We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

On arriving at Airds, we were given a warm welcome & our luggage was taken to the room, which was spacious & comfortable. We had coffee in the lovely garden overlooking the loch and watched small boats sailing by in the sunshine - very relaxing. Dinner was superb, with amuse-bouches & aperitifs, petits fours & coffee served in the comfortable lounge. At breakfast there was a good choice of freshly cooked food, all served at table, not buffet style. The staff members were all pleasant and eager to please in an understated way. The only (small) negative was the duvet, which was winter weight on a warm summer night. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. We will go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelynn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is in a wonderful spot with sweeping views of the loch. The service was fantastic and the food was far better than we expected it to be. The chef is wonderful and we enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. The food is incredibly well prepared and beautifully presented...this was our best meal in Scotland...and we toured quite a bit. Recommend the loch view rooms. We stayed in room 1 which was nice, but quite small, with low ceilings and with small windows. There are others with higher ceilings - do check before you book. Airds has a great country house feel and is very traditional, with excellent attention to detail. Great escape. Definitely want to complement the chef - lovely food!

Room Tip: Loch views and top floor. House is quite old and creaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

While trying to find somewhere to stay in Port Appin, we were directed to Airds, which is a hotel alongside the Loch. They had no vacancies and I felt we had a lucky escape, as the staff were haughty and unwelcoming with no warmth. It appeared to be a very elitist hotel which was quite sniffy about non residents, as they have no licence to serve them. This hotel is in stark contrast to other places in the area, so if this is your first port of call, do not be put off, there is better available.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Maytemby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My other half and I decided to treat ourselves at Christmas and were not disappointed. We stayed in what they class as a small standard room overlooking the loch. The room was very comfortable with a good sized bathroom. The food over the festive season was very good especially the afternoon tea which was as good as I have had in places in London. There are two relaxing lounges, both with open fires and plenty of books and games to keep you occupied if the weather is not too good The staff are very friendly and attentive and overall we had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay and hope to return in the not too distance future

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Myself and my wife managed to get a last minute booking to the Airds Hotel in Port Appin last Saturday, which turned out to be one of the most magical nights away we have had .
We were made to feel welcome upon arrival and nothing was too much for any of the staff.
We proceeded to have the afternoon tea, which was like starring in a luxurious episode of Man vs Food, every mouthful was a pure delight. This was followed by a stunning walk around Port Appin to make room for our evening meal.
From start to finish, a most memorable experience which we will return.
A special thank you to the young manager who left me with 2 bottles of Lager.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

if your looking for total luxury, wonderful food, picturesque scenery with amazing sunsets, then you wont be disappointed by what you get at the Airds Hotel. 11 bespoke bedrooms, you are made to feel as though it is your own home and the staff are probably some of the best we have ever met. We are back in October and can't wait.

Room Tip: ring the hotel and ask them, they also have a cottage you can rent as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wonderful, small hotel. Quiet, elegant, excellent personal service; beautifully placed in the northwest Scottich highlands, south of Oban. Food is excellent. It is a little out ot the way (good and bad).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
12.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
371 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
24.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range: £237 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airds Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in the romantic setting of the west coast of Scotland, is where personal service, luxury and a gourmet dining experience are the very essence of all that is great about a visit to this exclusive retreat. Whether you come for the beautiful views, fantastic seafood or romantic setting in luxurious surroundings you will not be disappointed.The atmosphere created is one of relaxed elegance where friendly staff are attentive & efficient yet not too formal. Our 11 bedrooms and suites are all uniquely designed to soothe your mind before enjoying a gourmet dinner in our romantic restaurant.Whether you are looking for something intimate and elegant or something a little more grand we have a bedroom to suit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Airds Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Hotel And Restaurant
Airds Hotel Appin
Airds Hotel & Restaurant Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing