We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Porthcawl, Bridgend County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roving558...
2 reviews
“Ideal getaway”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Comfortable clean accommodation with lovely enclosed garden suitable for our 2 dogs. In the heart of Nottage Village, handy village store with the basics, we forgot our toothpaste, but a 30 second walk to the shop, problem sorted! Choice of 3 pubs, we chose the Rose and Crown, the food was tasty and not badly priced, Brains beers too Great base for dog walking or just walking and cycling. The owner, Bridget...Introduced herself and made it clear “that anything we needed just give her a shout” but basically gave us complete privacy. We will definitely return for a few days chilling in the future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Thank you for my review, Dawn. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the break. Hope to see you another time. Regards Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinah D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Dog Friendly Accomodation”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We've just returned from a lovely 5 nights stay at this quaint cottage with a pretty garden. It's in a good location with 3 pubs and a local shop within walking distance in the village of Nottage. The accomodation is comfortable and spotlessly clean. There are lovely costal walks nearby with dog friendly beaches and the Kenfig Nature Reserve walk down to Sker Beach is a must. We would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Hi Dinah and Roy
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for the review. Hope to see you another time.
Regards
Bridget
Chapel Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X6658OFma...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming and surprising holiday home ”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Quirky and charming at the same time, this is very unusual accommodation and one that pleasantly surprised me. The garden is gorgeous, very unusual for a one bedroom annex. Lovely ensuite and great conservatory complemented the very good double bedroom. Bridget was very pleasant too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Hi Matthew
Thank you for your kind review. So pleased it suited you. Hope you did well in your race! Best wishes Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngeM
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nottage is a lovely friendly village with three good pubs including one that serves excellent food. People are really welcoming. This room only accomodation was beautifully decorated and clean. Lovely big bed. Sole use of conservatory and garden was a joy especially with a dog who was warmly welcomed. If in the area definitely worth a visit. You won't be disappointed. Personally I like a cooked breakfast each day but we had fridge and toaster that served us well. Bridget was a perfect hostess and the whole trip was a success for connections in Cardiff and Swansea as well as the delightful Porthcawl.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Hi Michele
Thank you for your kind words, greatly appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on another occasion.
Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely peaceful place. Comfy bedroom with a giant bed,large warm conservatory and smashing,private,garden.Dog loved it as much as us! Good pubs nearby and a ten minute walk to Porthcawl seaside.Hit on very lucky with the great weather.Could not fault anything-we will go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: No microwave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Hi Kevin, thanks for your kind review. Hope see you again sometime x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this place we found a little piece of heavan briget was loverly left us to enjoy the loverly peaceful and relaxing cottage and garden just loved it x

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: cottage garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirl2401
south wales
1 review
“What a wonderful place to stay will definitely go bk”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely cottage beautiful gardens very clean great location will definitely be there again Bridget is lovely answered my messages very quickly lovely conservatory for our sole use

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing