We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seabank Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fairways Hotel(Porthcawl)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Green Acre Motel(North Cornelly)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
69
106
64
24
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
106
64
24
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelsea viewalfa coachturkey tinselrefurbished roomsea bank hotelpublic areasdriver stevesinger comedianalpha tourusual facilitieslarge bathroomleisureplex hotelsmeal timessea frontthe hotel managerentertainment every night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Went to the Seabank for Sunday lunch,should have known better,empty car park at 1:00 p.m. We used to go to the Seabank years ago and we thought we'd give it a try,the foyer seemed smart,new carpet,but lounge and bar hasn't seen any decoration since the last century.Ordered our lunch the staff were most pleasant but they got the order wrong,instead of taking the plates back they left them on the table until we received the correct ones.When they came it reminded me of school canteen food in the 50's the carrots were in edible,the gravy was a lump of jelly,I feel ashamed if foreign visitors ate here,what would they think?I blame the owners not the staff as overall they were good,what should be the jewel in the crown for Porthcawl is nothing more than a glorified
cafe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WelshmanDenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

To the manager who responded to my review the room which we had wad not 86 pound..!!!! We booked the 4 poster bed which was the honeymoon suite to which we did pay 120 pound !!!! Tatty dirty room damp unkempt...the only good thing about the room was it overlooked the sea..your hotel is only rated a 2 star ..you need to improve the decor of the whole hotel and invest in some staff training in how to be polite to customers

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Welshgal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This used to be THE hotel in porthcawl. Called for Sunday lunch. What an unpleasant experience.
The place is very very tired and scruffy. Staff were pleasant. The Sunday lunch, was terrible,
Sloppy carrots and broccoli, roast potato was a jacket potato cut up and was served all dried out,
The only thing I could eat was the meat, and that wasn't very good either. They had a 4 on the door. Which makes the door scoring a farce. Would definitely not recommend, or return there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
2  Thank Malimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, Manager at Seabank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Sunday lunch with us. We are proud to have many local people who come back every week for our roast dinners. As you have stated, the staff here are very pleasant. If you had spoken to us at the time we could have dealt with your concerns there and then but as it is you choose to say nothing and then criticize us on a public website when there is nothing we can do to rectify the problem? I will say that the hotel is certainly not scruffy and our roast potato's are just that, not jacket potato's cut up?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Seabank Hotel for an 8 day ALFA Coach holiday. The Hotel is situated in a good position on the sea front and has a lift to all floors. Our room (328) was a good size and had excellent views over the Bristol Channel.
The Service in the Restaurant was very good and there was plenty of choice for each course. The meals were well presented. We found all the Staff at the Hotel to be pleasant an co-operative.
There was entertainment on 6 nights, a quiz on 1 night and bingo every night. The entertainers varied from moderate to very good.
The Entertainment Room was large with a good sized dance floor. Thee Hotel also had good lounge areas and a large TV in the Bar Area.
Our 2 problems were 1) Both our beds groaned in pain every time you sat on, laid on and moved about on them and 2) was a problem outside the Hotel's jurisdiction, whereby, the TV in our room, and I believe other rooms, frequently lost its picture and sound due to NO SIGNAL.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Batley34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Expensive. ..dirty tatty run down..poor staff service food not up to much wouldnt stay here if it was free..120 pound for a night !!! Big rip off dont stay here people..no evening meal included just breakfast for that price..appalling

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Welshgal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Seabank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Ms Rees

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your one night stay at the Seabank. It is not always possible to please all of the people all of the time but we try our best and had you advised us at the time of your stay that you were not happy with anything, we would have done everything possible to resolve any problems.

I would add that the price you paid for two people for one night bed and breakfast was actually £86 and not the £120 you stated. Three course evening meals plus tea and coffee cost only £10 per person so I don’t think you could call that a “rip off.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews