We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”
Review of Olivia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivia House
Ranked #1 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

we were in porthcawl to watch a show at the Grand Pavillion and stayed here at the Olivia House B& B. we were completly at ease as soon as we walked through the door, the house has a lovely warm welcoming feel making it feel like home. we were in the Kings room with the most comfortable bed we have ever had away from home. the breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day, our host Annette is a lovely warm lady who i bonded with straight away-thanks annette -.will definetly stay here again- absolutly brilliant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife an I needed a place to stay while we were working to settle my mother-in-law's estate. The owner of Olivia house was truly amazing - she took us in and treated us like family. Her warmth and genuine caring made a huge difference to us during a very difficult time. It was also a wonderful place to stay - a beautiful room, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast - all made our stay as enjoyable as possible. I highly recommend and am happy to give the highest possible rating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed for two nights visiting relatives. Really pleasant hostess, nothing is too much trouble to meet the needs of the customer. Fantastic rooms (we stayed in the Kings room) and a fantastic breakfast. All in all excellent value! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloserApproximations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

After spending a few nights here previously, we thought we would return for a short break with two friends as a treat for them. They had been through a difficult time and it was a surprise gift. We asked for the balcony room for them and they were bowled over not just by the welcome upon arrival but throughout the stay nothing was too much trouble. The room itself was an uplifting experience and after a terrific breakfast they were able to take advantage of a walk along the coastal path which they loved. It truly gave them a chance to recharge and move forward. Thank you Annette you seem to work magic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night romantic break in Porthcawl. My partner and I were recommended to Olivia House by a friend. What a wonderful choice! I can honestly say that we have never stayed anywhere so welcoming . The owner, Annette did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was absolutely superb and decorated in the highest possible taste.We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: The French room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delphine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Searched online for suitable accommodation in Porthcawl for one night. Happened upon Olivia House and very pleased we did so. Annette was most welcoming but also respected our privacy. The facilities and decor were of a high standard as was the plentiful breakfast the following morning. We will definitely book Olivia House if attending any further events in Porthcawl.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 357ElizabethW357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights when I went down to Wales to visit family. Ended up here by accident when nearby b+b my Dad recommended was full. But was a happy accident! The owner, Annette, was very chatty and friendly on the phone when booking and spontaneously offered me a discount as I was on my own, which I thought was sweet. She was there when I arrived and was very welcoming. The house is huge and amazing. Full of antiques and gorgeous furniture everywhere. I was in the French Room which was uber cute. I had a roll top bath in my bedroom which was fab! Ending my day soaking in the bath with my Kindle and a glass of wine was heavenly! The breakfast was stunning also. Huge and beautifully cooked. I will definitely be returning to Olivia House with my husband and kids next time we visit. A true "one off", characterful bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.2 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
52 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
267 reviews
5.3 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Address: 44 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range: £93 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olivia House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Olivia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing