a good location from which to explore the highlands of Scotland, with plenty to see and do within easy reach of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
14.9 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
24.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
10.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Port Appin PA38 4DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Airds Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in the romantic setting of the west coast of Scotland, is where personal service, luxury and a gourmet dining experience are the very essence of all that is great about a visit to this exclusive retreat. Whether you come for the beautiful views, fantastic seafood or romantic setting in luxurious surroundings you will not be disappointed.The atmosphere created is one of relaxed elegance where friendly staff are attentive & efficient yet not too formal. Our 11 bedrooms and suites are all uniquely designed to soothe your mind before enjoying a gourmet dinner in our romantic restaurant.Whether you are looking for something intimate and elegant or something a little more grand we have a bedroom to suit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airds Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Hotel And Restaurant
Airds Hotel Appin
Airds Hotel & Restaurant Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing