We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE COTTAGE, AIRDS HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airds Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE COTTAGE, AIRDS HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our week in Bramble Cottage has been a sublime experience. The cottage is contemporary yet cosy, and it's facilities, including the integrated washing machine and large clothes rack, are so convenient for long stays away. We are Australians on an extended trip, and the cottage has become our second home, if only for a week. The functional bathroom with its walk-in shower, large bath and heated floors (essential for Highland summers), the extra bedroom for luggage storage, and the comfortable, light-filled and well-furnished living area provide a sense of complete relaxation. In a delightful setting. Our stay has been enhanced in the most wonderful,way by the staff, particularly Graeme, with his quiet humour and incredible local and historical knowledge, and the delightful Marketa, who has served our delicious breakfasts each morning, and our occasional dinner. Graham, Powell and Cath have also been welcoming and more than helpful. We found the extra package with daily breakfast, two dinners and two services of the cottage worked very well. We can only agree with other culinary reviews here of the 3-rosette restaurant. The food and wines are exquisite. We are already planning a future return to Bramble Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    41
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
50
315
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I don't normally leave trip advisor reviews but felt obliged to after having such a great stay at the Airds. My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend break and are already trying to find a date to return! It was exactly what we wanted- beautiful views and walks in the hills, delicious food with plenty of choice, a lovely room and the staff were nothing but helpful and friendly. I really can't fault the hotel in any way and so if you're thinking about a trip to the scottish highlands, I don't think you could go wrong with staying at the Airds!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELKElliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here with my father after our camping trip was disturbed by serious rain and could not have asked for a better alternative! The room was gorgeous and over looked the loch, some of the best views I've ever seen. The staff we're so attentive and lovely, nothing was a problem for them. Both my father and I work in the food and hospitality industry, so can be quite hard judges of service,but our meal at their restaurant was divine. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Thames
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is my second trip to the airds and their standards have improved on the excellence that was there before if that is possible! Food and accommodation were excellent as ever and even the sun came out which was a bonus, especially the amazing sunset from the well situated restaurant. We were also able to sit outside in the garden one afternoon and enjoy a lovely cream tea before having a walk to make room for dinner! Look forward to our next trip back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbianblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our last stop on a South to North UK driving tour. We drove in from Edinburgh (about 3 hours) and the scenery is spectacular. It is difficult to drive and enjoy the beauty at the same time because the roads are narrow ad twisty. The Airds is a little of the beaten track which is one of the things we loved about it. The setting is beautiful and our hotel room was very clean and well appointed. While I do not consider us to be foodies, I have to tell you that dinner at the Airds (included with room) is one of the best meals we had during our visit to the UK. This was our first trip to the Scottish Highlands, but we will go back, and we will stay at the Airds. If driving to/from Glasgow, allow 2-1/2 hours. Once again the roads are narrow and there is road construction in progress.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We only normally get to go away once a year due to other commitments and Port Appin and the Airds is always our destination and hotel of choice mainly because it is so relaxing and in such a stunning location where we have never found better. The peace and quiet even in the summer is what is so important and the ability to do things direct from the hotel is a bonus as once you arrive it is nice not to have to get back in a car. The walks from the hotel are lovely and it is nice to be able to walk on the shoreline of the loch. This year we also took a boat trip as a new service has started from the pier at the bottom of the road and it was extremely enjoyable and again relaxing and this year we actually learnt quite a lot about the history of the area which was informative. We also look a bike over to the island of Lismore for the day and stopped at their visitor centre. There is also a small shop where you can get something to eat and a drink if you want.

The food and service was as usual impeccable and they really know how to do ‘attention to detail’ The food was the best we have eaten there and what is good is that there is a very good choice of dishes so you never get bored. We stayed in one of their newly refurbished rooms which is bright, modern and very well equipped (had not booked early enough this year to get a loch view!). Will return again next year as this really is a very magical spot where they get everything right.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I took Mum here for three nights at the end of July, beginning of August. I had stumbled across it when looking for a good hotel to stay in, in the Oban area. It looked lovely from the website and had great reviews on Trip Advisor and my, it didn't disappoint! The setting is spectacular, overlooking the water and the gardens are beautifully maintained. We had booked the master suite and it was great for my mum who is in her 80s as it had a massive walk in shower and a separate lounge. We also had a balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel which was a wee sun trap in the late afternoon. The room was lovely and very well appointed. The turn down service at night was very efficient too. The food is glorious and well worth its three rosette rating. Staff were quick to pick up on the fact that mum doesn't like fish and the next night chef had altered her canapés so they didn't include fish and put another couple of dishes on the menu to give her more choice. The service was excellent, faultless in fact. All staff were very knowledgable, welcoming and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was a happy one. Special mention to young Stan who looked after my mum so well. Staying at this hotel is not cheap, but it is worth every penny. I would definitely recommend it and can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.5 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
14.9 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
24.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
10.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Port Appin PA38 4DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Airds Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in the romantic setting of the west coast of Scotland, is where personal service, luxury and a gourmet dining experience are the very essence of all that is great about a visit to this exclusive retreat. Whether you come for the beautiful views, fantastic seafood or romantic setting in luxurious surroundings you will not be disappointed.The atmosphere created is one of relaxed elegance where friendly staff are attentive & efficient yet not too formal. Our 11 bedrooms and suites are all uniquely designed to soothe your mind before enjoying a gourmet dinner in our romantic restaurant.Whether you are looking for something intimate and elegant or something a little more grand we have a bedroom to suit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Airds Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Hotel And Restaurant
Airds Hotel Appin
Airds Hotel & Restaurant Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing