We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Porthcawl Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely weekend”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with my wife the rooms were basic but very clean. all the staff were very friendly and willing to help. There was live entertainment in the bar on the saturday night and we had a free pass into the night club included in the price. The food in the hotel was lovely and a good price. All in all was a lovely wekend and good value for money and will be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor as you will be away from nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    20
    34
    25
    22
See reviews for
19
46
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have been returning to this hotel for the past 10 years and we will never be returning again!!
we booked with our friends only to find our rooms had been doubled booked so we had to stay elsewhere,we then went on to have a few Christmas drinks at the hotel with our friends which was great we later returned in the evening to a man who called him self the OWNER of the hotel what an arrogant thing he was,trying to throw my husband out and accusing him of all sorts of things,we are so discussed with the way he treated us he's a disgrace to porthcawl because we will never return here again,talking to other people including the staff at the hotel he does this on a regular basis,and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porthcawl hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for the past 10 years but this visit was dreadful. Our party booked rooms in advance only to find they had over booked and told two couples in the party that although they had a booking they didn't have a room. The rooms are basic my room had a radiator that was boiling hot but the controls were broken so it couldn't be adjusted. The tv in mine and my friends room didn't work. There was no bath towel in the room. The hotel owner is a dreadful guy, he's rude and arrogant and spent the night picking fights with the guests and getting the bouncers to throw them out at his whim. The bouncers were pleasant and doing a good job but the manager is a real idiot and the cause of most of the trouble that evening. Talking to other people he is the cause of most trouble on a regular basis. We will never stay at this place again and wouldn't recommend this place to anyone else if you do choose to stay here you will find out exactly what we mean.

Room Tip: Choose one at another hotel you wont get any sleep here that is if the manager allows you to stay he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights over the Elvis weekend, and really enjoyed it, staff were friendly and the place had a nice atmosphere, the room was clean and quite big. On the Friday night there was a really good band playing. Breakfast was very nice.
There is no car park with the Hotel, but just 2 mins down the road there was a massive one, and it was only £3.00 for 24hours

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippyzoom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

sorry this is late review had a great stay at the porthcawl hotel the cheeki bar maid made us all feel every welcome, she went out of her way to make have a great stay will be back to see you becki food was great rooms was basic but thats what u pay for the price was spotless clean and tidy.

michael

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hotel didn't have parking, not even given an indication of where the nearest parking facilities were. The porter/bar attendant, wasn't communicative at all, no eye contact, not even pointed in the right direction of the room, let alone shown, and that was while we waited for someone to come to reception in the first place!
Not value for money on the room we stayed in. Amazes me how the owners can be proud of the appearance of the room, wall paper coming off, grubby, damp in places on the ceiling,sign of leaks, socket coming off the wall, and that socket was the one used for the portable tv, and kettle!!
for the amount of money we paid a night I would have thought it would be more respectful dwelling.
noise echoed around the hotel at 4am due to passers by on the corridor and stampeding up the stairs. Noise from out side and the clubs, and the congregation of people out side the hotel entrance where the night porter didn't usher them on, then the rubbish collection at 5am, and then, bottle deliver at 6am! Breakfast was included in with the price, but not 1 of us was feeling very with it after a restless night.We were glad to depart, and tbh, after reading the other reviews, glad we didn't eat there.
I had heard it wasn't just this hotel either that was in poor state for the money being charged.... think the council needs to step in and put forth a plan to get these hotels up to standards, Porthcawl is a nice seaside town, shame these hotels are letting tourism and trade down for the town. This hotel I would definitely not stay in again, you would have to pay me to stay in it! I will research before I come back again. You need to take more pride in your hotel, it's lacking in many aspects.

Room Tip: research the hotels in the area and read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gingejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

No-one at the desk to book in, and no bell. When we eventually got to book in we were given the key, but were not shown to our room... or even pointed in the direction of the room! We booked a family room, originally for 4 adults though fortunately we changed to 3 adults and 1 child, the room was small with a double bed, 1 single bed and a mattress on the floor! The wallpaper was coming off the walls, the cream curtains were filthy and the one electrical socket was hanging off the wall. It was ridiculously noisy at night, not just because of the spill out of the nightclub next door, but also because of other guests running around the landings in the early hours! When we arrived back at the hotel after our evening out there were people standing in the doorway which was pretty off putting, especially the guy that felt the need to spit everywhere, the night doorman at the hotel did nothing to move people on.
We didn't bother with breakfast the following morning, the place looked too grubby and lack of sleep made us just want to get out of there and head home!!
The only redeeming feature this place had was the fact that it was ideally situated, only a few minutes away from the wedding venue we attended.
Overall, wouldn't recommend this place to friends, and next time we're in Porthcawl we will absolutely be staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porthcawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porthcawl Hotel

Property: The Porthcawl Hotel
Address: 7-11 John Street, Porthcawl CF36 3AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Porthcawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porthcawl Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing