We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant New Year 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Pierhouse hotel is a small, intimate and very comfortable hotel. The owners Nick and Nickki are lovely and the staff are friendly and always helpful. The food specialty is sea food and it is second to none! All the food is local and very tasty, although if you like there are alternatives to fish. Myself and my husband went for the New Year package which comprises of 3 nights, dinner bed, breakfast, piper, ceilidh and fireworks what a fab time we had - I might add that we have now been twice to the hotel for the New Year package and had a fantastic time both times! I would recommend this hotel to any couple who would like to get a way for a break whether it be after a busy Christmas or any other time of year. Lots to see and do in the area but it is also recommended to have a car to allow you to get around the this beautiful part of Scotland.

Room Tip: Just have a look on their website, the rooms i believe are all comfortably appointed, but the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koiforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review which is hugely appreciated. Nikki and I are very grateful for your lovely comments and endeavour to maintain consistently high standards thanks in no small measure to our superb team of staff. We will look forward to hopefully having you back with us again sometime soon if not for another Hogmanay! With best wishes Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Many hotels and restaurants just do not live up to their hype. What a pleasant surprise to find that on this occasion the real thing outshone the hype. The Pierhouse has a picturesque and secluded setting down a single track road opposite the small passenger ferry to lismore, It has a super restaurant, an intimate, relaxed and informal feeling. From the minute we arrived we felt welcome and valued -easy to say harder to do. But... do not be fooled despite the genuine welcome from ALL the staff this operation runs efficiently from breakfast to late at night. The restaurant served lovely seafood - the mussels were absolutely outstanding (though there are good options for the non seafoodies). I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will do so incessantly.

Room Tip: Pay a touch more for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

It is always extremely gratifying to receive such complimentary reviews from guests who understand the complexities of running an establishment such as ours. It is also hugely appreciated to know that we are heading the right direction and reaching the mark in producing the level of quality of service which we continually strive to achieve. So thank you, and we very much hope you will come and see us again sometime soon. Kind regards NIck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the pier house hotel back in April of this year. Charming little hotel. Fantastic views. Very attentive staff. Cosy atmosphere. Loved it so much we extended our stay for a third night. We dined in the restaurant all three of the evenings and each night the food was delicious! Great variety of seafood and also THE best sticky toffee pudding I have ever tasted... Yet to find one even close to beating it! Planning a return trip next year. Would definitely recommend a loch view room... Def worth the money!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BurnBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A one night stay - room was not large - but here it is all about the location, the view, the food and the service. All of these were superb. Dinner was a lovely occasion - the weather was clear - the outlook breathtaking. It was obvious that a number of diners were regulars. Breakfast was excellent and we were able to be on our way. Service was very personalised, more akin to a B&B - very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our visit to the Pierhouse at Port Appin was absolutely delightful. The staff, the service and the room quality was excellent. The quality of the menu, the food itself was superb in the restaurant.

We also had booked a Massage Therapy Treatment session which was exquisite, done by Tamsin, who was very knowledgable and spent time explaining the treatment which we found helpful and interesting.

Thoroughly recommend it for a romantic break for two.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at the Pierhouse Hotel August 2013. We had a little trouble finding it, but once we got there, at the end of a narrow road, we were thrilled. We were very happy about the room we had, overlooking the water. We arrived in time for lunch and had a light lunch. It was very good. We had only one night there but would have loved to have stayed for a week. The dinner was fabulous featuring local fare. The langoustines were excellent. The dining area overlooked the water and we were there as the sun set. It was a clear evening-- a bonus on the Scottish coast.

The room was wonderfully appointed and very comfortable.

We were sad we could only stay for one night.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_and_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

On a recent visit to kimelford we stopped at the Hotel for a seafood lunch .
We chose the seafood platter, really good value and excellent food.
Wonderful views, very quiet , lovely spot.
Friendly staff.
Views of Lismore breathtaking.
We took a card and made sure it was given a first class review at our welcome meeting

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rolybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
537 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
12.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
912 reviews
10 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
10.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range: £107 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing