We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Olivia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivia House
Ranked #1 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We recently visited Porthcawl for a wedding. Olivia House was recommended to us by the bride and it certainly didn't disappoint! Annette welcomed us warmly when we arrived and that hospitality did not stop, nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable, breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of it even for the biggest appetite. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muntjac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    20
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
63
119
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a wedding so saw a few of the rooms. ( we stayed in Kings Room) Each were decorated with its own individual style. Annette the owner was very welcoming and couldn't ask for more! Breakfast was great served at 10 which was great as we had a late night the night before! Also with endless coffee. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Kings room and balcony room are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location just off the sea front. The Olivia bed and breakfast is a very individual with it unusual decor. Breakfast was good, Annette is very friendly would recommed it to others and would stay here again. Several good pubs near and places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wales18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What a beautiful place to stay, and the breakfast was amazing.
We only stayed one night but we will be back, probably the nicest bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Annette was a perfect host and the attention to detail was fantastic. The bedroom was a revelation (Kings Room) and the bed was unbelievably comfortable

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneJ497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We feel very priveledged to have found this lovely boutique bed and breakfast in Porthcawl. This will be the only place I will stay in Porthcawl in the future.

We stayed in the Kings room with its lovely big bed and had a great night's sleep.

I love the decor of Olivia House, it is very individual and baroque. The dining room is exquisite and a pleasure to eat breakfast in (by candlelight as well). Annette the host is charming and even gave us a lift in her car to the premises where we were attending a function in the evening.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and Annette went out of her way to accommodate me as I don't eat bacon or sausage and she gave me some lovely smoked salmon instead.

You don't feel as if you are staying in a hotel/bed and breafast but rather that you are a private guest.

I won't hesitate to recommend Olivia House to anyone staying in Porthcawl. We also think that the price is extremely reasonable for what you actually get.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Before we even arrived at Olivia House, Annette, the owner contacted us incase we were lost and was on the doorstep to welcome us- this was 8pm. Happy and warm, we immediately felt we had known her forever.

In showing us to our room (The Angel Rooms), Annette was thorough in her hosting, guiding us around the facilities, urging us to use the sitting room and not feel confined to the bedroom and familiarising us with the features of our room- but efficient enough to leave us to become acquainted with what was an elegant, warm, charming, delightful chambre; it was more than just a room. The elegant, yet masterful bed and the beautiful armoire that was complimented by the soft hue given from the chic lamps was more than we could have hoped for. The bathroom, which was next door, but exclusive for our use, had a jacuzzi bath, accented with fragrant candles and an array of relaxing bubble baths to soak and bubble in.

The location was perfect, just off the sea-front, one hop would land you on a bench looking out over the water. If you are holidaying with a lover, you could lose yourself in a Cathy-come-Heathcliff sense of romance and love! This is set against the beautiful backdrop of Olivia House.

Annette's breakfasts were bountiful and delicious; served promptly and with joy. Toast, jam, fresh coffee, Earl Grey tea, orange juice and a cooked breakfast. The service that accompanied its delivery would allow you to believe you were private guests at a friend's splendid manor; not customers at a fully booked B&B.

We stayed for two nights but would have happily stayed forever. On leaving, we felt as though we were leaving an old friend; we will certainly be returning.

Olivia House is a special place and Annette is a divine woman.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just had a very enjoyable stay an Olivia House, we stayed in the King Room, which was amazing and my daughter and her friend stayed in the Gemini Room, their reaction on seeing the room was "Wow and its amazing"! Breakfast was great and really set us up for the day. Elliott the cat was very friendly and very clearly enjoys his food as much as we did! Annette was very friendly and made us feel really welcome. Would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Portcawl. Michelle, Ian , Alicia and Georgie from Essex.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porthcawl hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
19 Mary Street
19 Mary Street
#8 of 20 in Porthcawl
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Property: Olivia House
Address: 44 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olivia House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olivia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing