We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Springwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springwell Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Pendine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at Pendine Sands for a few days- nice site- nice van- nice people- rubbish weather!! heh ho though onwards with wellies.
We sort of stumbled across the Springwell and were utterly delighted at what we found- there was little to tell you outside as to how good, or local the menu was and no info on the place in the neary 'park which is perhaps an oversight of the owner? The staff are friendly polite and helpful- the menu is seasonal - the fish served depends on what the chef catches in the bay that day- fantastic! - i had flounder , a portion size which would satisfy any appetite, perfectly cooked with home cooked and cut chips with well cooked veg- my wife had lamb on the bone served with mash and heavenly minted gravy which we would have gladly payed double the price they charged us ( around £14 ) for it. Our four year old son had nuggets which were again home cooked and beautiful- should say that Kai our son also helped himself to the heavenly salt and pepper squid we both had for starter too!
We lucked out with our table which sat looking out onto the bay. The couple next to us asked how the flounder was- we said excellent and asked how their food had been- of a simlar quality too which was great to hear. We met them in there again the following night where we had different dishes which again sung from the platE! We sat outisde afterwards with a drink watching the waves break over the wall- bliss
Alll in all, well priced, well cooked by a chef who understands food and has a palate- the place could perhaps do with better advertising as mentioned previously - that is the only miniscule downside to this sparkling gem of a place. If it wasnt 8 hours away i woudl return again next week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeKaisDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    25
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

popped in a few times whilst staying at the loal holiday park.obviously a family run pub. very relaxed atmosphere .had a meal one night .the food was good and very generous portions .the chef came out to have a chat and the staff were grreat .if your on holiday in this area you wont be dissapointed if you visit the springwell

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grhmks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Went for a birthday meal with my husband at the springwell Inn whilst away on a short break in pendine sands. Food was fantastic, excellent value for money and lots of it. I recommend you wear elasticated trousers. Service was great. Staff were friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed. Will definitely be returning when next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NMcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the nearby holiday park but we always try to eat out whenever we stay anywhere as you get a better idea of what the area is like, I have to say I will come back to the area just to eat here again, great pub grub at a good price. The restaurant was very clean and tidy and had a good atmosphere as did the bar area.

Thank you for a good evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

You enter the rooms from behind the hotel via the kitchen stores area, not good and, but once in the small accommodation area, only three rooms you are o.k.
The room was excellent and the bathroom first class.
Very good value for money. The breakfast was enormous if not over exciting, if you like full british it was great. Evening meals was very good value, particularly if you like cod and chips, you will have to be a big eater if you can leave a clean plate.

Room Tip: go for the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerphilly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

After staying at the Springwell last yr and had such a great time, i thought we would rebook again this aug for a relaxing weekend. I feel disappointed this time and let down, after paying £100 a night for the four poster room, i feel this time they let themselves down, the bathroom wasn,t cleaned, bins weren,t emptied and no fresh towels were given after the first nights stay. Also reading breakfast menu, there were items missing off the menu which stated fried potatoes and preserves which there was none, plus breakfast was rather dry ( no beans ) to digest, also cutlery was dirty. No hairdryer in room. Good points. daytime and evening meals were great, lovely location and people are friendly. But i,m afraid after this visit i wont be going back to the springwell again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meganCaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

From the outside, the Springwell Inn doesn't look like much, but I am so glad we stayed.

Probably the only negative thing about the place (unfortunately) is the entry to the bedrooms - it's through the laneway, past the kitchen windows, shed, etc. Once inside though, I felt better. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the staff were friendly and diligent. Pay TV in the rooms.

The food is excellent (cooked by Paul himself - the owner). Honestly, this was the best pub food I've ever had in the UK - goes to show it's not that difficult if you are prepared to put a little love into the exercise.

Paul and his wife are really friendly and often stop for a chat when not too busy. During the summer days, I enjoyed knocking back a pint or two on the front porch overlooking the beach.

And it was quite a bargain - can't remember exactly how much, but it was one of the cheaper places we stayed on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pendine
5.7 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
7.8 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
17.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
399 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
3.9 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwell Inn

Property: Springwell Inn
Address: Pendine Hill, Pendine SA33 4PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Pendine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pendine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run inn right on the beach, log fires, real ales. Home cooked food, lunch, dinner, sunday carvery, parties catered for.En-suite accommodation . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Springwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springwell Inn Pendine, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing