We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb pet friendly holiday let”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porthcawl, Bridgend County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lcewhite
south Wales UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb pet friendly holiday let”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here with our 2 large dogs and It was superb. Tony the owner was very welcoming and the property had everything we needed to enjoy our short stay. The enclosed garden with washing line, hose pipe and secure outbuilding with a shower, washing machine and tumble drier made it such an easy place to stay with dogs. The phone signal was good and wifi was available.

The cottage was immaculate and very little noise from the kennels to the rear of the property.

We know the area very well and it was a fantastic base to walk the local beaches and Afan forest. We would definitely recommend this holiday let and look forward to our next stay,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure dog friendly property
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments and your booking with Best of Wales. Tony is a great host and so pleased that you and your pets have a great time. Being so close to the beaches there are great walks along the Coastal Path and lots of local attractions to visit such as Cardiff Bay and the Museum of Welsh Life at St Fagan's. The Afan Forest provides some great cycling and walking.
The cottage itself is well equipped and offers all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay.

Be great to welcome you back again very soon
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LW1000
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful bungalow, welcoming hosts and a secure garden for dogs and children - superb!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The bungalow was beautifully clean and very comfortable with an area of fenced off decking out the back. The property was great for my elderly Dad with a walk in shower etc. The dog could wander around safely outside. The hosts were friendly and helpful. People drove past every now and then to get to the kennels and there was some very occasional dog but no real difference to having our own dog. The property is on a country lane with a beautiful view of the hills behind, only a short drive (5mins) from the beach and local shops. Absolutely superb week - really hope to stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Prest...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern, light, airy, peaceful, dog & child friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed with my sister and her young son and dog. Great welcome. So peaceful. Loved the modern light and airy feel. Skylights gave lots of extra light. Although small we didn't feel cramped in any way. The single beds are advertised as child size but if you are a small adult they are fine. All beds were comfortable. There is a very useful separate wet room with shower, washing machine and tumble dryer. Great for coming back from the beach or dog walk, can clean up before going into the bungalow. There is also an outside tap and clothes line. Also decking with garden furniture and the whole site is secure so is safe for children and dogs. If you don't want to take your dog out with you, you can make use of the kennels where it will be well looked after at no extra charge. We put £13 into the electric meter - we cooked for ourselves all week, used the washing machine twice as a guide. The dog friendly beach is close by. We didn't walk to it but it is doable. Parking for £3 per day or some on road available. Volunteer life guards at weekends, not sure if only summer months. The beach is huge specially at low tide, you can walk for miles. Plenty of decent sand and also some sinky sand, rocks, stones and some weed. Café at one of the seafront cafes, ice cream van in the afternoon also selling tea and coffee. could be summer only? No toilets. Without the dog Coney beach with fun fair is very good or our favourite Rest Bay just beyond Porthcawl, miles of sand at low tide, life guard, car park, café and toilets. Popular with surfers. We also spent a great day at Wiggleys Fun Farm just a few miles away. Enjoy your visit. :o)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and dog friendly
Liked least: The narrow bendy lane, personally didn't feel safe to walk along but plenty of people do.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariantc
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in fabulous location. A real home from home for us and our dog.”
Reviewed 30 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for a long weekend in order to visit my cousin in Porthcawl. We were so pleased with the property. The standard of accommodation and facilities are first class. Everything you could need is there. It was for us a real 'home from home'. Because we always travel with our beloved dog we were very pleased that it was dog friendly and for us a bonus to have the dog kennels nearby. Often when we go on holiday with our dog there are lots of 'dos' and 'don'ts' which make it quite stressful. The owners were so friendly, leaving cake, biscuits and fresh milk for us. The beach was only a short drive away [we are disabled and cannot walk far] and our dog ran and ran until she tired herself out.Quite honestly I was sad that we had only booked a short stay and we hope to return again for a longer period of time. PS We thought the price we paid was very very reasonable.Thanks Bwythyn T'n Cae.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds and sofa and chairs.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AceGolfer...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dog friendly at its best”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A very comfortable self catering cottage next to the owners House which is recently built and very comfortable. Although close to the owners property we were left in peace. Easy walk to the beach and sand dunes as well as a good touring location to explore the Gower Coast which was fantastic.
We will go again as it is close to Royal Porthcawl and Pyle & Kenfig Golf Courses as well as The Grove.
If you have more than one dog it is not a problem as the owners dog kennel business is 100 yards away - we were not disturbed by this in any way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slighlty small bedroom owing to Planning consent
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boroughbridge
Reviewed 21 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brynithel
Reviewed 5 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing