We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Porthcawl Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I have just had an overnight stay at this hotel using a Living Social voucher offer.
Our room 201 was excellent. It was fully carpeted including the en-suite bathroom. It had T.V., central heating, and tea/coffee making facilities. Nice clean fluffy towels. The evening meal had to be taken at the sister hotel The Atlantic a 10 minute walk aLONG THE SEA FRONT. THIS HOTEL WAS FAR SUPERIOR IN STARS TO THE PORTHCAL HOTEL BUT OF COURSE THE COST WOULD HAVE BEEN MUCH GREATER. THE EVENING MEAL THERE WAS VERY GOOD, AND THE PORTIONS AS HAS BEEN MENTIONED BY PREVIOUS REVIEWERS WERE HUGH. THE MENU HAD A VERY GOOD CHOICE OF STARTERS AND MAINS. INCLUDED IN THE OFFER WAS A BOTTLE OF HOUSE WINE WHUICH AGAIN WAS VERY NICE. In the morning at the Porthcawl Hotels we had a continental breakfast with unlimited cerial, toast, and fruit, and drinks. The one thing to remember is that on site there is a gym and health club and when they hold classes the music is loud and vibrates into every room. There is also a might club so I could not recomend going to this hotel on the nights that the club operates, again due to the noise, unless you are going to use the club.
There is no car parking on site but at the rear about 100 yards away there is a very large public car park on a pay and display basis, £1.50 for three hours and £3.00 over three hours. As this car park is very quiet I would not recommend that this ve used when dark. If you drive up to the sea frint road from the hotel, only 100 yards, turn right and after the first turing on the right take any other turning on the right and you should be able to find a FREE parking space in front on the many residential properties away from the lengths of no parking areas. We turned right alongside another hotel, owned by Leisureplex Hotels, named The Seabank.

Room Tip: As there is no lift try and get the lowest floor available i.e. floor 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and i managed to get a room at the last minute and stayed at the Porthcawl Hotel. We were offered a room right at the top of the hotel but the boiler wasn't working so the radiators weren't on and the room was freezing. Spoke to the staff who helped and moved us to another room just above the gym. The room was lovely but no tv, so i had to run to our old room and nick the tv from there. The music coming up from the gym is louder than hell but we weren't bothered as we were getting ready and if i had my kit i would have joined in the gym class. We were sent up to the Atlantic (sister hotel) for food which was awesome. Really great food. We then visited a few of the pubs before coming back and sampling the ale in the hotel sports bar, that was an entertaining place with the average age being about 18. Some kids who were drinking underage got booted out while we were in there. We then went to the club which was free cos we were staying, i would not have fancied paying 8 quid to get in there. It was great fun and we danced like idiots for a while. We left at three and went back to the room where we could hear no noise. If both floors of the club had been open the room would have been bouncing with the noise coming through. The following morning the lovely Kath had some continental breakfast layed out for us which was perfect and just what we needed.
Overall the hotel is perfect for a fun night out in Porthcawl, it needs a bit of TLC and the hotel is obviously trying to be a number of different things and not really specializing in anything.
We would stay there again and at the price we paid on Living Social i don't think the hotel would have made anything from our visit, other than what we spent over the bar!
Staff are brilliant.
Bed lovely.
Brilliant location.

Room Tip: As far away from the gym and club as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milothedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is in a nice little village with a really nice beach. And that's pretty much all I saw . We stayed after getting a really good deal. Read their ending and reviews on here and went ahead and booked the weekend away. The room was large very basic and as with the while place needed some work. Had a bar meal was good, really friendly locals and bar staff. Be warned they have as bar and a club on site you will hear music at all hours even 8 on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scartlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Porthcawl Hotel. Definately not a place to go for a quiet break mind, what with the nightclub next door and the sports bar integrated into the hotel. Highlights were the evening dinner which was superb, the great friendly staff (not that many of them, they were running round multi-tasking) and the spacious room. Lowlights were some idiot setting the fire alarm off at 1am in the morning and having to climb down 4 flights of stairs.

I'd recommend this hotel for a fun weekend away at a very reasonable cost. However Elderly persons should be wary as there is no lift, so don't stay on the top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the nightclub as possible as it is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiff_Jet_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had a social living deal so having only paid £42 didn't expect too much. The room was very clean and tidy, however dated and tired. Our room was above the gym and nightclub, during the day they hold fitness classes in the nightclub. Well you may as well join in the class because the base from the music will drive you insane. We were telephoned at 11.30am on the morning of our arrival to be told that the resturant would be closed on monday night, alternatively offered a meal in the sister hotel the Atlantic. Omg what a fantastic meal, it cost over £42 for the meal alone so well worth the trip. The breakfast the next morning consisted of a basic continental breakfast, cerials, fruit juice, toast, tea & coffee. The staff were very helpfull, be warned this hotel does not have a lift, there are lots of stairs to climb, especially if you are in the 300's

Room Tip: If you want a quiet hotel don't stay here. It's cheap & basic rooms. The lounge area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tycwrdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We stayed for one night at this hotel when we were attending a party in a different venue.

First impressions of the room were that it was clean and tidy and the decor and furniture were of a good standard.
There was a faint hint of cigarettes in the room as perhaps the previous guest had been smoking in the room.
We were warned by the receptionist that the street outside the room became quite noisy in the early hours when the local revellers were departing from the nightclub.
after checking in to the room at 7.30pm we returned at about 1.30am and could not get to sleep due to the noise from the nightclub which was directly below our room, this stopped at 2am and then as warned, throngs of people filled the streets causing quite a bit of noise.
this cleared after about 45 mins

at £40 for the night for a double room without breakfast i suppose we could not grumble, but would i go back ? possibly not.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xaviermonserrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: non nelle vicinanze della palestra, all'altro lato dell'edificio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
396 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Green Acre Motel
Green Acre Motel
#1 of 1 in North Cornelly
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porthcawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porthcawl Hotel

Address: 7-11 John Street, Porthcawl CF36 3AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Porthcawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porthcawl Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing