We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the tin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed over Easter with a group of friends using Trecco as a base for some outdoor activities in the surrounding hills.

The management clearly know their customers very well. They don't try and pretend Trecco is any more "exotic" than it is. It's simply a holiday park in South Wales and very good at being just that.

As others have commented, the whole place is spotlessly clean and tidy, the staff are both friendly and efficient and the discreet security made it feel safe for the kids to have some freedom. They loved the swimming, cycling to the beach, the amusements etc. etc.

Top tip. Don't leave any food outside your caravan overnight or you may have some very noisy seagulls having an early breakfast on your roof ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 6 night holiday at trecco, this was our 4th visit & although there were a few downfalls this time unlike the last 3 visits we still enjoyed every minute & will be back last year. We went as a family of 6 (2 adults 4 children) our caravan was very small, we was in ash, the double bedroom you could only just walk around the edge of the bed, the shower was a curtain not glass doors which was a nuisance, no tin opener so we had to buy one, the fridge & light in the twin bedroom wasn't working but the staff was brilliant & fixed both right away, the evening entertainment was good although we had seen most of it before, food on site is VERY pricey, the pizzas on site were £16 but from the town was £11, also the coast bar, although very very nice food, very expensive with a family of 6, our first meal in there came to £60! Overall we still had a lovely time

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brunettedonna19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have stayed at a few Parkdean sites and have always been pleased with the caravans. If you have never stayed at a caravan park before, your first impression would be that they are small, but if you have stayed at caravan parks previously, Parkdean caravans are of a very good standard in comparison to other operators. We always get a 3 bedroom caravan, even though we only use 2 for sleeping; and use the 3rd as storage / clothes room. Although advertised as sleeps 6-8, I think any more than 4 would be cramped. The caravans have virtually everything you would need for your stay though. Also I've stopped going for the centrally heated caravans because the lounge fire and bedroom heaters are all fine.

Trecco Bay is a large and busy site in comparison to most, with as many facilities as any site. Generally well run and well maintained, if you enjoy a busy UK caravan holiday park, you will be satisfied with Trecco Bay and Porthcawl. If you are sniffy about such a holiday, Trecco Bay won't change your mind.

Some areas are tired and need new carpets / painting etc but it is not endemic - there is obviously a refurbishment programme in place and I guess things would never be perfect. Small children are well catered for with good play areas and good entertainment programmes. Older kids (11+) may get a bit bored?

Eateries are all good but prices reflect the captured market. Entertainment is well run and organised - how good it is really depends on whether you want to enjoy yourself or not! My kids are 9&8 and they loved it. So that's OK. As I normally find at Parkdean, the reception staff and entertainment staff were excellent, but some catering / bar staff aren't that great. The fast food kitchen in the Showdome seemed to be an unofficial staff meeting area - bar staff / security staff / off duty staff etc. Not good for kitchen standards or customer service, and this is the biggest gripe I have with Parkdean in general - who is in charge? There are plenty of security guards so safety isn't an issue, but I have never been able to identify a Duty Manager in the evening entertainment areas who ensures all staff are giving as good customer service as they should.

Great beach with a good mix of rocks and sandy areas. Good mile or so walk to Porthcawl and you can walk towards Ogmore in the opposite direction too. If you are prepared to drive, Oakwood was about an hour and a quarter and Cardiff about 30 mins.

Overall a fun holiday for the kids and pretty good value, although we had good weather - poor weather would almost certainly make things much worse. The kids were tired but gutted to leave. If you want to enjoy yourself you will.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onespeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booked the coity caravan for a family of 5, cannot check in until 4pm, which I think is rather late, never experienced anywhere else with such a late check in. Caravan was clean, beds made up, bedrooms are small, we could have done with a bell, as you can only open one bedroom door at a time. Bathroom ok, occasional prob with toilet constantly filling with water. We also coildn't get the oven to work, no frying pan, no oven gloves. Obviously don't want you to cook there. So on the first night we are at the restaurant on site. It was average, over priced. For basic pub grub. My daughters pizza was burnt so we sent it back, and the waiter said she'd have another in 5 mins, was at least 20 mins, we had all finished by the time it came. But the waiters explanation when he brought the fresh one was bizzare! He said it was very crisp not burnt!! Just black! Second day we complained about the cooker and frying pan, couldn't cook breakfast so off out again, they eventually sorted later that day. Then that night my son became unwell in the night and vomited all over his bed, so had to ring for fresh linen and ask if the could collect soiled. The soiled linen was there for 2 days!
The area is shabby and looks run down esp porthcawl, lots of rubbish on the beach in certain areas. The clear bits were lovely and sandy. The beach by Trecco is rather rocky, sandy and pebbly. Splashland pool, ok for the under 10's but a bit boring for older ones. Not the cleanest, and it was after swimming both my boys became ill. Plenty of arcades, the entertainment was good, only ate there once so cannot comment on the other dining facilities. Shop is handy but overpriced.
Ice cream and waffles are nice( even though the first server was a miserable old bag!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The site it's self is ok, a bit too big for us but ok. We stayed in a Nottage caravan which was very tiered and shabby. We had rust on the wall heaters and fridge burnt patches on the lino damaged furniture and over all very drab and dreary. I asked to be moved but it was a busy Easter week and they could only offer me a private van which surprisingly was worse.
Also during our four night stay the heating in the pool was broke until the last day.
The club entertainment was terrible and the coke and lemonade was watered down and you were only able to buy each of these by the pint, when asked why they couldn't sell me a small glass ie half pint the answer was "cause we can't"
Plus point the restaurant was great they had a Gluten free menu which made my wife v happy.
Overall I wont be going here again and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is our second time at Trecco Bay and again we have had a great time chilling and relaxing. We were first given a caravan over at Brambles....what can I say ...disgusting...pet friendly although we had no pets with us.,the smell was awful, bedroom floor was soaking wet and daughter immediately started sneezing.( she has recently developed an allergy to cats and dogs). Popped into reception just on the off chance they could do something about the caravan and what amazing service we got. Reception could not do enough for us...moved to another caravan immediately ..thank you.
We decided to have a snack from the food outlet in the showbar one evening....how long does it take to put a sausage on a roll? Twenty minutes later I'm still waiting...four people who ordered after me had their food. The young man serving seemed more interested serving young girls than anyone else. He couldn't remember anyone's orders. Not good service at all. I felt like going into the kitchen and showing these young kids how to cook in bulk. Think this needs looking into by Parkdean. Once I complained about the wait along with another gentleman who had been waiting ..our meals were delivered immediately.
All in all though we will be back as we enjoy the relaxation and the break from work.
Well done Parkdean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Was given a lovely caravan on the acorn block. Had grandchildren with us who loved the facilities they also loved the arcades .
We limited the amount they could spend in there - on the third evening our 9 year old Grandson wanted the last of his limit to continue playing a 10p machine as there was a £5 pound note balancing on the edge. As we were giving the last of his allowance an attendant came and opened the machine picked up the £5 pound note and moved it to the back of the machine so that it couldn't drop.
Awful behaviour what message is that giving out. It's just a little controlled fun for the children but as we all witnessed this guy who was apparently in charge shows the camp site in a very unprofessional light.
When challenged on his behaviour we were asked to leave if we didn't like it. Really good customer service!
This was on 22/04/2014 20:00 in the arcade opposite the showdom

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
7.1 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
516 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
573 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
129 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
417 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

Address: Bay View Road, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Bridgend County > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Porthcawl
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One fantsatic big family fun park!You bring the family - we'll supply all the entertainment with crazy kids' clubs, our fabulous Splashland indoor pool, wet and wild outdoor play, bowling, bingo and basketball. And that's just for starters! When you're not whizzing down zip wires and watching live shows, you're only a hop, skip and a jump from a blue flag beach and countless other fantastic visitor attractions. * One of the UK's largest holiday parks * Right on the edge of a lovely Blue Flag beach * Explore the Glamorgan Heritage Coastline * Fantastic Splashland pirate themed pool * Live Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecco Bay Holiday Park Hotel Porthcawl
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing