We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was my fourth visit to the Airds Hotel and once again a treat for all the senses.

I was welcomed by Pawel and shown to my room. A charming Superior room overlooking Loch Linnhe to the Morvern mountains beyond.

I relaxed in my room and waited in anticipation for my dinner which consisted of scallops with a celeriac puree, wild sea bass with braised fennel, pickled potatoes and hazelnut sponge with chocolate and clementine - outstanding combination of flavours in each of the courses, with the accompaniments lifting each of the main parts of the dish and this allows you gain an insight into the very competent kitchen team that are leading the dining experience behind the scenes.

The front of house team was lead by Graham and supported by another 2 waiters from Hungary - consummate professionals lead this gem of an establishment in a relaxed but professional manner - which is what makes a trip to the Airds so refreshing in a world that is so busy and so often overbearing.

You get a real sense of the priority of the owners, in the way that the team has been assembled and how the establishment so effortlessly runs, but the enormous effort that goes in behind the scenes to make this work so perfectly for all the guests who have the privilege to stay in this award winning property, in an outstanding area of the West Coast of Scotland.

I would place a trip to the Airds hotel on your must do list and take full advantage of the service they offer and their location.

I am already looking forward to my return trip in 2014.

Room Tip: Book more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glayva532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly placed overlooking some spectacular scenery. We have stayed here twice now and we found it to be very comfortable, the food is very very good as is the service. It is a great place to get away from it all. There are great walks locally and then you are not too far away from Oban and Fort William. We have spent 2 Christmases her now and it is so comfortable and leisurely. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The cottage is a great place if you want your own space. Well equipped kitchen ( not the we used it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Delightful hotel. The two drawing rooms were spacious but made cozy by the warm fires in the fireplaces. We stayed in the "Master Suite", which consisted of a bedroom, a large sitting room, a large elegant bathroom with both a bath and a large seperate shower and a balcony with a table and chairs. The room was one of the nicest we have stayed in in a long time.

Service was up to the standards of the room. We appreciated being able to have fresh coffee brought up to the room in the morning before we headed down to the dinning room for a full breakfast.

Room Tip: "Master Suite" is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The setting and scenery surrounding this hotel is magnificent and very Scottish. You are very much in the highlands of Scotland with dramatic mountains falling into wide lochs - so atmospheric!
There are so many highlights to a stay here that it is dificult to mark out one - the service is so friendly, the food is top quality (who said Scotland doesn't do good food) and the furnishings are beautiful. The whole place is small but that adds to the intimate atmosphere they create. This is the perfect place from which to explore the west coast of Scotland. Not the cheapest place you can stay but still very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Yet another great stay. The service continues to be amongst the best we have experienced anywhere. Combine this with the superb scenery which was enhanced by the incredible blue skies and the beautiful autumn colours (who needs New England!) and you have the perfect mini break. The food was also exceptional - the best we have had there.
Keep up the good work, especially the service which comes across as a team effort - not just the managers, but the waiting staff and the housekeepers (the rooms are kept spotless).

Room Tip: If you dont get a room with a loch view some of the other rooms have pleasent views with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My partner and I stayed for a Saturday night treat this past weekend. From the warm welcome on arrival to us leaving the next day the service was lovely. The lounges were extremely nice. The small touches and attention to detail in both the public rooms and the bedrooms made all the difference. We stayed in room 14 which was I think the smallest room in the hotel but it had a lovely view and although small was perfectly formed. The bed was extremely comfortable and sumptuous. The sky tv and free DVD library were great and the bathroom was both bright and spotless with a touch of luxury. Our package included dinner bed and breakfast and all the food was outstanding. There were a number of other guests in the dining room during the evening which was nice, but some light background music would have been welcomed just to lift the atmosphere and to prevent the inclination to whisper. Bottles of wine start from £25 and beers could be bought from £3 with any other drink you could wish for also available.

A true treat to find such luxury in a small non chain hotel. Check in early, enjoy your stay and check out late.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Don't be put off if only a standard room is available or meets your budget. They are small, luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a couple of nights on a whistle stop tour of Scotland.

We really couldn't fault the place - the standard of food was fabulous, the ambience and service in the common areas was warm and welcoming and the rooms subtly furnished, comfortable and understatedly luxurious. The staff and manager were always helpful and full of ideas and tips if what to do in the surrounding area - whatever the weather!!


The highlight was the food though. The tasting menu we had was not only absolutely delicious and of the standard you see in 1 Michelin star restaurants elsewhere, but also excellent value for money when taken with the room package.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
1.5 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
0.3 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
633 reviews
14.9 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
162 reviews
24.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range: £265 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airds Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in the romantic setting of the west coast of Scotland, is where personal service, luxury and a gourmet dining experience are the very essence of all that is great about a visit to this exclusive retreat. Whether you come for the beautiful views, fantastic seafood or romantic setting in luxurious surroundings you will not be disappointed.The atmosphere created is one of relaxed elegance where friendly staff are attentive & efficient yet not too formal. Our 11 bedrooms and suites are all uniquely designed to soothe your mind before enjoying a gourmet dinner in our romantic restaurant.Whether you are looking for something intimate and elegant or something a little more grand we have a bedroom to suit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airds Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Hotel And Restaurant
Airds Hotel Appin
Airds Hotel & Restaurant Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing