We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
cheltenham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at Trecco Bay and I was a tad disappointed. First the positives. 1) The camp is spotlessly clean and really close to the beach. 2) There was plenty on site to keep my 3 year old happy for the week. Now the negatives, 1) the park is lit up like a football stadium so if you like it dark to sleep look elsewhere. 2) the star of the pool area the pirate ship was out of action when we went swimming, my boy was so disappointed and I couldn't see any reason why this was the case. 3) everything on the park is expensive from the poor quality fish and chips to the food in the park dinner and pub. 4) the entertainment was poor. 2 hours every night of game shows on stage, not enough of Sid and Lizzie and the so called "laugh out loud" shows had us doing anything but! We enjoyed our holiday but I won't be rushing back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank andypud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    475
    202
    97
    113
See reviews for
901
146
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights as a cheaper alternative to butlins or abroad...with 3 kids 5 and under including a new born, this was a perfect break. On arrival our caravan didn't smell particularly great so on day 2 we spoke to reception and they immediately sent someone to wash the carpets and sofas. After this didn't solve the problem the staff gave us 2 alternative caravans to move to ASAP. We were given an upgraded caravan. This summed up all the staff at the site. They really couldn't do enough to help! The kids loved it with all the facilities and we didn't get time to do everything...The only negative was that the kids disco opened at 6.30 and by 6.10 the queue was ridiculous. Great family break...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was my 1st time staying in Wales and i couldn't be more pleased with the caravan & the site it was worth every penny, it was clean and tidy when we 1st arrived, we had 2 caravans because there was a lot of us staying there, we had an issue with one of the caravans soft bed, we went to reception and said it was broken and with that they came and changed the bed to a brand new one. There is so much to do if you have children, the beach it a 5min walk. Thank you so much for a lovely weekend, we will be returning in 2015.

Room Tip: If there is 6 of you in one caravan, i would pay the extra to have a bigger caravan with 2 double ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We had food in the coast and bar kitchen restaurant,trecco bay porthcawl Wales. After an hour and 15 min wait for food,it finally came. It was terrible. We are a family of 4 on a budget,I'm gutted we spent £33 on food for it to be not eaten. No staff came to us asking if everything was ok. We've been coming to porthcawl for years won't be coming any more. very very disappointed. Feeling sick the thought of wasting money like that. So so disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcheldean, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

had a lovely weekend break. on a 'sun' holiday. arrived late but reception was great. bit of a pain to find the van in the dark.

The van was lovely, clean and roomy and nice 12ft wide. we did not upgrade. but there does not look to be many 10ft vans on site. nice to walk around the sea front from the park. well lit.

the chippy on site is very reasonable, the nisa shop is a little dear but not to bad for holiday parks. did not use the entertainment complex.

easy to get to Cardiff and Swansea and the Gower. very nice site.

Note to Parkdean, please can you improve the exits signs from the park as it is a nightmare trying to find the way out

will I be back yep

Room Tip: We did not upgrade, and where well pleased with the caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philthemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

First time with The Parkdean Trecco Bay Holiday Park, very impressed with the standard of the caravan . The whole park is lovely and very clean. The beach is a short walk away. My daughter really enjoy the entertainment there. Will return there again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan9025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Weekend sun holiday end of March. We was by no means expecting 5* but let down by Parkdean overall service. Arrived to find no kettle, powercut everytime we used the toaster. Shower was freezing and no grill tray provided. Customer service sent electrician but rather than try and find fault, replaced electrical items only for problem to continue. Site is not too far from beach and you can walk to Porthcawl from seafront within approx. half an hour. Park has crazy golf, swimming, clubs, football pitches,etc which were well maintained. Entertainment was good. Some nice places to visit not too far, The Mumbles, The Gower,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
9.5 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Address: Bay View Road, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porthcawl
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One fantsatic big family fun park!You bring the family - we'll supply all the entertainment with crazy kids' clubs, our fabulous Splashland indoor pool, wet and wild outdoor play, bowling, bingo and basketball. And that's just for starters! When you're not whizzing down zip wires and watching live shows, you're only a hop, skip and a jump from a blue flag beach and countless other fantastic visitor attractions. * One of the UK's largest holiday parks * Right on the edge of a lovely Blue Flag beach * Explore the Glamorgan Heritage Coastline * Fantastic Splashland pirate themed pool * Live Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecco Bay Holiday Park Hotel Porthcawl
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing