We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprisingly good holiday without going abroad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good holiday without going abroad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

Like many other people this year i decided to risk a holiday in britain to save a bit of money.
But soon after i booked it i was grumbling to my wife about having to spend a week in wales in a caravan with 4 kids.
But i was totally wrong.It was a great place.
The weather was kind to us,which is the main problem with staying in britain, and on the hot days when i was sat on the decking at the bar area facing the sea, it was just like being abroad.
I didnt see any drunk teenagers or people swearing there heads off like i expected.
There was a couple of all weather football pitches that looked new, and my 11 yr old son spent most of his holiday there.The other kids and teenagers who where allredy playing a match would always invite him to join in and where really friendly.
The restaurants and bars where really good and look like they had just been modernised.
The beer wasnt over expensive and there are good shops on site, including a really good chppy.
There is a good tradtional pub about half a few hundred yards from site that sells really nice food cheaply.
The on site pool is OK for little kids, but the liesure centre in swansea is brilliant and has loads of water slides and wavepool.Its about half an hour drive, but best to book before you go.
We went to Oakwood theme park which was also very good and quite cheap for a family ticket.It is About an hour and half away.
Caravans are nice, but a bit of a squash with 4 kids and three adults.
Porthcawl is only a short walk on the promenade and has shops, market stalls and a fair and a really nice beach.
In conclusion, trecco bay caravan park is brilliant, but we where lucky with the weather, and i would imagine that it would have been rubbish if it had rained all week.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank leeee3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    464
    199
    95
    108
See reviews for
878
140
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

I rely quite heavily on review websites and have never actually left my own comments before. I stayed at Trecco Bay Parkdean caravan park over the easter weekend and I found everything about it very good. The place was very clean and tidy. I was very impressed with the brand new crazy golf, adventure playground and water splash area all of which we viewed our 3 children, (3, 6, & 9) playing whilst we sat on the terrace which served good food and drinks. The swimming pool was very smart if a little small but perfectly good with a slide. The caravans were quite close together yes but to be honest that doesnt bother me. The only negative part for me was that we were right next to the dustbins and wasnt too impressed when they were emptied at 6am saturday morning! The beach is right on the doorstep or we drove around the corner to the next one along where there was a funfair, donkeys and ice creams! We had fantastic weather which i know always makes things better but all in all, i have stayed in numerous parkdean sites before and this has to be one of the smartest with the most amenities for children. The evening entertainment was good.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

Went to Trecco Bay as a family (2 adults, 2 Children aged 8 and 1) Caravans are packed together with no room for kids to play or to just sit outside.
The site has recently had a multi million pound upgrade???? There is a new bar and eatery but everything else is tired and worn. The mini market had mostly empty shelves and most of the other shops just didn't open.
The caravan was old with a badly fitting entrance door which had a 1 inch gap at the top. Covers over vents were missing and there was an electric meter (i think) in one of the wardrobes which was buzzing loudly throughout the night. It was meant to be a 6 to 8 berth but we struggled for space.
Try Haven caravans, possibly a little more expensive but far far better.

  • Liked — Pool, Bar
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-Bouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Trecco Bay is absolutely fine as a holiday destination - depending on your expectations of course! It's not Vegas, but the cost of our holiday (£153 for three nights for six people) is so reasonable that you just can't complain.

The park was clean and tidy, and the beach (part sand-part rocks) is very close by. The bars and shops are in a complex at the centre of the park - though these were littered with, shall I say, typical Brits? If you can handle fat women walking around with barely a stitch on, smoking and swearing at their kids while packs of Welsh chavs hang about near the arcades... then you'll love it!

Seriously though, if all you're looking for is a cheap break away for a long weekend with some friends or family, then Trecco Bay is okay.
We won't be going back because I'm sure there are less pikey caravan parks out there!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FatBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

I have been to Trecco Bay many times over the years; being from South Wales originally, but I found that the site has changed a lot in the last 5 years, not all for the best.

We had the misfortune to book one of the wettest July weeks I can remember for our stay (not the fault of the park) and found that a lot of the facilities were closed during our stay. What was open was quite expensive with the mini-golf being £3-00 per person regardles of age. At home I can play a full round of golf at my local course for this price!

Caravan was good, clean and tidy with plenty of room for a family of 4. Staff were friendly and helpful but not so much as to save the impression of being expensive overall. There is only so much you can do in the slot-arcades and swimming pool. The best day we had during the entire holiday was the day we left the park and went to Oakwood Theme Park, a great day out regardless of the weather and it worked out cheaper than staying on the site.

Sorry Trecco Bay, I will keep my happy memories of years ago intact and not come back again.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Disliked — Extra costs everywhere
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tigger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2007

We have just stayed at Trecco Bay one of Parkdean's Holiday parks (Family of 4). We found that although the park is very large the lay out was very good. The games facilities were good but found it strange that some of the on site shops were closed, it was half term week, although not in Wales, and the site was busy. The caravan was large enough, a six berth, and clean. Unfortunately we had a couple of cold nights and it took a bit to get the caravan warm, but that can't be helped. We visited Gower, which was lovely, not over impressed with Swansea. We would visit again.

Helpful?
13 Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
1.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
9.5 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Address: Bay View Road, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porthcawl
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One fantsatic big family fun park!You bring the family - we'll supply all the entertainment with crazy kids' clubs, our fabulous Splashland indoor pool, wet and wild outdoor play, bowling, bingo and basketball. And that's just for starters! When you're not whizzing down zip wires and watching live shows, you're only a hop, skip and a jump from a blue flag beach and countless other fantastic visitor attractions. * One of the UK's largest holiday parks * Right on the edge of a lovely Blue Flag beach * Explore the Glamorgan Heritage Coastline * Fantastic Splashland pirate themed pool * Live Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecco Bay Holiday Park Hotel Porthcawl
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park Porthcawl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing