We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussels to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The drive down to the hotel is via a long shoreline road with lovely views of the Loch and Castle Stalker. Lots of cars on the side of the road, but we managed to park in the hotel car park. We were met by Nick and shown to a lovely king size room with views over the pier and loch. We had eaten here previously and knew this place was good. On this occasion my wife was struggling to find something she wanted to eat, though it may have been possible to select from the day time menu as well as the evening one. My wife selected crab balls and mini fish cakes as the starter. The crab balls were excellent and full of flavour whilst the mini fish cakes were so small they were all crust and little inside, which took away from the flavour. I had the mussels and Inverary smoked salmon in white wine and cream, which was every bit as good as I remembered it from last time a year ago. My wife had the same as her main course and equally enjoyed it. I pushed the boat out and had a whole lobster which was devine. Service is excellent and relaxed. We took the opportunity for a stroll down the pier before returning for a cheese course.

Room Tip: King size Loch View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter59Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your detailed review with excellent title of "Mussels to die for"! The mussels come straight out of Loch Linnhe and are almost always really plump and tasty. The combination of the mussels and a little Inverawe smoked salmon in a white wine and cream sauce is one of our signature dishes and extremely popular. I will hope to see you again next time you visit from Bristol. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went as a family today for lunch, a group of 6 adults and 2 children so there was plenty of chance to sample a selection of the menu.

The scallops with Stornaway black pudding was delicious. I unfortunately did not order this, I had the salmon starter, which was nice although the hot smoked salmon was slightly dry.

The seafood platter for main was huge! The muscles had an interesting smoked flavour, slightly too strong, but overall a nice main.

We will be coming back again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your very nice review about our food and I am very pleased you enjoyed our Seafood Platter which is one of our main signature dishes. We will look forward to hopefully seeing you again when you are next over from Nigeria. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for four nights. We noticed differences depending on which manager was on duty, but overall we had a really nice stay. Because we were there for a few days we were able to reserve one of the tables in the bar with a huge picture window looking right over the jetty and out to Lismore island. We were rewarded with several stunning sunsets that had to be seen to be believed! The food was really good and the staff were friendly and mostly helpful. The midges were the only problem but that's hardly the hotel's fault! (Though see below - air con would help.)

Room Tip: The midges were particularly rampant so if you want to breathe at night you have to choose between a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are extremely fortunate with our lovely location and I am glad you were able to enjoy the views over to Lismore and some stunning sunsets. It is always nice to know that the food is "really good" and that the staff were "friendly and most helpful". Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was the most unexpected location I had visited. It was just beautiful place and so quite that I would have loved to stay for a day more but it was not possible. The people here are very good and co operative and go out of the way to help us. The breakfast was great too. Would surely recomend a friend to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

It is always nice to read reviews about the beauty of this wonderful place within which we are most fortunate to live. I am delighted we looked after you well and will look forward to your next visit from Dubai. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Pierhouse Hotel is almost perfect! Great position overlooking the ferry to Lismore with Morven beyond. Comfortable stylish rooms, friendly, helpful staff and superb home cooked meals and fresh, local sea food.
Only problem - apart from the distance from Oxford - the shower heads! Chosen for style and design but NOT very practical!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonicPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review and wonderful comments. It would be great to convert "Almost perfect" to "perfect" so will consider your suggestion with interest! We will hope to see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As we both slept and ate here, I wasn't sure which entity to list this review under, but as I was so impressed with the bit of heaven this hotel provided, this deserved to be recognized. It is located at the very end of the road and you actually park your car on a bit of beach. Our room faced the sea and not even the gray rainy skies could dampen the views. The rooms are comfortable and clean with amenities. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The restaurant, a place where locals fill many of the tables, was excellent. The quality of the seafood was the best during our 4 day tour through Scotland. This is one of our stops, I'd have no hesitation in repeating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ava0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We were particularly pleased to read that of the places you visited you felt we had the best seafood in Scotland. That is a great accolade and we very much look forward to seeing you again in hopefully the not too distant future. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here in early May, sadly for only one night, but had a really wonderful time. The view from the Pierhouse is beautiful, our room overlooking the sea was incredibly comfortable and quiet. We ate in the restaurant and would thoroughly recommend the seafood plate which not only looked fantastic but tasted it as well. Breakfast was really good and the staff and owner totally delightful and helpful. There are plenty of comfortable areas to sit in, enjoy the fire, read a book etc if the weather is bad and we were directed on a very pretty walk around the peninsula which we loved.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Pierhouse. Our Seafood Platter is one of our main signature dishes and extremely popular so we very much hope you will come back for another one in the not too distant future! Best wishes Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
538 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
12.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
912 reviews
10 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
10.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range: £106 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing