We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer elegance and comfort with a delightful ambience: OH!”
Review of Olivia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivia House
Ranked #1 of 21 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you're looking for a luxurious stay with a delightful ambience, then this is the place for you. Step inside Olivia House and you enter into a world of sheer comfort and elegance. The owner, Annette de Graaf makes you feel at home instantly and has added all the finishing touches to her superbly appointed rooms. From her tastefully furnished lounge with its large sink-into sofas to her thoughtfully planned out theme-bedrooms, you'll want for nothing. Enjoy a scrumptiously tasty full Welsh breakfast with it's unprecedented stunning presentation in a simply gorgeous dining area amidst the relaxed atmosphere. You cannot wish for any more comfort than Olivia House.
We stayed here on our Wedding night and have another night booked in September. Very much the best Bed and Breakfast in Porthcawl and in a lot of other resorts - give yourselves a special treat! This is a jewel in the crown.
And, as many have said before, location is everything and this couldn't be any closer to the sea front and local amenities.
A must book now!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kings Room with ensuite shower. A beautifully appointed bedroom with all the finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucketandspade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

just arrived home after 1 night stay me my wife and son loved the rooms and the warm welcome 2 min walk to beach 10 min walk to all main attractions,the rooms were clean and comfortable an eye for detail i must say,oh!and the breakfast was lovelly,will recommend to freinds and family and will stay again in near future,thanks annette for being such a good hostess.

Room Tip: we stayed in french room cosy clean and excellent decor as was the gemini room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne1970-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at Olivia House for one night last weekend and have to be totally honest it was great, clean rooms with excellent welcome and delicious breackfast!! Would recommend to anyone, definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

First of all the location is perfect, just 2 min from the beach and main restaurants. We stayed in the king's room, very cosy room, the bed was so comfortable and everything was very clean. We had a problem with the room's door and they sort it out straigh away. The decoration of the whole house is amazing. Annette welcomed us and she was very helpful. I will definitely come back to this place and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahuampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and i stayed at Olivia House last weekend for the wedding of our Daughter, we stayed in the angel room on the 1st evening and the french room on the 2nd, both rooms were spotlessly clean and more than cosy or homely, great attention to detail.Annette is a superb hostess the food was amazing, i am extremley fussy but ate the entire breakfast on both mornings,Annette could not have been more helpful and was so gracious to having her home over run with Hairdressers, photographers, dressmakers etc, not to mention a rather stressed Bride to be, bridesmaids and of course me, the mother of the bride( i was probrably more stressed than anyone) i wanted it to be the perfect day and it was. Thank you Annette we will be returning in the summer, anyone wishing for an idyllic place to stay in Wales, olivia house is a must.

Room Tip: French room is wonderful, beautiful roll top bath in bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed at Olivia House for three nights, the night before my wedding with my parents (Balcony and Angel Room), wedding night with guests (Balcony Room, Angel Room, French Room, Kings Room) and one after with my new husband (Balcony Room). So pleased with my choice!
The house is absolutely beautiful and as said in all the reviews Annette and Elliott the cat are the perfect hosts, breakfast is fresh and plentiful and there is just a lovely atmosphere of being at home - they even saved the day by supplying umbrellas for my walk to the wedding venue when it rained!
When I arrived Annette had just put a bottle of wine and glasses into my room and the day after our wedding she gave us a gift - it really is very personal and welcoming.
All the rooms are gorgeous and the pics definitely don't do the Balcony room justice as it is huge and the bed is enormous and like a cloud to sleep on! I think my favourite overall was the French room as up in the attic with that fabulous bath!!!
We will definitely return and would urge anyone planning a Porthcawl wedding, romantic break etc to stay here - definitely not the traditional B&B/Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We recently visited Porthcawl for a wedding. Olivia House was recommended to us by the bride and it certainly didn't disappoint! Annette welcomed us warmly when we arrived and that hospitality did not stop, nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable, breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of it even for the biggest appetite. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muntjac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
52 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Address: 44 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range: £92 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olivia House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Olivia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing