We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach”
Review of Rest Bay Beach

Rest Bay Beach
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Porthcawl
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Top surfing location for family and dedicated surfers. Great meeting place for the locals in the summer months

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Digby1654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    56
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best surfing around and a clean family, sandy beach”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a beautiful flat, sandy beach, renowned for its surfing qualities. it has patrolling lifeguards from the base at the head of the beach. Nearby car parking (charge) and cafe, toilets - so all amenities available. No dogs allowed during Spring and Summer. It gets a Blue Flag rating for cleanliness most years. Disabled parking at edge of the beach, with a ramp to the sand.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 2wit2Huw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just simply perfect”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Oh how I love Rest Bay, it takes me back to my childhood and to visit with my hubby and children was great. Football in the field area for the boys, clambering over the rocks, my 11 year old splashing his way across the sea water amongst the rocks. The sound of the waves is so relaxing I could have fallen asleep. Great day, although it was a bit windy from the car park to the beach (fleece will do). Once on the beach its a bit warmer, as you are shielded from the wind. Plenty of greenery and walking space. The tide was in but it was still clean and well looked after. People were going out on kayaks in wetsuits, great to watch. So glad we went because the whole weekend was enjoyable and I do believe the sea air cheers you up when you're used to sitting behind a desk all week.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JuHaHe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large and Clean”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Quite a large area, plenty of room for families and children to play. Good for those who just want a nice long walk. Very nice indeed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rest Bay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stunning Views Very Clean beach cafe nearby ... Quiet peaceful ... but lovely for young and old alike :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rest Bay Beach also viewed

Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Rest Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing