We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The only boutique B&B in porthcawl-amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olivia House
Ranked #2 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“The only boutique B&B in porthcawl-amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My mum and I were visiting porthcawl and we stayed in the 'angel room'. It was absolutely stunning! The bed was big enough for the two of us to share comfortably and the decor was beautiful. Annette, the owner, was so welcoming and made sure my veggie needs were catered for. The breakfast was extremely good, both veggie and traditional 'full welsh'. The location of this B and B is perfect, literally a two minuate walk from the towns centre, and a thirty second walk until your directly on the seafront promenade! I'd defiantly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone! Perfect!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allywools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
101
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Greeted with the most wonderful welcome from the owner Annette whom nothing is too much trouble for. Not an inch of this place is not fabulously decorated with such exquisite taste. We stayed in the King's Room and it's super king size bed which was lovely followed by a well cooked hearty breakfast at a time of our choice in the beautiful breakfast room. A very comfortable experience and we'll definitely be back. A****

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stusar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

As the other reviews say, this is somewhere with its own unique style.

We stayed in the French Room; really imaginatively laid out and decorated.

Breakfast kept us going all day.

We loved the haunting loneliness of this seaside town in winter; add in the quirkiness of Olivia House and you've really got a break out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tredegar
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here for the fireworks display in Porthcawl and very glad we did. Have stayed in many different b&b's and this one is completely different in a good way. We had the whole place to ourselves as the owner was away but Lynne was a great host and made our stay a bit more special. Furniture is very extravagant and the bed was very, very comfy (i'm always up at 7:30 but slept until after 8:30 so that tells its own story!). Breakfast was excellent and we had lava bread and fresh coffee and the offer of seconds!!. I can't praise this establishment highly enough and we will definitely return and hope to meet the owner next time but Lynne did a very good job while she was away. AMAZING.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kings room but everything is that well looked after I imagine all rooms would be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picture1Tredegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My mum, 2 sisters and I stayed in Olivia House. My sister and I stayed in the Angel room the duvet was very cosy and we enjoyed lying in bed watching Romeo and Juliet; it had a great selections of DVDs for all ages. My mum and other sister stayed in the French room and whenever i went up there i always enjoyed lying on the bed living the dream.
The breakfast was huge: it was fried egg with baked beans,bacon,sausages, tomato, mushrooms, black pudding and hash browns. We even tried laver bread. Unfortunately due to the storm the weekend was not as we planned and lots of events in Porthcawl had to be cancelled. Still seemed a very nice place with lots of friendly people.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a on-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupé
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lavish, quirky, ornate are good descriptions of this boutique B&B. Annette was very welcoming, friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our one night stay here. We wouldn't have wanted to stay more nights though - our room, Angels Room, was quite small, with a small double bed and there wasn't room to move around without bumping into anything. We found it all rather ornate but then our personal preference is minimalist. Also, there is no ensuite to this room. We did have a private bathroom down the hallway but still means you have to get dressed to use it in the middle of the night.

This B&B is in a fantastic location, close to the seafront and the breakfast was outstanding as was Annette's hospitality.

Judging by other comments, maybe the Kings Room is a better option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

this is our 3rd year staying at Olivia House .we love coming to this fantastic boutique hotel.we stay in the french room with the beautiful decor.The hotel throughout is quirky ,charismatic,fit for royalty.delicious breakfast.it is still OUTSTANDING .Annette's hospitality is 1st class.Nothing too much trouble .very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deblance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
13.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Property: Olivia House
Address: 44 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Olivia House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing