We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seabank Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Fairways Hotel(Porthcawl)
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Acre Motel(North Cornelly)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyndham Arms(Bridgend)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$66
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
69
106
64
24
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
106
64
24
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelsea viewalfa coachturkey tinselrefurbished roomsea bank hotelpublic areasdriver stevesinger comedianalpha tourusual facilitieslarge bathroomleisureplex hotelsmeal timessea frontthe hotel managerentertainment every night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just returned from a 5 day holiday With Alfa, We had a really Good driver,Steve,Who gave us lots of interesting information ..The hotel Has magnificent views over the Bristol Chanel to north Devon. You can walk for miles along the coastal path and there are benches every few yards. It's a short ,flat walk to the small shopping area ,where you can find most things that you need..We had a newly decorated sea view room at no extra cost.The food was Good .The included lunch of jacket potatoes ,salad and ice cream was exellent. The only complaint was the salad I chose one evening.Really nice ham but the lettuce,peas,sweetcorn?and 1/8 piece tomato looked like it had been thrown onto the plate.,The other lady on our table had almost a whole lettuce ,most of it unchopped and lots of tomato ! Breakfast was Good ,but once we got cereal etc we had to wait 20 mins at least for bacon etc.The waiter was serving other people Who came in after us.
The entertainment was Good Two nights but on thursday we had a woman Who had been on stars in your eyes. We saw her at twixmas and her performance was word for word exactly the same.She needs a new routine. It was embarrasing to watch her singing a love song face to face to her husband ,He looked really uncomfortable. Made a point of telling us they got married on the 11 11 2011.
Cardiff is really nice for shopping ,plenty of museums and interesting ,old buildings.The waterside development is worth a look.
The mumbles and gower peninsula are lovely,miles of unspoilt beaches.
Would Be brilliant in summer,lots of pavement cafes and a new marina is being built. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel week on a 5 day break, travelling with Alfa coaches. Our room although at the rear of the hotel was pleasant and the breakfasts and evening meals that we had during our stay were first class, The food was always served nice and hot and was plentiful. The soups were especially good and after being out in the cold, fresh air, were really comforting. The hotel was nice and roomy and we had good trips out with our coach driver Shaun. The air was very bracing in Porthcawl and we needed to wrap up well when we ventured on our walk to Rest Bay. All in all a very nice break indeed and the staff are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We travelled with Alfa to Porthcawl for a four night break at the Seabank, arriving on 18th February.. I am confining my comments to the hotel, which are largely favourable. The trips were not so good I'm afraid.
We paid extra for a sea view, and we were given a newly furnished room and a newly fitted bathroom, which were both lovely, but COLD!!. The large bathroom had no radiator at all, just an ineffective electric towel rail. However, the reception swiftly responded with an additional electric radiator for the bedroom. The reception staff were excellent. We had fixed breakfast time of 8.40 and dinner at 6.40 and a table for two. The meals, we both thought were very good indeed with decent choice. Generally, a chef can be judged by the soups and they were fabulous. Not the unidentifiable wallpaper paste one often gets with Shearings. Meat, fish and vegetables were all very acceptable. Breakfasts were also wonderful. Everyone we spoke to thought the same. Well done chef! Our waiter Im, from Hungary, was wonderful and the service was first rate. One evening, I was uncertain what to choose, and asked him to choose for me. He brought me fabulous home roasted roast leg of pork with incredibly good crackling. Well done Im.
The entertainment was good on two nights Karl Jones was first class and did Matt Monroe,Sinatra, Neil Diamond etc.Really good singer. On the last night, we had a Christine (I think) Jones. She was brilliant with a really beautiful Fields of Athenry.
What can be improved ? More redecoration here and there, but I'm sure Alfa knows this. We've stayed at three Alfa hotels now, and this is the best. But they've all got beers and lager I will not drink. Nasty gassy stuff - not proper beer at all. Surely they would sell enough of a local microbrewery or Brains from Cardiff. Come on Alfa, get this beer sorted!
But a nice break. If you go in February, take plenty of warm clothing. Porthcawl is bracing.

Room Tip: A sea view is nice
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BenFrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

what a beautiful place to be.the hotel overlooks the beach it is very pretty.most of the rooms have a sea view and has just been renovated the rooms were very large and newly decorated the food was excellent good variety and always red hot the staff were amazing and couldnt do enough for you and the lads in the dining room were always good fun the entertainment at night was good and we had a good laugh will return soon

Room Tip: the sea views are worth the bit extra you have to pay
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carole e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a trip with alpha as a Christmas present for each other. We had a good time. Pleasant staff, not first class food, but we didn't pay first class prices either. excellent location, lovely views. hotel is having some revamps and we could see that the place is coming into good repair. One or two of the display units in the main down stairs area of the hotel could have done with a bit of a dusting and some ornaments perhaps. Quite reasonable prices for drinks. Bingo every night with quite decent houses.brilliant entertainment, especially the talented young chap ( jones) who sang Matt Monroe,who was amazing and a lady who was on stars in their eyes on TV( also jones) was also just as impressing. The jones singing genes must still be strong on Wales. Overall stay was brilliant. Second stay at the hotel and won't our last.

Thanks to all who made our stay memorable.

Mr & Mrs H

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrandmrshx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews