We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flattered by its outside appearance”
Review of Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed the night of the Barbara Dixon concert. The price of the sea-view room (£76) was non- negotiable; it was "set by headquarters". The room was large but, like the whole place, in need of a large amount of TLC. The best part of our short stay, in sharp contrast to several other reviews, was the breakfast. It was of very good quality and was served quickly even though the breakfast room was full at the time. Whatever you do, don't go in the lift! It was the first thing we did as we were on the third floor and it probably clouded (almost literally!) our perceptions from then on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

absolutely terrible, breakfast poor - dirty cutlery, wallpaper falling off walls, dirty, broken bathroom fixtures, graffiti on the walls. staff no where to be found, and when they do arrive are rude, unhelpful, incompetent and untrained. plenty of other hotels and guest house nearby - try anywhere other than here.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank srivij84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Had a pleasant four night stay here. Initial problem with hot water,none existent,but got sorted after a day.Food very good,staff very cheery and efficient. Sea view room was good.Would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is the third stay that we have had at the Seabanks hotel and as usual we enjoyed ourselves.The hotel was up to its usual high cleaning standards and some room improvements had taken place since last year(we ask for the same room every year).It was nice to see that the entertainment had been stepped up a notch again last year the great Ben Portsmouth did a set in the lounge this time he and Ben Thompson both put on a brilliant show on both the Friday night and Saturday night in one of the function rooms. The bar staff ran themselves ragged both nights but served with a smile and were very good.The only problem was the lift being out of order the Saturday night and Sunday morning something no one could foresee so in conclusion another very enjoyable Elvis festival break.Before leaving Sunday morning we booked again for next year(Same room).

Room Tip: i love a room with a sea view, the rooms with the balcony's are a favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbieandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

13 of us stayed at the Seabank for 2 nights. What people say about Imre as a waiter is correct. He's fab. Lovely clean room. Staff were absolutely lovely. Fantastic location. Elvis' were great too; landed up being the backing for one of them with my blow up guitar along with my buddies. Great weekend and great hotel! Go there.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Seabank hotel from the 14th Sept until 21st Sept on an Alpha tour. We paid £64.00 extra for a sea view room and the first room we were given no.124 was so small you couldn't swing a cat round in it. We refused this room and were then given no.132 which was much bigger and had a good sea view, however the room was very tired with peeling wallpaper and damp patches. The bathroom was very small and the movable shower screen over the bath had been stuck with silicone and could not be moved which meant you had to stand in the bath to switch on the shower which is not very convenient. The toilet was so close to the shower screen that if you sat on it as you are meant to your head banged against the shower screen so you had to sit sideways. The wardrobe was so small that we had to hang up the majority of our clothes on the picture rails around the room. When we arrived the weather was very cold and there was no heating on. When we complained to the reception we were told that unless the outside temperature reached a certain level the heating would not be switched on. However most of the clientele were elderly and they felt the cold, so after many complaints the heating was turned on, but as soon as the sun shone again it was switched off. The hot water worked sparodically and it took a lot of complaints by customers before it was sorted out. The food in the dining room was of a reasonable nature, the full English breakfast being most forgettable with one very small slice of cheap bacon and two poor quality sausage with about 10% meat content, One piece of very hard fried bread, deep fried black pudding slice. and a handful of baked beans with half a tomatoe, the other breakfast options were better. The evening meals were also reasonable as long as you avoided the fish and chips with the fish being one from the supermarket value range. The gammon main course consisted of three thin slices of boiled ham covered in some unmentionable sauce and the pea and ham soup was the previous nights garden peas mashed up and served with a sprinkelling of chopped up boiled ham. I wouldn't rush back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We found out later that some of the rooms had been refurbished and one of these should be requested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

went here 24/28 august with alpha travel,we had room 224 which was a large spacious room, large bath room ,sea view ,and best of all a separate bay window balcony with sea view where you can,sit and have a morning coffee, all the staff were very pleasant and sociable our waiter Imre, was very good and from what I could see the other waiters were the same.Food. a very good choice of menu ,we had no problems with our food but I did hear some people complaining ,we were told the chef was ill and had left , so maybe this was the reason for varied opinions of the food

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
0.1 mi away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range: £68 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 3-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler's Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing