We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend in the perfect spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed last weekend for a couple of nights on their 2 night special offer which was really good value and we could not have had a better time. The weather was a bit hit and miss which you would expect at this time of year but the hotel is in a good position for visiting oban for the morning or afternoon and the hotel has some lovely walks right opposite which we enjoyed. This is a perfect spot to really get away from it all and the attention to detail is excellent. The staff are friendly and not at all intrusive which you can sometimes find in top hotels, and this created a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel. The food was really really excellent on both nights with a good choice of either fish or meat. Leave room for desserts as they are certainly worth it!

We were in a newly refurbished room which was so inviting - classic but modern at the same time with a fantastic bed (good advert for VI Spring!), and just generally beautifully decorated and furnished. Great toiletries, lovely large bathrobe and nice to have slippers. Overall a really enjoyable stay and will come back later in the year for some more relaxation and good food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We visited as part of my father’s 60th birthday. The Airds Hotel was recommended by a business colleague of ours.

The Hotel was very warm, homely, friendly, quaint. The Food was especially good and the service efficient and the waiter diligent to our needs (good sense of humour too!)

I can't fault it really, it's not got the finesse of a 5* hotel, but it's homely and i kind of liked that!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertson-alistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Taken here by the family for my birthday. I know the area but never stayed in the hotel. We were all looked after superbly. The food is just excellent, likewise the staff. The roads to Appin are goid with brilliant views & a close proximity if heading North. V Many thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teamrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on their three night new year package. From start to finish we felt like we were treated like royalty. The food and multiple champagne receptions were exceptional, served by very friendly staff. We arrived on 30th to be served the most wonderful afternoon tea, with cream cakes sitting next to a roaring log fire, and immediately we felt at home. On 31st we partook of a ceilidh which was the most fantastic fun and fortunately there was a caller to help us along. Our fellow guests were equally such good fun and it was like one big house party which culminated in auld lang syne at the bells. The following day, brunch was superb and we enjoyed an afternoon sitting in the lounge talking to fellow guests with another afternoon tea! If that wasn't enough, that evening we had a black tie Gala dinner where the food was sublime. In other words a perfect end to a perfect break.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucyloo212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at Airds hotel on their Christmas package. We had the Loch View Suite - expensive at over £800 each but good value given the quality of the room, excellent food and comfortable lounges. Best of all is the flawless service from the staff, both local and from abroad. My wife liked large grand hotels but now says she is converted to small grand hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was my fourth visit to the Airds Hotel and once again a treat for all the senses.

I was welcomed by Pawel and shown to my room. A charming Superior room overlooking Loch Linnhe to the Morvern mountains beyond.

I relaxed in my room and waited in anticipation for my dinner which consisted of scallops with a celeriac puree, wild sea bass with braised fennel, pickled potatoes and hazelnut sponge with chocolate and clementine - outstanding combination of flavours in each of the courses, with the accompaniments lifting each of the main parts of the dish and this allows you gain an insight into the very competent kitchen team that are leading the dining experience behind the scenes.

The front of house team was lead by Graham and supported by another 2 waiters from Hungary - consummate professionals lead this gem of an establishment in a relaxed but professional manner - which is what makes a trip to the Airds so refreshing in a world that is so busy and so often overbearing.

You get a real sense of the priority of the owners, in the way that the team has been assembled and how the establishment so effortlessly runs, but the enormous effort that goes in behind the scenes to make this work so perfectly for all the guests who have the privilege to stay in this award winning property, in an outstanding area of the West Coast of Scotland.

I would place a trip to the Airds hotel on your must do list and take full advantage of the service they offer and their location.

I am already looking forward to my return trip in 2014.

Room Tip: Book more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glayva532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly placed overlooking some spectacular scenery. We have stayed here twice now and we found it to be very comfortable, the food is very very good as is the service. It is a great place to get away from it all. There are great walks locally and then you are not too far away from Oban and Fort William. We have spent 2 Christmases her now and it is so comfortable and leisurely. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The cottage is a great place if you want your own space. Well equipped kitchen ( not the we used it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
1.5 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
0.3 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
638 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
166 reviews
14.9 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
17.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range: £228 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airds Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in the romantic setting of the west coast of Scotland, is where personal service, luxury and a gourmet dining experience are the very essence of all that is great about a visit to this exclusive retreat. Whether you come for the beautiful views, fantastic seafood or romantic setting in luxurious surroundings you will not be disappointed.The atmosphere created is one of relaxed elegance where friendly staff are attentive & efficient yet not too formal. Our 11 bedrooms and suites are all uniquely designed to soothe your mind before enjoying a gourmet dinner in our romantic restaurant.Whether you are looking for something intimate and elegant or something a little more grand we have a bedroom to suit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Airds Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Hotel And Restaurant
Airds Hotel Appin
Airds Hotel & Restaurant Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing