We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and lovely large bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pierhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent location and lovely large bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This location is opposite isle of lismore and is so quiet on the edge of the loch. Room slightly disappointing, in that aside from large comfy bed, the shower was weak and I think I expected more for my money.

We ate in the restaurant in evening and food very good and is a must if staying over.

Room Tip: Ask to oversee lismore
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your review and I very glad to read that you liked the large, comfy bed and that the food was very good. I was however disappointed to see that you say the shower was weak because this is extremely unusual and normally the 'shower' comments are completely the opposite. In fact, like 'Niagara Falls' is not unusual so I am very perplexed by this comment and disappointed that you did not receive the 'fully shower experience'. Nonetheless I hope we will see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    103
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
82
409
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Decided to take my wife here for a special birthday. I wanted it to be special and special it was. Fantastic location, beautiful bedroom and great food. The a la carte menu is limited, there are only two non sea food mains, but all the dishes we had for our two dinners there were beautifully cooked and presented. Staff were friendly and efficient. I had asked for a birthday cake to have after dinner on our second night and this duly appeared complete with candles. We shared it with our fellow guests.
Well done Pierhouse!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Many thanks for your really nice review and I am extremely pleased we made your 'special occasion' - 'special'. I very much hope we will see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

During our holiday we went to this nice hotel/restaurant before we took the ferry to visit Lismore to have lunch. The service was very quick and good and the food reasonably priced and very tasty! We stayed a bit longer that expected on Lismore so we decided also to have dinner here! Definitely a good choice! Especially the fish pie was very tasty! We will definitely return to this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nynke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are most grateful for your very complimentary review and are very pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us. Our fish pie is legendary and is one of our most popular bar food dishes. I hope we will have the pleasure of a return visit at some stage. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, lovely wee place. Very quite which is what we like. Room nice,very clean and fresh.
Food was lovely as was the nice selection of wines had a lovely rose'
Breakfast exceptional, asked to have it in room one morning so we could chill and this was done without any fuss and much appreciated.
Wee gem, surprised though that everyone in bed so early !! We're last 2 in bar at 10 on a Saturday night but sat outside and enjoyed the view ,would definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your really nice review and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will always try and go out of our way to satisfy all our guests requests and I am very pleased we were able to serve you breakfast in bed. Regarding being the last ones out of the bar at 10 pm I can only say that this is most unusual!! I hope we will see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Gorgeous meal yesterday at the Ferry Bar in the Pierhouse. Views to die for and my 9 year old was in and out to the beach whislt we enjoyed a drink. Food was amazing, I had the mussels and my husband and daughter had the fish and chips, all fantastically fresh and tasty. My daughter had the sticky toffee pudding which was also divine. If I have one small gripe, it was that when my young daughter was handed the pudding the waitress said something like 'and here is a smaller plate of the sticky toffee pudding' which I thought was great as only ice cream had featured on the kids menu. However, we were still charged the full £5.95 for the pudding, so I don't know if it was in fact a smaller portion and we were over charged or just the normal portion and therefore full price. Anyway, a small mix up. Looking forward to my return visit in the spring!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkmermaidpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for your nice review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. I apologise for the miss-understanding over the Sticky toffee pudding which only comes in one size and at one price. You were not overcharged but the portion size should have been very similar and if it was not then I am sorry. I have ensured our waiting staff are aware of this detail but apologise that this was incorrectly communicated. I will look forward to your next visit and am sure we can sort you out with a sticky toffee pudding! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Personal small hotel, cosy and warm.
Restaurant serves the local and finest seafood from the waters outside the hotel. Fantastic seafood classics. Although my husband ate all seafood options, I'm a vegetarian and the chef asked me they will cook anything I like. Perfect.
Staff kind and friendly.
Great for bird watchers as rear view rooms have bird feeders outside the window.

Room Tip: As per review
See more room tips
Green Features: Notices in bathrooms on towel polices. Breakfast is not a buffet style.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Your review is 'music to my ears'!. I am delighted your husband enjoyed his seafood so much and also that we were able to prepare a special vegetarian dish just for you. We will always try to cater for all our guests needs and I extremely pleased you were happy with the result. We will very much hope to see you again sometime. Until then, kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel twice in two years, a must visit if only to park the car on the beach and eat in the award-winning seafood restaurant. Also take the time to visit the wee island of Lismore across the water, only a seven minute crossing on the ferry boat.

Room Tip: Front facing room, great views
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing to much bother for any of the staff. Very friendly hotel and local people very courteous. Great localy sourced food.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for your great recommendation. it is much appreciated! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
10.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
15.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Property: The Pierhouse Hotel
Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing