We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge around in style...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge around in style...
Miners Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Lounge around in style...
Miners Cottage
Our fully fitted kitchen with everything you need, large 6 place dining table but room for a cosy 10
A double ended bath, mood lighting and a separate power shower...... fantastic!
Soft cotton towels
The twin bedroom, overlooking the Margam Valley and out across Swansea Bay to the Mumbles
Our single, same view to the front, both single bed rooms are loved by kids, teens and grown ups!
your garden view from the Master Bedroom
The garden
The garden
The garden
Christmas at Miners Cottage
Christmas at Miners Cottage - we decorate for you :-)
Our 220 year old climbing rose, 'Seven Sisters' planted by my Great, Great, Great Grandmother...
Christmas at Miners Cottage
Christmas at Miners Cottage - we decorate for you :-)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Porthcawl, Bridgend County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aljoja
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Christmas holiday.”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

It was a lovely Christmas holiday with grandparents, parents and children. Everything was there and we felt most welcome. The children (5 and 7) enjoyed the playground which was just round the corner and we all liked going to Kenfig Nature Reserve and to Rest Bay at Porthcawl.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you so much, we're delighted you had a great stay and that our Christmas extras were appreciated - we hope to welcome you back again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahameb
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I and our two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks in Miners Cottage. The booking process was very straightforward and communications from the owners were excellent. The cottage was amazingly well-equipped, very clean and well-presented. The location is brilliant: very close to shops and amenities and to the M4, whilst at the same time being in a quiet setting. It has a lovely garden and the front windows overlook countryside. amazing to be able to see the sea and watch the beautiful sunsets over it. One of our essential requirements for a happy holiday was good, free wifi and this was provided with no problems at all. There is lots to do in the Bridgend area and Cardiff, Swansea and the Gower are quickly and easily reached via the M4 or local roads if you prefer a scenic route. We have already booked our holiday here for next year! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: With teenage children, the free wifi, with husband the free on the doorstep parking, for mum/wife, everyone's holiday needs being met!
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything. Would probably say the stairs but only because they are fairly open and I'm a wuss!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you Hannah, Wow, what a brilliant review! We are very humbled:-) - and delighted we can welcome you back next year, with such an old cottage, we try our best and are delighted we could give you such home comforts, just let us know anything you need for your next stay,

Regards,

Jon & Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalre, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the village and the large lounge to relax . The large dining table to play board games
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, Hopefully we can welcome you again and you can catch up on all the things you didn't have time for during this stay - we would love to welcome you again, kind regards,
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the cottage afforded plenty of space if holidaying with children.
Liked least: No covers on the duvet- a sheet was provided but difficult to ensure this remains over you all night!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we always try to make things great for our guests. We are delighted you loved the area, we do too :-)

Once again, I apologise for the washing machine, thank you for letting us know when you let, and yes, it's been put right. I didn't realise you had a problem with the dishwasher, I am so sorry, I will contact our current guests to see if they are having problems.

We hope to welcome you back agin - you have definitely had the best weather so far this year!

kind regards
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CocoBaugh
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Cottage. Comfortable & Convenient.”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Miners Cottage for the May Bank Holiday and not only were we very happy with the cottage we also had good weather so were able to enjoy the garden as well as the inside of the cottage. The cottage itself was very comfortable and offered all that you might wish for. My husband especially appreciated the Blue Tooth Sound Bar and we both enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine. A great location for travelling around the local area and would definitely recommend a visit to the Kenfig Nature Reserve. Hoping to visit Miners Cottage again and discover other parts of South Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
We are delighted you had a great stay and doubly so you had great weather! We look forward to welcoming you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you Simon - we love how centrally located we are for all the places you visited - lucky us :-)

We hope to see you again soon,

kind regards
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hemmsLond...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable home - would recommend”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in Miners Cottage for the Dragon Ride cycle sportive that took place nearby. It's in a lovely quiet location and has everything we needed to eat, sleep and relax. Would recommend and stay again should we ever decide to ride in the Welsh mountains again any time soon ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you Richard, we are delighted you recommend Miners Cottage - thank you :-) Please get in touch if there's anything you think we can do better, we look forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards,
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing