We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place Would Recommend You Visit Yourself Even If Only To See If ForYou”

Brodawel Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brodawel Camping Park
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Place Would Recommend You Visit Yourself Even If Only To See If ForYou”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Can't really understand peoples comments This site has all the amenities that one should need to camp or tour ,modern updated shower block recycling facilities. The site has a shop where you can get all your needs at a reasonable price .The owners Mike and Diane are always on hand to help even if it's to lend you an electric lead if yours is broken or you forgot to pack it.WiFi is free a big bonus if you got teenagers.This Site is a very friendly campsite even with the seasonal people who would give you a hand if needed.This site is suitable for everyone its quiet and well kept but so close to all the amenities ,3village pubs with in walking distance as is Porthcawl town , treco , and the beach .All in all this is truly a great site great management and very central Terry and I would definitely recommend this site .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    6
    7
    15
See reviews for
32
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Can't really understand peoples comments This site has all the amenities that one should need to camp or tour ,modern updated shower block recycling facilities. The site has a shop where you can get all your needs at a reasonable price .The owners Mike and Diane are always on hand to help even if it's to lend you an electric lead if yours is broken or you forgot to pack it.WiFi is free a big bonus if you got teenagers.This Site is a very friendly campsite even with the seasonal people who would give you a hand if needed.This site is suitable for everyone its quiet and well kept but so close to all the amenities ,3village pubs with in walking distance as is Porthcawl town , treco , and the beach .All in all this is truly a great site great management and very central Terry and I would definitely recommend this site .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

With brilliant weather, we decided to embark on a long weekend!
The owners were friendly, and the atmosphere on site was warm.
The park was a well-layed out greenfield site, and the children particularly enjoyed the play area!
We intend to visit once again in late August!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Cost wise if you are on a budget and like to be out of the way it's great, 3 of us paid £7 per person per night each we all had our own tents, location wise it is a 10 minute walk into the village of Nottage which has 3 pubs of which 2 of them do great food and are very well run and it has a convienience store, the campsite was pretty quiet while we were there it has all the basics such as toilets and shower facilities also the showers are free to use so no need for loose change to use them.

We did note however that there was an abandoned tent one morning which had been blown down in the wind!, it had only been put up the night before!! I can only imagine this was due to the fact the weather was rubbish and they decided to go hom!! As other than paying a girl our camping fees we had no contact with the owners.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevT1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

me and my boyfriend turned up at this campsite after rinning up and booking on a week in advance we turned up on the 26th of may 2012 and we turned up on our motorbike and just the looks we where given where discusting but and my boyfriend goes up to the reception which is also a shop not that it had much in there asda sun cream and after sun extremely over priced compared to what asda sells it for !! which i'm pretty sure is actually illegal to sell on another shops own products !! the shop/reception/offlicence was dirty and understocked when speaking to the owner it appeared he wasn't aware we was even booked in untill he looked in his note pad and then we got some sarcy remark because he thought we was booked in for 2 adults and a child but seriously where would you put a child on a single motorbike without a side car ?? which he could see as we pulled up right out side i then told him no there is no child he then started arguing with us that we was booked in for 2 adults and a child and then he said mind you where would you put a child anyway .
the camp was set up so the tents where on the one side and caravans on another but yet they insisted we pitch up next to this big caravan and my boyfriend asked him twice anywhere here mate is it he replies yes go as close to the fence so we where about 6ft away from the caravan so ok it was a bit of a struggle at first to get the tent up as it was a new tent we had never used before so it took us around 20 mins to get the tent up in the bad wind and just as we where putting the top part of the tent on the wife and son comes over after sitting there watching us struggle decide to come over and she says your too close to the caravan your'll have to move a bit and her and her son ripped the tent out of the ground and we moved 1ft to be precise just 1 ft and whilst trying to move our tent the young lad breaks the poles but the mother just said oh ill sort that now pushed it back together and they walked off the tent tent was not right so my boyfriend decied to go have a look and he looks over and the poles snapped so they broke our tent and left it nice or what !! so thats it the tent was broken so my boyfriend ripped it down in anger and just went in and basicly left the tent in the office there was no offer of any help or a refund or even a [--] apology so we just said we aint staying here we are going to a hotel and he kept our £13.50 that they charged us for all of half hour of being on a crappy run down baddly run understaffed campsite well of course it was a saturday so by the time we went looking for a hotel or b&b everywhere was heaving and fully booked because of the nice weather so what was suppose to be a anniversary weekend away was utterly dissapointing and a disaster so we ended going home !! another thing it was only ment to be around just under 2 miles to porthcawl beach but try 4 miles !!!
NEVER EVER AGAIN WILL WE EVEN THINK ABOUT COMING HERE AND NEITHER SHOULD YOU !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francheska J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went to site to make a local enquiry. Can only say the reception I had was terrible. The owners are abusive, rude and down right ignorant. If this is the way they treat their customers then I am hardly surprised at the previous comments on the site. Would never stay here.

DON'T TOUCH WITH A BARGEPOLE.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddybearscardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Having read the other reviews I was very aprehensive to go to this camp. Look folks, if your "true campers" this site is actually very good. Yes the toilets and showers were a bit drab but not too bad. The water was hot and it was clean! The owners are very friendly and they don't bother you! Not like the "little Hitlers" we have experienced on other sites. The layout of the site is very good and the grass was very well maintained (short) and the ground was nice and even. THe location is pretty good too. Its only a 5 minute drive to the beach (Newton being the best one) and of course you have the Porthcawl Funfair nearby too. Get a grip you other moaners! You shoudn't expect the Ritz. Camping should be about roughin' it a bit and having fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevedavies0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porthcawl hotels
1.5 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#2 of 6 in Porthcawl
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose and Crown Public House
1.4 mi away
Olivia House
Olivia House
#1 of 20 in Porthcawl
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brodawel Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brodawel Camping Park

Property: Brodawel Camping Park
Address: Bro Dawel Moor Lane, Porthcawl CF36 3EJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porthcawl
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Brodawel Camping Park Hotel Cardiff
Brodawel Camping Park Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing