We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pierhouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$496
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$167
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$180
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
484
117
35
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
117
35
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood platterlismore islandlangoustinespier houseloch linnhesea foodcullen skinkpassenger ferrycastle stalkerbird feederssmall hotelsmoked salmonexcellent seafoodstunning locationcliff facingbar mealslocal seafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This location is opposite isle of lismore and is so quiet on the edge of the loch. Room slightly disappointing, in that aside from large comfy bed, the shower was weak and I think I expected more for my money.

We ate in the restaurant in evening and food very good and is a must if staying over.

Room Tip: Ask to oversee lismore
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review and I very glad to read that you liked the large, comfy bed and that the food was very good. I was however disappointed to see that you say the shower was weak because this is extremely unusual and normally the 'shower' comments are completely the opposite. In fact, like 'Niagara Falls' is not unusual so I am very perplexed by this comment and disappointed that you did not receive the 'fully shower experience'. Nonetheless I hope we will see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Decided to take my wife here for a special birthday. I wanted it to be special and special it was. Fantastic location, beautiful bedroom and great food. The a la carte menu is limited, there are only two non sea food mains, but all the dishes we had for our two dinners there were beautifully cooked and presented. Staff were friendly and efficient. I had asked for a birthday cake to have after dinner on our second night and this duly appeared complete with candles. We shared it with our fellow guests.
Well done Pierhouse!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Many thanks for your really nice review and I am extremely pleased we made your 'special occasion' - 'special'. I very much hope we will see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

During our holiday we went to this nice hotel/restaurant before we took the ferry to visit Lismore to have lunch. The service was very quick and good and the food reasonably priced and very tasty! We stayed a bit longer that expected on Lismore so we decided also to have dinner here! Definitely a good choice! Especially the fish pie was very tasty! We will definitely return to this place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nynke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

We are most grateful for your very complimentary review and are very pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us. Our fish pie is legendary and is one of our most popular bar food dishes. I hope we will have the pleasure of a return visit at some stage. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights, lovely wee place. Very quite which is what we like. Room nice,very clean and fresh.
Food was lovely as was the nice selection of wines had a lovely rose'
Breakfast exceptional, asked to have it in room one morning so we could chill and this was done without any fuss and much appreciated.
Wee gem, surprised though that everyone in bed so early !! We're last 2 in bar at 10 on a Saturday night but sat outside and enjoyed the view ,would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your really nice review and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will always try and go out of our way to satisfy all our guests requests and I am very pleased we were able to serve you breakfast in bed. Regarding being the last ones out of the bar at 10 pm I can only say that this is most unusual!! I hope we will see you again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Gorgeous meal yesterday at the Ferry Bar in the Pierhouse. Views to die for and my 9 year old was in and out to the beach whislt we enjoyed a drink. Food was amazing, I had the mussels and my husband and daughter had the fish and chips, all fantastically fresh and tasty. My daughter had the sticky toffee pudding which was also divine. If I have one small gripe, it was that when my young daughter was handed the pudding the waitress said something like 'and here is a smaller plate of the sticky toffee pudding' which I thought was great as only ice cream had featured on the kids menu. However, we were still charged the full £5.95 for the pudding, so I don't know if it was in fact a smaller portion and we were over charged or just the normal portion and therefore full price. Anyway, a small mix up. Looking forward to my return visit in the spring!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank pinkmermaidpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Many thanks for your nice review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. I apologise for the miss-understanding over the Sticky toffee pudding which only comes in one size and at one price. You were not overcharged but the portion size should have been very similar and if it was not then I am sorry. I have ensured our waiting staff are aware of this detail but apologise that this was incorrectly communicated. I will look forward to your next visit and am sure we can sort you out with a sticky toffee pudding! Kind regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews