We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The other reviews are right”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olivia House
Ranked #2 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The other reviews are right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We chose Olivia House on the strength of other reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable and the separate private bathroom worked very well for us as we had our one year old boy with us. The guests living room was a real bonus. Nothing was too much trouble and it really felt like a home from home. I would highly recommend Olivia House. We shall certainly be staying there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
59
104
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mid glamorgan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

we stayed at the olivia in may we had a warm welcome and fantastic breakfast will definetly be returning there are plenty of places to go in porthcawl we have been going there for years we never tire of the place

Room Tip: all rooms look excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

With my daughters wedding being held at The Grand Pavilion, we needed somewhere within close proximity, Olivia House ticked all our boxes. If its bland surroundings your after, then Olivia House is NOT for you, if its cereal, cold toast and a greasy fry up for breakfast, then Olivia House is NOT for you. Annette (the owner) is a complete joy, constantly smiling, where this lady gets her energy from I will never know! Nothing is too much trouble. Once we were settled in Annette went to collect the local produce required for breakfast the next day and what a breakfast it was. Sitting at the dining table in total decadence surrounded by wonderful food, beautiful ornate collections and photographs and my lovely family, we felt so at home and really did not want to leave. We will return, hopefully very soon. (Annette also rocks a fabulous shoe collection!!)

Room Tip: Various rooms available with choice of bath or shower, the choice is yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We picked Olivia House as it was close to our friends who were having a surprise party and we would certainly stay their again. The room was lovely with the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! The breakfasts were to die for - no lunch needed! Annette's welcome made you feel at home instantly and it was close to the sea front in fact we could see the sea from out room. Definately recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you're looking for a luxurious stay with a delightful ambience, then this is the place for you. Step inside Olivia House and you enter into a world of sheer comfort and elegance. The owner, Annette de Graaf makes you feel at home instantly and has added all the finishing touches to her superbly appointed rooms. From her tastefully furnished lounge with its large sink-into sofas to her thoughtfully planned out theme-bedrooms, you'll want for nothing. Enjoy a scrumptiously tasty full Welsh breakfast with it's unprecedented stunning presentation in a simply gorgeous dining area amidst the relaxed atmosphere. You cannot wish for any more comfort than Olivia House.
We stayed here on our Wedding night and have another night booked in September. Very much the best Bed and Breakfast in Porthcawl and in a lot of other resorts - give yourselves a special treat! This is a jewel in the crown.
And, as many have said before, location is everything and this couldn't be any closer to the sea front and local amenities.
A must book now!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kings Room with ensuite shower. A beautifully appointed bedroom with all the finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucketandspade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

just arrived home after 1 night stay me my wife and son loved the rooms and the warm welcome 2 min walk to beach 10 min walk to all main attractions,the rooms were clean and comfortable an eye for detail i must say,oh!and the breakfast was lovelly,will recommend to freinds and family and will stay again in near future,thanks annette for being such a good hostess.

Room Tip: we stayed in french room cosy clean and excellent decor as was the gemini room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne1970-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at Olivia House for one night last weekend and have to be totally honest it was great, clean rooms with excellent welcome and delicious breackfast!! Would recommend to anyone, definitely will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.3 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Property: Olivia House
Address: 44 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Olivia House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing