We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Heaven”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place is a travellers's dream come true.
A dreamy location right on the beach with glorious wild sunsets.
A comfortable and welcoming bar which is patronised by locals...I'm not surprised!
An excellent bar menu for dinner and superb ( very treaty) restaurant. We enjoyed both.
The staff were charming and couldn't do enough for you.
Blissfully comfortable, scrupulously clean and contemporary rooms with excellent showers ( after five weeks travelling in Scotland to have showers which weren't over high sided baths was heaven).
We loved this place and certainly hope to return and would base ourselves here to explore and do day trips elsewhere.
My only hesitation in writing this review is that it might be more difficult to get a room next time!

Room Tip: If you want to have a view over the Loch ask for one of those rooms, but really you don't need i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I love the fact that you describe The Pierhouse as "Heaven", so many thanks indeed for your review. I am very pleased that you had good weather and enjoyed all our facilities. Amongst other things it is always especially gratifying to read nice remarks about our staff who are the single most important asset is this establishment. Until the next time you hopefully visit from Melbourne, best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    106
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
85
422
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Pierhouse in April this year, After travelling around Ireland and Scotland during the month we both felt very at home at The Pierhouse to come and go as we pleased.
Catherine went over and above with any of our silly requests from booking tours to serving our meals she is a credit to the property owners.
The meals were superb matched only by the stunning views, The rooms were quiet, comfortable clean and spacious what more could you ask for.
We will most definitely return there sometime in the future, loved our stay!

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Steveo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am extremely glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to make our guests feel at home and we will very much look forward to you returning here sometime in the future. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Flawless stay - perfect in every way, including even the weather! Highly recommend this place. Lovely rooms, truly exceptional views, outstanding customer service, and the food.........!
Large party of us booked 5 rooms for a surprise birthday stay - the hotel team couldn't have been more helpful right from the booking stage - got the feeling nothing would have been too much trouble. And sitting outside for drinks after arrival, the owner made a point of coming over to say hello, which was a nice touch.
Pay the extra for a sea view if you can - sensational views that seem to change every time you look up ( if you've been to plockton, it's a nice as there, which is the highest praise I can give).
And the food is as special as all other reviewers say it is. At £85 for two people I was expecting a lot from the grand seafood platter, but it well exceeded my expectations - best platter I've seen anywhere - even included a whole lobster - and it was huge. Tip - unless you have a huge appetite you don't need a starter with that - and I'm a bigger eater than most.
Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenjeanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
A "Perfect" review is a perfect compliment to receive! It is always fun to have a group of people come and stay who want to have fun and really enjoy themselves and it was great to see you all doing that. I am really pleased you enjoyed our food especially the Grand Platter which as you say is huge...And especially nice to hear it is "the best platter I've seen anywhere". A perfect compliment for a perfect review! We will look forward to hopefully seeing you all again sometime soon. Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We ate at this beautiful spot last year and promised ourselves a return trip with an overnight stay. We booked a sea view room and didn't regret this.

Our bed was enormous and we had the best nights sleep! Our meal was superb and breakfast too.

We hope to make this an annual event!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am delighted to hear your visits will be annual and we will look forward to seeing you in 2015! A super review, short , sharp and to the point! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The drive down to the hotel is via a long shoreline road with lovely views of the Loch and Castle Stalker. Lots of cars on the side of the road, but we managed to park in the hotel car park. We were met by Nick and shown to a lovely king size room with views over the pier and loch. We had eaten here previously and knew this place was good. On this occasion my wife was struggling to find something she wanted to eat, though it may have been possible to select from the day time menu as well as the evening one. My wife selected crab balls and mini fish cakes as the starter. The crab balls were excellent and full of flavour whilst the mini fish cakes were so small they were all crust and little inside, which took away from the flavour. I had the mussels and Inverary smoked salmon in white wine and cream, which was every bit as good as I remembered it from last time a year ago. My wife had the same as her main course and equally enjoyed it. I pushed the boat out and had a whole lobster which was devine. Service is excellent and relaxed. We took the opportunity for a stroll down the pier before returning for a cheese course.

Room Tip: King size Loch View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter59Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed review with excellent title of "Mussels to die for"! The mussels come straight out of Loch Linnhe and are almost always really plump and tasty. The combination of the mussels and a little Inverawe smoked salmon in a white wine and cream sauce is one of our signature dishes and extremely popular. I will hope to see you again next time you visit from Bristol. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We went as a family today for lunch, a group of 6 adults and 2 children so there was plenty of chance to sample a selection of the menu.

The scallops with Stornaway black pudding was delicious. I unfortunately did not order this, I had the salmon starter, which was nice although the hot smoked salmon was slightly dry.

The seafood platter for main was huge! The muscles had an interesting smoked flavour, slightly too strong, but overall a nice main.

We will be coming back again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for your very nice review about our food and I am very pleased you enjoyed our Seafood Platter which is one of our main signature dishes. We will look forward to hopefully seeing you again when you are next over from Nigeria. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for four nights. We noticed differences depending on which manager was on duty, but overall we had a really nice stay. Because we were there for a few days we were able to reserve one of the tables in the bar with a huge picture window looking right over the jetty and out to Lismore island. We were rewarded with several stunning sunsets that had to be seen to be believed! The food was really good and the staff were friendly and mostly helpful. The midges were the only problem but that's hardly the hotel's fault! (Though see below - air con would help.)

Room Tip: The midges were particularly rampant so if you want to breathe at night you have to choose between a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are extremely fortunate with our lovely location and I am glad you were able to enjoy the views over to Lismore and some stunning sunsets. It is always nice to know that the food is "really good" and that the staff were "friendly and most helpful". Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
10.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
12.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Property: The Pierhouse Hotel
Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing