We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch, great scallops!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, great scallops!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We went as a family today for lunch, a group of 6 adults and 2 children so there was plenty of chance to sample a selection of the menu.

The scallops with Stornaway black pudding was delicious. I unfortunately did not order this, I had the salmon starter, which was nice although the hot smoked salmon was slightly dry.

The seafood platter for main was huge! The muscles had an interesting smoked flavour, slightly too strong, but overall a nice main.

We will be coming back again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for your very nice review about our food and I am very pleased you enjoyed our Seafood Platter which is one of our main signature dishes. We will look forward to hopefully seeing you again when you are next over from Nigeria. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    107
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
87
432
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for four nights. We noticed differences depending on which manager was on duty, but overall we had a really nice stay. Because we were there for a few days we were able to reserve one of the tables in the bar with a huge picture window looking right over the jetty and out to Lismore island. We were rewarded with several stunning sunsets that had to be seen to be believed! The food was really good and the staff were friendly and mostly helpful. The midges were the only problem but that's hardly the hotel's fault! (Though see below - air con would help.)

Room Tip: The midges were particularly rampant so if you want to breathe at night you have to choose between a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are extremely fortunate with our lovely location and I am glad you were able to enjoy the views over to Lismore and some stunning sunsets. It is always nice to know that the food is "really good" and that the staff were "friendly and most helpful". Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was the most unexpected location I had visited. It was just beautiful place and so quite that I would have loved to stay for a day more but it was not possible. The people here are very good and co operative and go out of the way to help us. The breakfast was great too. Would surely recomend a friend to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It is always nice to read reviews about the beauty of this wonderful place within which we are most fortunate to live. I am delighted we looked after you well and will look forward to your next visit from Dubai. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Pierhouse Hotel is almost perfect! Great position overlooking the ferry to Lismore with Morven beyond. Comfortable stylish rooms, friendly, helpful staff and superb home cooked meals and fresh, local sea food.
Only problem - apart from the distance from Oxford - the shower heads! Chosen for style and design but NOT very practical!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonicPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review and wonderful comments. It would be great to convert "Almost perfect" to "perfect" so will consider your suggestion with interest! We will hope to see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As we both slept and ate here, I wasn't sure which entity to list this review under, but as I was so impressed with the bit of heaven this hotel provided, this deserved to be recognized. It is located at the very end of the road and you actually park your car on a bit of beach. Our room faced the sea and not even the gray rainy skies could dampen the views. The rooms are comfortable and clean with amenities. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The restaurant, a place where locals fill many of the tables, was excellent. The quality of the seafood was the best during our 4 day tour through Scotland. This is one of our stops, I'd have no hesitation in repeating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ava0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We were particularly pleased to read that of the places you visited you felt we had the best seafood in Scotland. That is a great accolade and we very much look forward to seeing you again in hopefully the not too distant future. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here in early May, sadly for only one night, but had a really wonderful time. The view from the Pierhouse is beautiful, our room overlooking the sea was incredibly comfortable and quiet. We ate in the restaurant and would thoroughly recommend the seafood plate which not only looked fantastic but tasted it as well. Breakfast was really good and the staff and owner totally delightful and helpful. There are plenty of comfortable areas to sit in, enjoy the fire, read a book etc if the weather is bad and we were directed on a very pretty walk around the peninsula which we loved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Pierhouse. Our Seafood Platter is one of our main signature dishes and extremely popular so we very much hope you will come back for another one in the not too distant future! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I'd like to give it better than 3 stars, but not as much as 4 (I wish TripAdvisor would allow me to do 3-1/2!). We stayed for 2 nights at the Pierhouse recently. Its remote setting right on the water is beautiful and peaceful. And its proximity both to the hiking around Fort William about 40 minutes to the north and to Oban about 30 minutes to the south was appealing to us.

The restaurant is very good--we enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners very much and recommend the food highly. Had we been there more than 2 nights, we might have elected to dine at the nearby Airds Hotel (Relais & Chateaux) once or twice, but we were not in any way disappointed with our meals at the Pierhouse.

The hotel itself is basic, and our room was a disappointment--and it wasn't cheap. While very clean, it was tiny. Granted we had to take what we could get because by the time we called (about 6 weeks before our trip) to make a reservation the only thing left was a standard room (no superior rooms), but it was surprisingly tight. And the bathroom was miniscule and the bed uncomfortable. An additional downside is that there is no lobby or lounge that you can go to after hours if you are feeling claustrophobic in your room. One night my boyfriend couldn't sleep and he went down to the lounge to read (so as not to wake me), but it was locked so he just had to come back up to the room--there was nowhere else to go.

Staff was accommodating and friendly, but not overly solicitous.

There are many people who return here year after year. We met three couples during our stay who do just that. And that speaks highly of the property and the management. Perhaps if we had had a better room we would feel different. I can recommend the Pierhouse but with the caveat that you should be willing to accept a very basic room in exchange for very good food and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed our food and that you would recommend The Pierhouse. We are always delighted when guests say that they will recommend us to other people so thank you very much for that. I do have some issue over the caveat you mention regarding your bedroom and am disappointed you felt the room was basic. I humbly suggest that your comments regarding space and sizes of rooms is relative to each property and the description and photos on our website are representative of the product we are offering. That aside we always welcome feedback and I do hope we might see you again sometime in the future. Regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
10.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
871 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Property: The Pierhouse Hotel
Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing