We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice location looking out onto the bay, the B&B was clean and tidy and suited me while I was working away on business. Great location and very quiet. Breakfast was well portioned, only downside to the stay was the owners cat wondering through the dinning room while trying to eat.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
I have spoken to the staff regarding the cat, and have been assured that this is not a regular occurrence, I have put steps in place to make sure this does not happen again.

Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a free room upgrade because they weren't very busy, lovely room and was very clean, staff where friendly and enjoyed my time there. In a lovely spot close to a gawjus beach. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanneilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are always looking for ways to improve our business and are pleased when this is appreciated.

Paula Blue seas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here recently for the second time in three years, the first time we stayed we had a great time, no complaints at all. However this time the change in management /staff has not been for the better. Unfriendly, Indifferent and made you feel like you are inconveniencing them with what should be fairly simple requests. A three star guest house that should offer a five star stay. Could do better D+.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

I would like to Thank you for taking time to write your candid review.
I am sorry that the customer service was not up to standard.
Whilst we own Blue Seas Guest House, we sublet the Beachside cafe and they provide breakfast for our guests, therefore we have a vested interest as the customer service effects our business. I have taken up this issue with the new manageress whom has addressed this issue with her staff and disciplined accordingly, she also assured me that the guests of Blue Seas will never be made to feel this way again

Blue Seas
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our second visit here and found it to be clean, tidy with spacious rooms, lovely en suite shower room. we stayed from Friday to Sunday during the Elvis Festival and frankly if we had stayed anywhere else we would have come home.
Breakfast was served promptly in the morning with a smile and was of good quality, cereal, fruit juice and full breakfast. Plenty of tea and coffee, milk and cream in the room, room was cleaned daily, bed very comfortable and a quiet location.
We have recently returned from a visit to Blackpool where we stayed in a tiny room with no soundproofing, one serving of Tea and Coffee and a charge of £1.00 for further supplies.... there was no comparism...
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaygirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaBlueseas, Manager at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review , we really do appreciate it when our guests take time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we had stayed at blue seas before and it was very nice so we decided to book up again and stay two nights. We were greeted by a man who told us they had changed our room and we now had a private bathroom which was across the enterance hall outside the main dining area when my husband explained he was registered blind and this really wasn't convienant to him we was bluntly told well that was our room and we couldn't go in another as they was fully booked but throughout our stay they had vacancies on the door. the breakfasts in the morning the egg wasn't cooked and we was given toast with no side plate. I was given a pot of tea and jug of had to ask for a cup to which the lady huffed and puffed.We went there for a rest and couldn't because of loud noise and kids screaming upstairs till 10.30 pm . We certainly wont be going back the staff are rude and want to learn about how to treat disabled people very low class.

Room Tip: go anywhere but here
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We picked room 4 has it is a ground floor room with stunning views across Newton Bay! which are unrivelled in Porthcawl it has al large by fronted window which is greatly appreciated by all who stay there, it is situated on the ground floor which negates the need for a blind person to have to navigate the stairs, and whilst the bathroom is next to the room it is private and totally lockable and leaves the room unspoilt which as a result is large, airy, comfortable and clean.
Unfortunatly we did not have another room available as September is one of our busiest months if we had availability we certainly would of switched the room as our customers satisfaction and enjoyment are always uppermost in our minds.
I have taken up the minor breakfast issues with the staff and they have assured me this is not a common occurence.
As for the children screaming upstairs at 10.30 pm I cant help but feel that there is confusion here as I live on the first floor and this never happens, on the contrary Blue Seas Guest House is always appreciated for its quietness and calm enviroment
Finally we have many disabled people stay in room 4 as they appreciate its conveniance and easy access to all the common areas it also fits the budget as there are no other guest houses or bed and breakfasts that seem to have ground floor rooms in this area and hotels are expensive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Café should be closed!! The service and seating areas outside are as my title says disgusting!
The staff are also slow, rude and haven't a clue about hygiene!
I don't know what was worse, waiting 20 minuets for a sandwich that once arrived got attacked by a dozens wasps and flies or the waitress spraying a can of Raid around our food.
Needless to say we left without eating and will never be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Blue Seas Guest House and Beachside Cafe are overlooking the stunning bay of Newton and boast panoramic views which are unrivelled in this area.
The cafe exterior has beautifully paved london coble floors with quaint tables and chairs some with umberellas and some without to suit everyones needs
It is a pleasure to watch the locals sit and tap thier feet to the well thought out music, whist enjoying the sunshine.
Unfortunatley we like the rest of the country did have a few wasps last summer as they are unavoidable, however the interior of the cafe is equally lovely for those who are bothered by wasps.
The Beach side Cafe also boasts a 5 out of 5 food and hygene star rating which it is very proud of

Bue Seas Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is about the cafe rather than the hotel but thought it may be of interest to your readers. Every year we holiday at Trecco Bay Holiday Park which is next to The Beachside Cafe. We use the cafe for breakfast at least once during our week long stay and always on the day we travel back home to Hampshire. Due to other commitments we only came to Wales for a long weekend this year but, as always, went to The Beachside this morning or breakfast to set us on our way. All was fine initially, we ordered, paid and waited or our food. We waited about 20 minutes, which was fine as its always cooked to order but then all the customers who arrived and ordered after us were served and we were still waiting. We didn't say anything and our food soon arrived. Unfortunately my toast had a big lump of mould in it so I asked if the toast could be replaced from a fresh loaf. The girl huffed and walked away, coming back with a plate to take the toast away. She didn't say a word, let alone apologise. We started to eat but the bacon and hash browns were cold, not barely warm even, cold. We called the girl over, apologised for being a pain and explained it was cold. She silently leant over us, took our plates and walked away. Not a word. In fact she came across as very rude. We sat for a few minutes, feeling slightly uncomfortable and decided to ask for our money back to go elsewhere. My husband went up to the counter and spoke to her to which she replied yep, opened the till and gave the money back or the three breakfasts we had to return. Still not a word spoen. My youngest daughter had only ordered a bacon bap, which she really enjoyed so we waited for her to eat that and we finished our tea. The three members of staff behind the counter were clearly talking about us as we sat there and made us feel so uncomfortable. We will never go back there which is a real disappointment to us as it had become a proper holiday tradition for us over the last four years. It seems they don't take criticism well but if they serve cold mouldy food they could have at least apologised for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnylou2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaBlueseas, Owner at Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

This review is regarding the Beach side Cafe not the Blue Seas Guest House, as I am the owner of the property and sublet the cafe I cannot comment on the content of this review.
I have however passed it on to the manageress of the Beachside Cafe whom has assured me that she takes its content very seriously and will take it up with her staff and discipline accordingly. The Beachside Cafe as a 5 out of 5 star rating for food and hygiene which the manageress is very proud of along with her excellent reputation with the locals.

Blue Seas

Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
169 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#2 of 6 in Porthcawl
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bayside Guesthouse
Bayside Guesthouse
#7 of 20 in Porthcawl
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rose and Crown Public House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast

Address: 72 Beach Road | Newton, Porthcawl CF36 5NE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Seas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Seas Bed And Breakfast Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing